9/6, Bell, AMPS 66 +4 50, +6.5 70,PMPS 112, +1.5 108, +3 52, +3.5 69. +4 56, +4.5 63, +5 69, +6 69

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Yesterday

Hi all, hoping someone could advise me here. Bell had a nice run of greens all last night and is still low. I've never shot green before and was wondering what to do here. I am currently stalling Bell's morning shot (i'll test again in 15 min). Should I shoot a full dose? A reduced dose? Skip?

I can be around today to monitor her. She doesn't eat any medium/high carb food (just fancy feast), but I can use maple syrup as needed to bring her up.

Thanks for the help!
 
I'm right at the 30 min mark past her normal shot time. So I prolly have to make a call soon.
 
I am leaning towards reducing the dose to 2.5 units and shooting. And then monitoring her carefully
 
Since she’s newly diagnosed I may skip since that’s usually the recommended path. And this higher depot is in play.
I’m not qualified to give dose advice so it’s really your call.
If she’s had no ketones you’re probably ok for one skip.
she will go higher but then you can get advice on dosing going forward.
 
She’s really got a lot of momentum.
It’s only one dose here till you can figure what to do. Treat it like a fur shot. It happens then you’ll get back on track.
 
Can you monitor if you shoot? She might just head up from here. Have you fed her?
With ketones you don't want to skip a shot.

ETA: I see that you can monitor all day. I would give the full shot.
 
If you are following TR, she hasn't earned a reduction so you would stay with 2.75U.
Yes, you can shoot another 1.75U right away to get to 2.75U
 
Ok just shot again to get to the full dose. I shall be white knuckling it today :). Thank you for the help, Staci and Bhooma!
Congrats on shooting your first green! Here is your BOS award! :-)

balls_of_steel.jpg



Please get a +1 and +2? I'll check back.
 

Attachments

  • balls_of_steel.jpg
    balls_of_steel.jpg
    24.3 KB · Views: 128
Since I shot 45 min late, I'm assuming I will adjust all my +number reading to that time? And then in the coming cycles maybe move the shot time back slowly (say, in increments of 15 minutes) to get back to the normal time?
 
Measured her yet again and she dropped to 66
66 is pretty much the same as 71 if you consider meter variance. :-)

Now that you have shot your first green, in future, you want to shoot without stalling for any PS number over 50 (human meter, when following TR) - especially if you can monitor. Numbers can drop without food making the shooting decision even more difficult.
 
Since I shot 45 min late, I'm assuming I will adjust all my +number reading to that time? And then in the coming cycles maybe move the shot time back slowly (say, in increments of 15 minutes) to get back to the normal time?
Yes. Your test times will be with reference to the time you shot (not the original shot time). And yes, you can shoot 15 mins early (11 hours 45 mins from this morning's shot time) every cycle till you get back to your original shot time.
 
I didn't feed at the +1.5. My plan is to feed 1/4 can of fancy feast at +2, but I can feed now as well (10 min til the +2).
OK. Feed a tsp of food now and get a test after 20 mins?

Let's feed smaller meals so that she will be hungry enough to eat after each test.
 
So just so I'm clear on how this feeding works. We are giving small amounts every time we test to hopefully keep her BG levels from swinging around. In addition to that, we are keeping her hungry so that she would be willing to eat a larger amount (or food with some maple syrup) if she went hypo?
 
So just so I'm clear on how this feeding works. We are giving small amounts every time we test to hopefully keep her BG levels from swinging around. In addition to that, we are keeping her hungry so that she would be willing to eat a larger amount (or food with some maple syrup) if she went hypo?

Yes, we are using food to "manipulate the curve". Keep her surfing greens without diving too low. It's possible she will be done with this dose today. Let's see if she earns a reduction.
The smaller portion/meal sizes are because we don't want her to get too full and refuse food later. We want her eating every 30 mins or every hour depending on her numbers.
 
Bhooma, I know it is getting later for you (and a Friday!). I am so grateful for the help, but I do not want to keep you up or keep bugging you. I can keep following this protocol you laid out. I just want to be mindful of your time.
 
Bhooma, I know it is getting later for you (and a Friday!). I am so grateful for the help, but I do not want to keep you up or keep bugging you. I can keep following this protocol you laid out. I just want to be mindful of your time.
No worries at all. I am around. :)
I think @Angela & Cleo and @tiffmaxee are also around now.

But you've got the drill - test and feed and test and feed...! If she drops below 50, she earns a reduction. You can probably go to hourly tests as the cycle progresses and she stays flat/heads up.
 
Back
Top