Re: 9/6, Atlas, AMps 312, +3.5 418, +10 317
I'm not clear on what you mean by 50% of Lantus is at the injection site after 24 hours. Cats metabolism is double that of humans, hence a 12-hour duration and BID dosing.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
According to wiki, 50% of lantus is literally still at the injection site, in humans after 24 hours. For cats it would 12 hours.
Absorption studies in humans[15]indicate that 24 hours after being injected, approximately 50% of the Lantus dose remained at the injection site; after 48 hours, the amount was about 20%. Cats seem to absorb and use Lantus about twice as fast as humans. http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Lantus
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
As Lantus is metabolized after the depot is formed, you are continually adding more to the stored pool as it's used. If a dose is increased, it takes a few days for the depot to be replenished. If a dose is reduced, there can be a bit of "overflow" the next cycle due to there being more in the depot than is needed.
I am sorry, this makes absolutely no sense to me. Did you mean the exact opposite? Why would a dose increase cause the depot to be need to be replenished? Why would a reduced dose cause an overflow? I know I read this up in the sticky, but it doesn't make sense.
I am glad to here all the kitty's have gone through this type of adjustment...the question is we're again repeating yesterday's event and is it too much or too little insulin? What do I do? I am trying very, very hard to understand how to get this cat into regulation. Last night I shot the dose and was up half the night on a slow hypo-watch. Only to finally get up this morning to these crazy high numbers today?
I am tired and even aggravated at this point. Is it a bounce, is it rebound...do I put at him the vet to get regulated. I give-up...
I hate shooting without any answers to justify my decisions.
I tend to think this is the most parsimonious explanation and does not rely on Atlas being sensitized by his experience on N.
frugal explanation? I don't understand what you're trying to communicate with this statement?