9/6 Ahmin AMPS 83. When should I stop giving insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

christine&ahmin

Member Since 2011
Good evening guys!!

Today is the 7th day of giving Ahmin 0.25u, and he's doing pretty fine in the past week. Therefore, I'm thinking when i should stop giving him insulin. I read some other kitties's SS, and i found lots of them reduced the insulin from 0.25u to 0.1u without any numbers below 50. So is that mean i can try to reduce to 0.1u now and completely off insulin later on? If yes, what's the procedure or step I should follow?

Thx guys & wish you all have a good night :mrgreen:
 
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

This is the section of the protocol for reducing the dose. Look at the section in bold. Yes Ahmin has been in the normal range for a week! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Congratulations , he has earned a reduction! What I do for that dose is draw up the .25u and then squeeze out one drop. Usually I can see just a sliver of light between the plunger and the zero line. Good luck!
 
You're approaching the 0.1u dose. Ahmin earns reductions when numbers drop below 50 OR if there's a week spent in "normal" numbers (i.e., mostly green). It looks like you have one more cycle to complete the 7 days in normal numbers.
 
I think i'll hold the dose for 2 or 3 more days to make sure Ahmin is capable to have another dose reduction, wish he'll not let me down :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Thx Ann & Sienne for the explanation :-D :-D :-D
 
wooo-hoooooooo! look at how well ahmin is doing!

here's a pic of his next dose:

01unit-1.jpg


good luck with the reduction! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top