9/5 Trixie PMPS 201 - Injection site Q

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Fairly flat so far...no food spike - woohoo! I think we'll probably continue our climb up the dosing ladder this evening, but I'll make the final call at PMPS.

Lots to do today...have a great one, LL!

Amy
 
Re: 9/5 Trixie AMPS 198 +2.5 187

Morning Amy, that's a nice safe blue so you don't need to worry when at tbp today. Have a good day. Any nore Bruce pics?
 
Re: 9/5 Trixie AMPS 198 +2.5 187

Nice start with no food spike! yay! Are you all rested up after your Bruce fix? Good luck with the increase if you decide to do it. Have a great day Amy!
 
Re: 9/5 Trixie AMPS 198 +2.5 187

I have a few more pics, but I haven't had a chance to sift through them yet! I'll try and post a few tonight. I'm semi-recovered...and I'm kind of bummed that I've only got one show left for this tour - after that, it could be another couple years before I see him again :sad: ...
 
Re: 9/5 Trixie AMPS 198 +2.5 187

You crack me up! I hope he know that you pretty much pay for his tour. :lol: Can't wait to see the pics but am kind of bummed that there will be no youtube videos this time. You have to try harder at the next one. :lol:
 
Re: 9/5 Trixie AMPS 198 +2.5 187

I'm nothing....I know people who go to every single local show (like 5 nights in a row!), as well as travel to some, too. I don't think I would ever go to that many, but if I could, I would definitely hit a few more than I do. I tell ya, there is NOTHING like a Bruce concert....
 
Re: 9/5 Trixie AMPS 198 +2.5 187

Morning Amy - Not too bad today doe Trixie. Good luck with the new dose, if you decide to do that tonight.

more Bruce pics? WOO HOO!!

Have a great day today - I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 9/5 Trixie AMPS 198 +2.5 187

Hi guys .. yay for no food spikes! Good luck with the extra juice, if you take that route tonight .. hopefully your last concert seeing bruce is the best one you've ever been too .. especially if it has to hold you over! Have a great day guys!
 
Up to 3.25U tonight...highest dose ever.

Naturally, I'm still searching my brain for a reason that her needs have gone up so much. One idea just popped into my head: I pretty much shoot her in roughly the same spot over her right shoulder all the time. Any time I've attempted to stray, even to her left shoulder, she gets very jumpy. Could the lack of variety in injection sites be a contributing factor to her increased dose?

My other thought is food...but I haven't had a chance to do further research, aside from what we've already eliminated in past experiments....
 
Amy, interesting with the injecting site. I always shoot generally the same area, too. Food could contribute to her high numbers. It wasn't until I found the Wellness Turkey for Maggie that I started seeing an improvement. See what others say!
 
I seriously CANNOT believe how high Trixie's dose has gotten!!! I remember being so jealous at her below-1u dose and great numbers. For what it's worth, I shoot Champ over his left shoulder in the AM and over his right shoulder in the PM. About food, I haven't fed Champ raw in a long while, mainly because I've been too lazy to make it. I only feed him two flavors of Fancy Feast, the beef and the chicken (not to be confused with the beef and chicken :lol: ). He gets one can of one flavor spread out in three meals over the first 6 hours of each cycle. His dose has been at 1.5u for a looooong time (I'M knocking on wood!). You might want to try switching up the injection site just to see if it makes a difference after a couple weeks. Of course, Trixie being a cat, it could be she's just decided to be a bit difficult right now. It really is a puzzler, though. I'll have to keep checking in just so I can see how this plays out!!
 
I tried her left shoulder a few times, and she was SO not pleased with me. I think she's just so used to the right.

Maybe I should bite the bullet and try the Wellness turkey. I'm just a little gunshy, 'cause any time I've tried the Wellness chicken, it has been an absolute disaster for her numbers...
 
Hmm .. we always shot mocha in the same area .. can't say it was the exact same spot every single time, but I'd say within an inch area for nearly two years .. she HATED shot time and she REALLY hated us experimenting with different areas .. but, ECID right?
 
Hi Amy....I've been shooting Checkers in the same general area on his scruff, for over two years. He won't allow me to wander, and he is so thin in his hip area, I'm afraid I'll hit bone. He has nice blubber on his upper body. :-D
I kind of go around in a circle, and hope I don't hit the same spot twice.
I don't think it matters to his numbers. It's an intriguing thought though.
 
Some cats can develop what amounts to a site that's ineffective for insulin absorption.

Have you ruled out any medical or dental issues since they can effect dose.
 
It hasn't been TOO long since Trix's last vetty visit, and at that point everything checked out A-OK. When I took her, she was already heading up the ladder, which was one of the reasons why I took her. She's behaving like her normal self...lovey, feisty, purry, hungry, no barfs, no LB issues....

I do try to not hit the same exact spot each time, but I do wonder...sometimes she seems a little "poofy" in the shot zone, which was what got me thinking.

Well, that, and since the Wellness Chicken makes her BGs go crazy, I am wondering if the FF chicken isn't much better for her...

Just thinking and rambling out loud now, in that foolish way we do when we're trying to understand the "why's" of FD!
 
Nice blue day today--Trixie is doing fine, sometimes you need to go up in the dose, to come back down, Right? You are doing the right thing--
About the injection site: Moonie is diabetic for 4 1/2 yrs now, and I move her shot site most of the time..between shoulders area & that surrrounding area..and she seems comfy--BUT her skin seems tough in many spots as she has gotten shots for so long..Sometimes she squeeks, so I know it's sensitive there..But she is a very good sport.. Hope the new dose gets Trix where you want her togo--Hugs & Love from us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top