9/5 - Tip - AMPS(400) ... PMPS(480) +2(425) +6(356) ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
9/4 condo

AMPS - 400 (Prime: 391)
+2 - 402
+6 - 316 (Prime: 264)
PMSP - 480 (Prime: 528)
+2 - 425 (Prime: 470)
+6 - 356 (Prime: 311)

Alright, so Tip has been on 5U for a while, 5 and a half days. But I'm really not sure what to do here. Her PS numbers seem high, but her nadir(which I know is what Lantus dosing goes by) ranging anywhere from 99-425. I know some of it is stress numbers, but she's really started to settle down and even go as far as purr when my grandpa tests her(even slept through it once!). So why does she vary so much with her nadir? Is it just bounces? And should I keep her dose the same?

Also, what's everyone's thoughts on the Relion Prime? I'm still trying to get used to it(until I run out of strips for my old one, the old numbers will be in the SS), so I'm not sure if I'm getting such different results because I'm getting used to it, or if it's the meter.
 
Re: 9/5 - Tip - AMPS(400), +2(402); Dosing help

These look like bounces. You have 2 options. You can wait for the bounce to clear and see what the numbers look like and then make a decision about dose. Alternatively, you can raise the dose now. You will need to monitor to see where Tip takes her numbers. We generally suggest people who are new to testing wait for the bounce to clear. Since you're got testing down, the headache with waiting for the bounce to clear is that as soon as you see the numbers coming down, some cats bounce again. It looks like that's what's happening with Tip.

As far as the meter, the difference between your two tests is nominal. As long as the two meters are within 20% of one another, they are pretty much giving you similar results.

BTW, did you shoot 3.75u for the PMPS on 8/30?
 
Re: 9/5 - Tip - AMPS(400), +2(402); Dosing help

I just wanted to stop by and say you are doing great! Hang in there and have a great day!
 
Re: 9/5 - Tip - AMPS(400), +2(402); Dosing help

Hm....well, since I'm at school, I'm not around for her day cycles. That's why I'm really uncertain about raising the dose, I can monitor her on weekends. If that's the case, will Tip ever stop bouncing?

Alright. I think I'll still keep testing and see if the Prime keeps within that 20% until I run out of Ultima strips.

Yes, that was the day Tip wasn't feeling well(high fever, not eating) and I wanted to err on the side of caution since she was refusing to eat.
 
Re: 9/5 - Tip - AMPS(400), +2(402); Dosing help

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me .. I know it's hard to get a grip on these bounces .. mocha was a bouncer as well and it was very frustrating to us .. I never knew what to do with her doses either .. Thankfully everyone on here helped us out .. time and time again! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/5 - Tip - AMPS(400), +2(402), +6(316), PMPS(480), +2(4

Sorry for not responding since earlier. But tonight when I went to give Tip her insulin she was REALLY upset, and by upset, I mean hissing and scratching at me. So I waited to give her her shot, and think I felt a small lump, I'm not sure. I've tried giving her her insulin on the other spot you can(the hip, right?), but she fights me so much on that, so I've still only been giving it to her in the scruff of her neck....could that be part of the problem?

When I tried to give the insulin to her in the alternate spots, I was following the instructions right, but she just refuses to let me get past getting a good spot.
 
Re: 9/5 - Tip - AMPS(400) +2(402) +6(316) PMPS(480) +2(425)

Bumping this up since I still haven't figured anything out.

Also, in 2 weeks Christmas went from 9lbs to 8lbs 13oz. I know it isn't bullying(if anything, Christmas is eating more than Tip now), and it doesn't seem like that much, but she's getting on the skinny side of the normal scale. Any way to safely bring her weight up?
 
Re: 9/5 - Tip - AMPS(400) +2(402) +6(316) PMPS(480) +2(425)

If you take her up before she clears the bounce, you or your grandpa could have thir hands full with dropping numbers. So if you decide to take her up in a bounce, you must must must monitor. Alternatively, if she clears and doesn't do much, you could take her up as the next bounce starts.

I'd have Christmas checked at the vet first. There are a lot of conditions she could have lie FD, hyperthyroid, chronic kidney disease. If she checks out just fine, increase her calories or add some extra virgin coconut oil to her food.
 
Re: 9/5 - Tip - AMPS(400) +2(402) +6(316) PMPS(480) +2(425)

Okay, I'd rather err on the side of caution, especially as I'm phasing out the old meter. I don't want to change too much at once. How long should I wait? Also, should I be worried about the possible lump on the scruff of Tips neck(could've just been how I was holding it, I don't always get the best grip)?

Alright, vet is closed tonight, but tomorrow after(or between, depending on when I get the time) class I'll set up an appt for her. I doubt it's diabetes since she recently got a 59-71 reading(Prime: 59, Ultima: 71), but I know just 1 reading doesn't count, just makes it less/more likely. Just curious, but why extra virgin coconut oil?
 
Re: 9/5 - Tip - AMPS(400) +2(402) +6(316) PMPS(480) +2(425)

If she comes down into high blue again and then heads back up, increase the dose as she goes up.

Can you feel the lump when she's just lying around and you don't have her tented to give the shot? Have you ever tried to shoot behind her front paws just about two inches down from her spine centerline?

Our vet told us about the extra virgin coconut oil to put weight on our 16.5 year old kitty who has CKD. He's gained 0.5 lb :-D
 
Hi Cindy, Try to massage the shoot area on different times of the day. Get Tip used to your fiddling her back & behind armpit area. Usually my cats love these massages. Try gripping the area, let go, grip & let go. They'll get used to this. Slowly you try to find the area where their skin is the most loose; where you can can have a larger grip, this is the area less painful when you inject.
 
Alright, can do.

Just checked and no, I can't. I'm not exactly sure what you mean from the description. It may, of course, just be becaust it's 12:30am here.

Oh cool! And I trust it's safe for Tip too? Even if Tip doesn't need to gain any, if anything lose some, she's getting towards the high end of normal for her body type. I'm going to be getting a toy a friend swears up and down by that works for any cat next paycheck. So hopefully I'll get Tip up and moving more.

I'll also definitely try massaging the shoot areas(I'll be looking online again for the other spots I can shoot) to hopefully get her used to it again. She also gets chicken after every shot anymore.
 
I don't think it has added sugar but coconut is a fruit so it does have sugar in it inherently. So...I probably would not give it to a diabetic cat....ESP if she doesn't need to gain weight.

To shoot the chest area, run your fingers down her spine until you are on the spine but behind her front paws. Then drop your fingers down a couple of inches below the spine towards her chest You can shoot there.
 
Okay. I'll have to keep them from switching bowls like they usually do if there's nothing wrong health-wise for Christmas.

Oh! I didn't realize it was the chest area. Do I have to be very accurate with that area? If so, then it may not work. ):

Anyways, I'm going to need some sleep. Thanks for the help, night all!
 
It's the side of the chest....not under the body. Here is a pic with alternative shot sites.

Well....you can see if it rasies her BG but because it's to add some fat to the kitty, if she doesn't need it, i wouldn't give it to her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top