9/5 Tiggy AMPS 268 +5 259 +7 322 PMPS 295 :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post.

Tiggy was doing so well. On Monday he earned a dose decrease and went down to 3.5 units. And had what I suspect was a bounce after. Then I was away Tuesday night so decided to skip his shot thinking it would be safer since he has been dropping low a lot, plus it might drain the depot a bit.
I was stunned at the 358 when I got home Wednesday morning - I was expecting maybe 200. I cant believe he would be that high from missing one shot.. and he has been yellow ever since and hasnt come back down..

?Is he still in a bounce or another bounce from a low on the 3rd?
?is this a failed dose decrease?
?Is this impact of a skip?
?All of the above?

I guess its back to 4 units tomorrow if I dont see a green by end today.

Wendy
 
Re: 9/5 Tiggy AMPS 268 +5 259 :(

Sorry, Wendy, I sure know how you feel! :YMSIGH:

Wish I could advise you on the dose, but Tigger's doing the exact same thing, & it sure confounds me. We're doing a dose increase tomorrow. My newbie suspicion is that the multiple reductions and corresponding depot drains created too much loss of momentum - too much too fast. At least that's what I surmise for Tigger, & it looks like Tiggy got alot of reductions in a short period as well as the skip.

However, Tiggy's only been in yellow a few cycles, you might want to give it a little more time before increasing? Maybe patience pants? But that's for more experienced minds than mine to determine.

Good luck, whichever way you decide to go, I hope Tiggy cycles back into those pretty blues & greens asap!
 
Re: 9/5 Tiggy AMPS 268 +5 259 +7 322 :(

Maybe although its a delicate balance between waiting a little longer and glucose toxicity setting in... I just got a +7 and its even worse..
 
Re: 9/5 Tiggy AMPS 268 +5 259 +7 322 :(

I'm certainly no expert either, especially when you and Tiggy have been doing this dance a lot longer than we have, but in answer to your questions:

?Is he still in a bounce or another bounce from a low on the 3rd? Maybe
?is this a failed dose decrease? Possibly
?Is this impact of a skip? Could be
?All of the above? A definite possibility

Is that helpful? :-D

I do think that it's possible that he's still bouncing, but Tiggy sure doesn't usually bounce that high for that long from looking at his latest trends.

I know it's frustrating to see those kinds of numbers when you had been seeing so many nicer ones lately. I can only ask the same things you'd ask me...any chance of infection? Tooth problems? Diet change? Getting into contraband of any kind?

I'm sure you've probably already considered those things, but just in case. Sometimes we get "blind" when it comes to our own cats.

Other than that, I'd say that going back to 4 units seems like a reasonable idea to me too.

Wishing you the best of luck getting those pretty greens and blues back!!
 
Re: 9/5 Tiggy AMPS 268 +5 259 +7 322 :(

i know

Tooth problems? nope - last time he has a checkup his teeth were good.
Diet change? definately not
Getting into contraband of any kind? definately not

My gut says this is a bounce.. or a failed decrease.

Wendy
 
Re: 9/5 Tiggy AMPS 268 +5 259 +7 322 :(

Or as little as 5 days?

Seems like for Chip one ugly sustained bounce can undo quite a bit. On the other hand Tiggy has somewhat mellow bounces??

The skipped shot makes this confusing. Wonder what Libby (&Lucy) or Wendy (&Neko) might say about this situation as it relates to high dose?
 
Re: 9/5 Tiggy AMPS 268 +5 259 +7 322 :(

I think I'd want some input... while you wait a cycle or two more on the possible bounce?
 
Re: 9/5 Tiggy AMPS 268 +5 259 +7 322 :(

I did. I am also wondering about shooting a couple of hours early... I am off schedule anyway since I had to move things for the pet sitter..
 
Re: 9/5 Tiggy AMPS 268 +5 259 +7 322 :(

Sorry for the late reply. We are having wicked T-storms so all electricals are off and I'm using my notebook connected to the phone as a wireless hotspot.

Anywhoo, it can take up to 6 cycles to recover from a missed shot. Back in the day when Tiggy was a higher dose cat, his depot would let him recover from a missed shot much more easily. Not so much now that he's at a normal cat dose and depot. I don't think he's still bouncing from the 2nd as it's now been 6 cycles. But who knows what he did on the 3rd as you had no other tests in that cycle.

I'd give him a cycle or two to see if he's starting to rebuild the depot after that shot miss and come down a bit. Neko usually gets back on track by the third or fourth cycle after a fur shot. If no signs of progress tomorrow, up he goes. And it was about this dose when we switched from .5 unit decreases to .25 so you might try that next time he earns a reduction.
 
Re: 9/5 Tiggy AMPS 268 +5 259 +7 322 :(

You must be near my friend Wendy (and Neko)

She's been telling me the lightening and thunder were wicked and even set off one of her neighbors alarms. And she's got a pond nearby that's creeping quickly toward her place too.

Sounds like it's been a loud and crazy night for you guys up north!
 
Re: 9/5 Tiggy AMPS 268 +5 259 +7 322 :(

in response to your PM...

I have only taken a cursory look at your spreadsheet, but Wendy/Neko hit all the points I was going to make. You are coming off of a missed shot, and it can take a few days to recover from that. I noticed the same thing she mentions about depot size - as Jazzy's dose came down, her depot seemed to get smaller so my mistakes cost more than they did when her dose was high. :roll: On 12 units I could miss shots with no real effect, but once she was down to a normal dose, not so much.

I also agree that you might find that it is time to switch to smaller dose reductions, but since you did have a missed shot I would give it another couple of cycles to see if this reduction holds.
 
Thanks guys, I will give him till PMPS tomorrow and if he doesn't come down by then, its a dose increase... If I can be patient!!!


Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top