? 9/5 Snowball PMPS 129 - second time in 2 months got bacterial infection

Sumaira Aslam

Member Since 2020
Hi all,

need advice. This is the second time in last 2 months since snowball had a foreign bacterial infection. Everytime it starts with a transparent vomit in morning which could be due to stomach acids as snowball have his last meet on 11:00pm and then sleeps and then I feed him at insulin time at 9am in between this time he doesn’t eat anything, anyways both times he vomited and later didn’t eat and looked lethargic And feverish I rushed him to vet within few hours got his blood works done and vet said both times that liver numbers are high and indication of foreign bacteria which is common in diabetic cats as high glucose level could attract bacteria. I want suggestion on what supplement can I give to snowball so he don’t get this issue again currently he is on antibiotics for 5 days and taking insulin levemir 0.75 units
 
I have not heard that. I have seen higher numbers without that issue. This is based only on blood tests? Do you have a copy or can you get it and post all results?

Meanwhile please change 911 to a ? We reserve that for immediate attention because of a hypo or something where you might need the ER. Thanks.
 
I've never heard of that either.
Do you leave food out overnight for Snowball?

It would really help if you could get some mid-cycle tests in like you did when Snowball was on vetsulin.
I'm tagging
@Wendy&Neko
who has experience with Lev.
 
T
I have not heard that. I have seen higher numbers without that issue. This is based only on blood tests? Do you have a copy or can you get it and post all results?

Meanwhile please change 911 to a ? We reserve that for immediate attention because of a hypo or something where you might need the ER. Thanks.
thanks I changed to ? Actually i rushed him to emergency today as after vomit he got fever wasn’t eating and was hiding and very lethargic now after antibiotics he ate so I gave him little insulin
 
I've never heard of that either.
Do you leave food out overnight for Snowball?

It would really help if you could get some mid-cycle tests in like you did when Snowball was on vetsulin.
I'm tagging
@Wendy&Neko
who has experience with Lev.

thanks these days very busy at work thats why not getting time to do more readings but i’ll try on weekend. I leave Dr Elsey’s dryfood for overnight as i have 4 other cats who would eat within a minute any wetfood left outside but snowball usually also sleep at night and wakes up around 7-7:30 in morning and wants wetfood only that time but i wait till insulin time
 
Good to know. You will follow SLGS because of the dry food he’s eating. That means a reduction is earned if he falls under 90 at any time.
 

Attachments

  • 0C51130D-3713-408B-A38B-1539DE805345.jpeg
    0C51130D-3713-408B-A38B-1539DE805345.jpeg
    42.7 KB · Views: 53
  • 48C07190-3C98-4A6D-89AA-D14F62B7CAB4.jpeg
    48C07190-3C98-4A6D-89AA-D14F62B7CAB4.jpeg
    51.3 KB · Views: 61
These are the blood reports. Normally hes doing well but then all of a sudden he vomits and then have to rush him to vet. Taking him to vet and getting the blood work done stresses snowball alot
 
Snowball vomited again just now it was food that he ate vet told me to feed less tonight as he might vomit again due to high infection numbers
 
Has he ever been tested for pancreatitis? The second picture is too hard to read. There’s a place in the ss to enter labs when you get a chance. I did see the elevated WBC. That won’t say where an infection could be. What antibiotic was he given? None will work that fast. Any other injections?
 
It's the weekend - I hope you can get some mid cycle tests it, maybe somewhere from +5 to +9 would be helpful. I see you reduced the dose tonight. We don't know if he was going up or down at preshot time tonight. Would have been good to know which direction. SLGS also says you need to do a curve at least once a week.
and wakes up around 7-7:30 in morning and wants wetfood only that time but i wait till insulin time
That would be a good time to get a test in. Many Levemir cats nadir late in the cycle.

If he's eating a lot less on antibiotics, it could be because the antibiotic is killing his tummy flora and making him not feel well. Giving probiotics (2 hours apart from the antibiotic), can help restore the good tummy bacteria.
 
Has he ever been tested for pancreatitis? The second picture is too hard to read. There’s a place in the ss to enter labs when you get a chance. I did see the elevated WBC. That won’t say where an infection could be. What antibiotic was he given? None will work that fast. Any other injections?
The vet didn’t suspect that and said its most probably because of stomach issue. Snowball now ate Dr Elsey after vomiting a little. i will check on him at night and will feed him more. Actually i live in United Arab Emirates here is it 1am right now
 
It's the weekend - I hope you can get some mid cycle tests it, maybe somewhere from +5 to +9 would be helpful. I see you reduced the dose tonight. We don't know if he was going up or down at preshot time tonight. Would have been good to know which direction. SLGS also says you need to do a curve at least once a week.

That would be a good time to get a test in. Many Levemir cats nadir late in the cycle.

If he's eating a lot less on antibiotics, it could be because the antibiotic is killing his tummy flora and making him not feel well. Giving probiotics (2 hours apart from the antibiotic), can help restore the good tummy bacteria.

now he ate again Dr Elsey’s seems to be doing better but the little vomit he did before got me worried. I will try later tonight that he eats more I live in UAE 1am right now here and Sundays is a working here so i will try my best later in the week to get more readings. Thanks for the help
 
Has he ever been tested for pancreatitis? The second picture is too hard to read. There’s a place in the ss to enter labs when you get a chance. I did see the elevated WBC. That won’t say where an infection could be. What antibiotic was he given? None will work that fast. Any other injections?
These are the antibiotics and also vet gave an antibiotic injection and said if vomiting don’t stop have to give another injection in 2 days
 

Attachments

  • 5BF63240-7CA4-468A-9D15-639724851B61.jpeg
    5BF63240-7CA4-468A-9D15-639724851B61.jpeg
    31.2 KB · Views: 52
OK, whatever is your weekend is good. But if there are any times you are home from work a couple hours before shot time, or it he wakes you up early for food, those are good times to test. I suspect his dose may not be right.

Metronidazole tastes awful. It is given more for GI issues than as a general antibiotic. Did the vet say where he/she thought the infection was?
 
OK, whatever is your weekend is good. But if there are any times you are home from work a couple hours before shot time, or it he wakes you up early for food, those are good times to test. I suspect his dose may not be right.

Metronidazole tastes awful. It is given more for GI issues than as a general antibiotic. Did the vet say where he/she thought the infection was?

vet said only bacterial infection mostly probably due to stomach issue she suspected and you are right the dose needs to be adjusted will get more readings to find out
 
Back
Top