9/5 Skooter PMPS 156 +2 113 +3 100 +4.5 115 +9.5 178

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
The I Don't Even Know What Anymore Condo (09/04)


9/4 RECAP:

AMPS - 217
+1.75 - 157
+7.75 - 135
+10 - 196

PMPS - 219
+2 - 195
+3.5 - 102
+4.5 - 74
+5 - 92
+7.25 - 60
+7.75 - 117


I think I will just throw my hands in the air, and wave them like I just don't care....but the problem is a I DO care, I would really like to know what is up with this kitty cat.


I woke up at about 5:40 to the sound of him throwing up. It was pretty much just liquid and just a little, I am going to say that was due to maybe being a little over zealous with the amount of water I put in his last meal last night.

So I gave him his .25u.....but I am still questioning tonight's dose. If he needs the increase I will do it, but he spent at least a couple hours in the greens.....I know he typically isn't a huge bouncer, but then again him having yellows at this stage is not typical either, so I am not sure if this is a bounce or what. I am assuming since he was able to get into the greens that the vial is still ok.

I just can't pin point it. I know that his blood work looks great, urine is awesome and all that, but there is just something slightly off with him and I can't really put my finger on it. I don't know if it is because of the higher numbers or what....


I guess I can look at it as this is the lowest yellow he has been since they have returned....

Another day of feeling waaaaaaaaaaaaay CORNfused.....

Any suggestions on possible scenarios for tonight's dose...if this then that? I should be home by +11 to get a test in before his preshot and will post it in case people are around....not gonna lie, feeling just a wee bit defeated right now.....
 
Re: 9/5 Skooter the cat who hates his mom AMPS 203

Bummer about the spit up. Around here, it usually means a build up of stomach acid and a belly that is too empty. Trix does it from time-to-time but no all that regularly, most likely because I have her on a BID dose of Pepcid. She has stomach acid issues because of her CKD. My GA civvie, Mario, also did the spit up thing as he got older, too.

I would think Skooter is bouncing today, because of last night's greens. Some kitties bounce, then they stop, then they start bounding again. Trix was one of those kitties...I understand how you feel, because it used to make me want to rip my hair out!

Since Skooter hit 60 last night, I would be inclined to hold this dose for a bit longer, to see if his bouncing settles down. There really isn't much wiggle room with 60 as his nadir, and as you know, we base Lantus dosing on the nadir.

The bouncing may very well be making him feel a bit off. Hopefully he'll flatten himself out soon. And I know Skooter LOVES his MamaBean!
 
Re: 9/5 Skooter AMPS 203 +1.75 157 +6.5 111

As of right now, I am inclined to agree....but what is nice about the dose crease tonight is that I have most of the weekend to monitor....

I am just so unsure of what to do.....
 
Re: 9/5 Skooter AMPS 203 +1.75 157 +6.5 111

Hi Molly:

I know you were on such a high with all the progress Skooter was making, and then he went up and you felt like you hit a brick wall! Been there, survived that. But step back and look at last night's cycle. He came down and surfed some very nice, safe numbers. He didn't bounce much this morning (really, that's a mini-bounce), and he's in low blues again. I'm not a dosing expert, but I'd hold that dose for a few more cycles, too. Too much insulin might just make the bounces bigger, and you really don't want the nadirs lower, do you?

Time to put on the patience pants and repeat the mantra: "This is a marathon, not a sprint!" ;-) :-D

P.S. You and Skooter are so close that maybe your stressing so much is communicating itself to him. Try to relax and just follow where he leads. He's doing really, really well!
 
Re: 9/5 Skooter AMPS 203 +1.75 157 +6.5 111

Since he's clearing, let's see how far he comes down before you decide to increase his dose.
 
Re: 9/5 Skooter AMPS 203 +1.75 157 +6.5 111

Hi there :cool:

I'm with Amy and Tricia.

I know the timing stinks but this is a 'sit on your hands' situation.
So, I'll leave you with these:
;-)
At times like this, back in the days before patience pants (FDMB class of 2008-2009), these were standard issue.
Hang in there - you two have made enormous progress. :cool:
 

Attachments

  • fluffy-pink-metal-handcuffs.jpg
    fluffy-pink-metal-handcuffs.jpg
    6.1 KB · Views: 182
Re: 9/5 Skooter AMPS 203 +1.75 157 +6.5 111

Bouncing can be so frustrating. Furball bounced for a while, then gave me some nice blues and greens for a little while. Now she's back to bouncing most of the time. Hang in there.
 
Re: 9/5 Skooter AMPS 203 +1.75 157 +6.5 111 PMPS 156 +2 113

Thanks everyone :) Your reminders and encouragement is always just what I need....

I am very happy with this slow descent down he has going on.....it is a cycle that will still require additional testing as he went down by 43, but I am happy he didn't cliff dive down....

I am thinking a +3.5 again tonight and then maybe be able to hold off until +5


ETA - I got a voicemail from Skooter's vet....they got the final analysis back and the culture was completely normal....no bacteria at all....Now I should be jumping up and down at the fantastic labs and urinalysis.....and part of me is....the other part just wonders what the heck happened the past few days....

Knock on wood we are behind that he gave me a blue pre-shot number....I did tell him last night that even if he goes off the juice, I will still come by at lunch to visit, just not everyday....perhaps he was just afraid he was gonna miss me too much for our midday pokey and food :lol:
 
Re: 9/5 Skooter AMPS 203 +1.75 157 +6.5 111 PMPS 156 +2 113

Looks like skooter is looking to get back on track.
Nice drop from pmps to +2
 
Re: 9/5 Skooter +6.5 111 PMPS 156 +2 113 +3 100

Really liking this nice slow, steady surf he has going on....at this point, even if he doesn't break into the greens, I am ok....as long as he can safely surf these numbers, get himself back on track, not big dives, bounces etc.....

I can't believe I am saying that :P

But I think I will have a t-shirt made that says...its a marathon, not a sprint

or maybe one of the other -isms that that we use here often :)
 
Re: 9/5 Skooter +6.5 111 PMPS 156 +2 113 +3 100 +4.5 115

Surf, Skooter, Surf!!!

Let's hang out in this blue territory for a bit, eh?
 
Re: 9/5 Skooter +6.5 111 PMPS 156 +2 113 +3 100 +4.5 115

That's a lovely, safe, relaxing surf for a Friday night. No stress, no worries about renal threshold, no HC. Enjoy! :-D
 
Re: 9/5 Skooter +6.5 111 PMPS 156 +2 113 +3 100 +4.5 115

Very pretty blue surf, Skooter! Fingers crossed that this lovely flat cycle is a precursor to Skooter getting back to business.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top