9/5 Reuben PMPS HI +7/349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

9/4
AMPS 378 2/221 3/97 3.5/61 3.75/75 4.25/170 5/217 6/241 7/277 8/313 9/389 10.5/HI

PMPS HI 6/182 7/173

Reuben took a steep dive yesterday morning from +2 to +3 following a flat cycle overnight in the 300's. Due to lack of experience, knowledge and nerves I overshot the carbohydrate brakes, and he came up to spend and hour in the 100's, 3 hours in the 200's and 2 hours in the 300's, before showing back up again HI at +10.5. Much to my surprise for a spot +6 check he had come down overnight into the 100's. He was back up to HI for AMPS, and is still HI at +2. I am HIghly suspicious of a furrshot.

He threw up twice in the nighttime cycle. Why? Was it an incomplete dose of Pepcid? Has the liquid Clavamox mixture gone bad after 12 days in the fridge? The vet told me it wouldn`t. Detective Hat is on.

Shower now being used as primary LB. An interesting concept. Reuben is missing fur around his poo-hole. This is a first.

Ongoing Medications:

50mg Clavamox bid
2.5mg Pepcid bid
.08ml Bupe as needed (last dose 9/1 in 3 p.m.)
miralax suspended 9/1
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben AMPS HI +1HI +2 HI

Hi guys .. awww .. poor reuben .. poor you! It is hard seeing our kitties up so high for such a long time, isn't it? Fingers crossed he makes his way down for you, but does it nice and easy, so he doesn't have any more of this nonsense going on :sad: Hang in there!!!
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben AMPS HI +1HI +2 HI

Alexa,
I am not familiar with Reuben's recent history and what the meds are for, so sorry if this has already been discussed...
Is he having constipation or diarrhea issues? The missing hair thing caught my eye. I had a meezer who looked a lot like Reuben (which is why I remembered this) named Sam-I-Am who had the same problem on occasion. We'd notice excessive "grooming" around his butt, resulting in lost hair. The issue always turned out to be either constipation or tapeworms. It apparently was Sam's way of saying "um, y'all? I'm having a bit of trouble here".

Carl
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben AMPS HI +1HI +2 HI

Throwing in my tiny two cents...excessive grooming in that area could also be a result of anal sac problems. (My cat has made me well versed in this one :roll: ) Have you noticed Reuben scooting his bottom along the floor? If not, you may be able to disregard the above suggestion.

As for the HI's, Reuben is a very bouncy kitty and will come off of this bounce and be a "normal" kitty, again...at least for a while! :roll: :lol: You're doing a great job with him and for him. He is definitely lucky to have you as his momma bean! Keep up the good work, Alexa.

Reuben, you can come on down from the rafters now. We didn't mean to scare you yesterday with all of those posts. We promise to be better if you promise to be better! :-D

Sending lower number vines! ~Deborah
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben AMPS HI +1HI +2 HI

I know you are distressed to see words again. I hope Reuben comes down again slower this time.

I have found that I don't give furshots if I make sure I see skin and see the needle go in and out while I shoot.
Marge told me about grabbing some fur on the flank area and rolling my hand backwards pulling the skin out just enough not to shoot thru
the other side and once I see skin, I watch the shot and see that I don't miss. Sometimes a drop will be there but that's all.

When I've had girl kitties with bladder /urinary tract issues they always seem to look for something soft to pee on.
Perhaps the shower is cool to the touch and feels good for Reuben.

I can't remember if you are already dealing with urinary issues with all the meds.
And I also think Carl has a good point. Could be medication or combinations thereof are making his butt hurt too.
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben AMPS HI +1HI +2 HI +3HI furrshot confirmed

Carl - The clavamox is for chronic intestinal infection caused by pancreatitis, the pecid for stomach problems also caused by it. The info from Sam-I-Am's experience is very helpful... It`s not tapeworms, and I have been trying to nail down what the heck is going on in the LB department so that theory makes sense in Reuben's case .... Clearly Something is going on and he`s trying to tell me. Time to follow him around and figure it out. Thanks Carl!

Hi Deborah, yeah.. no scooting so I think Carl's idea fits. So now he`s HI until the next cycle cuz of the furrshot. Poor thing. :roll: Doesn`t rain but it pours, hahaa, but this time I know that we will be back on the horse soon. And that there is a horse to BE on! Last time I didn`t know yet. So we`re just waiting. I could go to the beach for the rest of the day, just imagine!!

Devon, thank you... at least now I know it is Temporary!
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben AMPS HI +1HI +2 HI

Rhiannon - The needle definitely went in, I counted to three even. But clearly it went through and out the other side. Sheeeeesh!! I was reallllly tired, and had taken headache medicine that I`m unaccustomed to, so that`s my excuse! I wish I understood the rolling thing but it doesn`t make sense to me yet. I really want to be able to do that. Paaaatience.... hahaha Thanks for the thoughts about meds making him hurt there, and possible urinary issues as well!
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben AMPS HI +1HI +2 HI

Blech. Reuben, I'm sending Zener over with the ropes to pull you down since Mannie doesn't need them today.
Liz
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben AMPS HI +1HI +2 HI +3HI furrshot confirmed, b

Hi Alexa, Sorry Reuben is getting HI again : Now that you are in range of a dose he likes, he will give you numbers again before you know it, so don't be hard on yourself about a furshot, it happens. And now after less than a month on the protocol you already had some valuable practice handling low numbers too! Things really are moving right along.
Interesting :roll: that Rueben has adopted the shower as his litterbox. If you have room, you may want to try putting an actual litterbox next to the shower. When Pixie was free peeing in our shower, we eventually figured out our other cats were ambushing her at the designated locations. She was happy to use a litter box in the shower room area she thought was safe. Good luck observing what is causing Reuben's fur loss, I wonder if there is a litter cam or tail cam that could help you see what is happening. Hope its nothing serious. You and Reuben have a great day and enjoy the beach if you go!
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben AMPS HI +1HI +2 HI +3HI furrshot confirmed, b

bleah on the furshot but hey, it happens, and it bugs us more than it bugs them! also looks like he was planning a nice bit of a bounce anyway so at least it's nice to have a 'reason' for the hi numbers! he'll be heading back down again soon!
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben PMPS HI

Hello Reuben, it's time you come back down now. Thank you and good night! :-D

Sleep well, Alexa. He will be feeling better tomorrow...I can just sense it...it's almost the weekend, that's why! Party time! :lol:
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben PMPS HI

HI Alexa - sorry to see the high numbers ... yeah, that seems to be the trend. We did that too a couple times, and now we're back in low greens and we'll probably bounce tomorrow. Ugh. Thanks for stopping by this afternoon - Lisa
 
Re: 9/5 Reuben PMPS HI

Alexa

Sure looks like a fur shot but we all do them but if you think it went in, it could br a bounce. He took w substantial dive yesterday. He will catch back up within a few cycles.

I read your condo yesterday...definitely quite a drop there! You did a great job of testing. Now...how to use all that great data? When you saw that his +2 was so much less than his PS, that should be a big clue that he's going to drop and that would have been a great time to feed a couple good tsp of food to try and slow him.

I know you like feeding raw but unless you have it so he's getting more than just 1-2% carbs, it might not be enough to control these dives. Many cats do very well on higher low carb food. We all tend to want to feed the lowest carb food we can but in many cases, feeding 4-6% crabs works better for managing the curve and flattening it out.
 
Hi Marje - I suspected even before the +2 that this was going to happen because of the flat curve the night before, as he had done exactly that cycle right before he dove the first time. So when I saw the +2, which was also exactly the same initial drop he did the first time, I was not surprised and fed him. But exactly as you point out, it turns out that his own food is not high enough carb so it had little, if no, effect to stall the drop, arghhhh!! (His food is cooked, btw, as we free feed.) What can I add to his food to make it 4-6% carbs, do you have any ideas? And how much do I add? I don`t have any good commercial food options where I live, which is why I started making his food in the first place. Thank you so much for stopping by to help Marje, I really need it as you can tell!
 
You can add a drop or two of Karo (corn syrup) or honey, some people have used maple syrup, to her regular food to make is higher in carbs.
 
Reuben! You and Leo get your butts off the ceiling!

Sorry you're having bouncies. We are doing the same as you, but about 1/2 a cycle behind you. Frustrating, isn't it? In the last 10 hours, Leo has thrown his highest (586) and his lowest number (36) to date. Here's hoping Thursday is a calmer day for you guys.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top