9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102 +2 250

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298

Hi Paula and Michael. How are you two doing today?
Beginning your day in the yellow numbers is a good start. Keep coming down nice and easy, big boy.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298

Have you gotten any tests to see if he went to blue, yet?
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298

Julie, you mentioned that u use the Petsafe5 auto feeder and that it has 4 compartments for food.
Is one compartment used for ice packs? It doesn't indicate that on Amazon. Could you post the video you mentioned?
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298

Hi there :cool:

Nice AMPS for Michael today! . . . A kitty could go places from there ;-)
Paula said:
Hope it continues. Maybe to blue
Fingers and paws crossed he floats down gently to blue.

Grab some tests today including a +10 or +11.
That way if he pulls a fast one like he did on 09/03 (AMPS 393/PMPS 64), you'll have the opportunity to slow things down if needed.
Remember - fast drops are a huge trigger for bounces.

Another advantage of getting a +10 or +11 test is that when faced with a low PS, you have a better chance of determining if he is going up or going down.
It also gives you time to get input from others if needed and can go a long way in reducing setbacks from stalling or skipping shots.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51

Michael decided to skip blue and go directly to green.( He thinks he is playing Monopoly) amps 298 + 5.25 51.
I fed him some lc food and gave him his treats.
Thanks everyone for keeping an eye on him. He is really doing the sugar dance :!: Does this mean he is clearing a bounce :?: I' m still confused sorry :?
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51

Hi Paula.

I'm not Julie, but I have what I think is the same PetSafe feeder, and yes, it has a compartment under the feeding tray for ice. It has sections for 5 meals, but one is always uncovered. Mine did not come with an ice pack, which is unfortunate, as it's a shallow space and it's hard to find one that fits. The ice packs I have were made by Coleman, and as far as I can tell, they no longer make them. I suppose you could just fill a small baggie with ice and it would work as well.

That was a huge drop. It would be interesting to know where Michael was in between the PS and the +5.25. I hope you don't end up with a bounce.

Enjoy your Friday, Paula.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51

Tricia,
Thanks for the info. Most helpful :!:
Enjoy the weekend,
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51

paula you will still want to get a +6 he may drop below 50 and earn another reduction.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51

i was just checking on his spreadsheet to determine when his nadir(lowest point of the cycle) but you dont have enough date for me to figure it out.
Since you can not get a lot of testing in the pm cycle, more testing should be done in the am cycle.
Amps
+2 lets you know what kind of cycle he will have, if less then amps it will be active cycle, if greater then amps it will be not as active
+4 if active cycle, will let you know what kind of drops the insulin is causing, insulin starts to work around +3
+6 average nadir for cats but ECID
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51

Paula here is a prime example why more testing is important to keep our cats safe.
Charlies am cycle
amps 318
+2 275
+4 207
+6 89
+7 68
+7.5 53
+7.75 51
+8 53
+9 38 fed hc/karo if i would not have caught this i may not have lost charlie, now i have to test often(every 15 till above 50, then every 30 till the food influence passes, approximately 2hrs after food/karo intervention.
+9.25 53 number is influenced by hc/karo
9.5 76 number is influenced by hc/karo
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65

Today, Michael likes green. The color goes with his pretty green eyes :!: amps +8 65. I fed him alittle lc food and treats again in the hope I can keep him steady. If he is still green @ pmps should i reduce the dose :?: I don't want to miss a shot; he goes too high @amps. Does this make sense because I'm still trying to understand :?:
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65

Go to your first post in this condo, click edit. Then see all the icons just above where you enter the amps in, you will see a "?" Click the circle by it. That will let others know you have a question.
I'm sure Julie will come by soon.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86

Thanks, Darin
M appears to be staying the green. :mrgreen: (amps +10 86) That's a first :!: Hope it's a good sign.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86

Hi there :cool:

Well well, Michael decided to get his green on big time :mrgreen:

Way to go Paula !
A - catching it
B - getting that +10
Now you know where he as been today and by PMPS you may get better idea where he may be going.

Well Done!

As far as the dose goes, since dosing is based on nadir, and you caught that 51, it may indicate he is looking for a reduction.
Let's see what others think. . .
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86

For those who respond keep in mind due to health issues she goes to sleep around +3.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102

Well so much for staying in the green lagoon. Pmps 102 still looks good in blue hopefully he will surf.
what should I do? shoot 1.0 or reduce the dose :?:
Since he went from yellow to green so quickly, I am inclined to reduce the dose. Any thoughts :?:
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102

i was hoping julie would stopped in by now.
if i was in your situation i would skip to keep michael safe, since you go to sleep around +3.
Better safe then sorry.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102

my reasoning for suggesting skipping VS a reduced dose.
1. you are not able to test past +3/4
2. The depot may start to drain to compensate for the reduced dose, which brings me back to #1

michael is going to end up bouncing due to the 51, so regardless of skipping the shot, you will most likely see 300+ bg at amps.

Safety is First.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102

I agree with Darin. I would reduce the dose. You can always go back up if he doesn't come back down into nice numbers.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102

If you do reduce, I can't advise as to how much, just make sure you get a +2 and post return for any responses, +3 and post also return for any responses. I and pre bed.
I will be watching for your posts.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102

Paula - it's up to you to decide if you want to give insulin tonight, but if you do, you will have to test. If you find that at +2 he is lower than the PMPS, I would advice leaving lots of food out for him to munch on. If you decide to skip, Michael has shown that he can get back on track within a couple of cycles. I think your new dose should be .75U.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102

Thanks, All
I gave .75u @pmps I will try & test @ +2 & +4. I will leave food for him.
Wendy if the #'s go up do I hold this dose for 3 days or go back to 1.0u :?:
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102

If he bounces, you wait to see what the numbers are after the bounce clears. If they aren't green, then you increase back up. Some bounces can take 3 days to clear, although Michael seems to be doing better than that lately. So for now, hold the .75U dose at least a couple days and we'll see what happens.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102

Thanks, I will.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102

Nice shooting there :cool:

Looks like the lowest PS you have shot so far - a milestone!

Words of wisdom from the TR protocol:
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Curious to see the next BG reading -
It will be interesting to see where Michael goes next - he is working the juice these days :cool:
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102 +2 2

Did you feed Michael his normal pmps meal? If yes then your +2 is a starting of a bounce.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102 +2 2

Boy did M bounce :!: PMPS 102 PMPS +2 250 (think it is a bounce) Away he ha a pretty good day with #'s.
Its close to bedtime, so I guess he decided to try his yellow suit. Maybe during the night he'll decide on blue.
That would be nice.
Btw, I was shaking and so nervous shooting my first low #'s since he has been on LC food. I feel better that the #'s are up but hoped they wouldn't be quite this high.
Thanks everyone for the advice & concerns. This is a great place to be :!:
I will try to do a +4.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102 +2 2

Well Done! :cool:

That 250 could be the beginning of a bounce, a food spike from his PMPS meal, a result of the AM shots action wearing off before onset of the PM shot begins. . .

Or some combination of all those things. ;-)

It would be great if you could manage a +4 tonight, since Michael has demonstrated his ability to quickly go from Yellow to Green twice in the last 5 cycles.

If you can't, make sure and leave food out for him.

Way to go Michael!

ps - I too use the Petsafe 5 compartment timed feeder and it was nothing short of a lifesaver, especially for the overnights.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102 +2 2

Hi, Darin
Yes I fed him his normal pm meal. So the +2 is the start of a bounce. How do I know when the bounce
clears :?: I'm still confused on that part. Michael seems to do things differently.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102 +2 2

For charlie it takes about 3 cycles to clear. But usually his first 3 cycles there is not much movement in his numbers an acts as if the insulin is not working. Then when I start seeing good dropping numbers in a cycle and it looks like the insulin is working, then I know it is starting to clear.
Take a look at my spreadsheet. Look at his most recent cycles( within the last week)when he went low in a cycle. Then look at the following cycle being high over 300. Follow the next cycles, you will see how the numbers act as if the insulin is not working. Then you see numbers starting to drop, this is a sign the bounce is starting to clear. I have started to make note in the remarks as to when I believe a bounce started or has started to clear or has cleared.
I hope that makes sense or if someone else can explain it better.
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102 +2 2

Thanks Darin
It does make sense. I just have to keep reading over & over until it sinks in.
M's pmps 102 +2 250 +4 344 He can't decide which color he likes. Now he's back to that stinky pink. Hope he is lower in the am :YMSIGH:
Good night all, thanks for all the support :!:
Paula I-)
 
Re: 9/5 Michael amps 298 +5.25 51 +8 65 +10 86 PMPS 102 +2 2

Great job today Paula!!! You did a super job. I hope you are getting some great sleep tonight.

Since Michael is clearing bounces fast, it would be great if you definitely get his preshot test tomorrow and the +2 test.

Great shooting tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top