9/5 Klinger AMPS 202 +6 HI; PMPS 519

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Very Active Member
Klinger's AMPS are 202. That's weird. Antibiotic kicked in? maybe?
Waiting a half hour - test again to decide if/how much insulin he'll get. And to think that I was going to go to 3.5 today. That's not gonna happen. ~O)
 
Re: 9/5 Klinger AMPS 202 ????

Good call.

Can you get some spot checks today and check back in?

ps: My sister lives in Golden, you're almost neighbors.
 
Re: 9/5 Klinger AMPS 202 ????

I'll be home to spot check - just have to run to the store today - need to stock up on test strips and food.

Golden is beautiful. About 45 mins away (on a good traffic day - which is rare). The views from Lookout Mountain are spectacular.
 
Re: 9/5 Klinger AMPS 202 ????

With PZI their numbers will rise the first few hours. Try for a +4 & +6. I'm hoping this might be your breakthrough.

My favorite spot is Red Rocks.
 
Re: 9/5 Klinger AMPS 202 ????

+4 466
So happy he didn't hypo, which could have been the case if I gave him the full 3 units.

Red Rock is cool. I can picture dinosaurs' living there :smile:
 
Re: 9/5 Klinger AMPS 202 ????

Usually if you reduce by that much they'll go high all day, so don't be surprised if you get a red day today. Hopefully not :) but that's what I've seen so far. If that happens, I'd probably try 2.5 or 2.75 as a dose starting back up tonight. It may be that this was a breakthrough on the 3u and that's the dose he needs to stay at, but I agree lowering the dose for safety makes sense.

Did you end up changing to lower carb food? That would be awesome if you are seeing results from that, and/or from the antibiotics. In that case it may be that 3u is now too much, when it was looking like not enough.... super-cool!!!! That would be nice if you can get a bracket where you know 3u is too much, that makes it so much easier to find the dose when you have some upper & lower limits already established, takes some of the stress & guesswork out of it.
 
Re: 9/5 Klinger AMPS 202 ????

Last night he had his Fancy Feast Kitten Turkey again which has a lot less carbs than the Hills M/D he ate the night before -he ate the whole 5.5 oz can. He never eats that much of the little FF can - maybe 1/2.
I think that could have had something to do with it. I spent 1/2 hour in the food isle reading labels and got all confused by the #'s. I picked him up some different flavors of the classic FF without wheat gluten. Hopefully he'll like some of them. I also picked up some freeze dried anchovy treats (the only freeze dried treats they had) that he seems to like.
I expect to see him in the reds for the rest of the day. It's weird, this morning when he was in the 200's he seemed to feel down and later this morning when he was back in the 400's he's awake, went outside, wants some lovin, had some water, etc. I know it's not healthy for him to be that high, but he sure seems like he feels better at that number than when he's lower. :?
I'll spot check him a few more times and decide on his dose tonight. It would be awesome if he doesn't need 3u's anymore. But with him, who knows. He likes to keep his mama guessing. LOL.
 
Re: 9/5 Klinger AMPS 202 ????

I noticed that with Missy also. In the beginning, when her numbers were in the blue and green she seemed real lethargic and just not herself. And then when she was in the pink, she was frisky and playful. Very confusing.

I'm just glad Missy isn't the only one who likes to confuse Mom.
 
Re: 9/5 Klinger AMPS 202 +6 HI

It can be what they have gotten used to. Before they were diabetic they were used to bg's of 60 to 120, as they become diabetic and their #'s rise they feel crappy but after awhile their bodies get used to it so when they start getting insulin and their bg's are lower again they go through another adjustment to get used to that again.

That's why when they first start getting lower than usual numbers their little bodies think they are in danger and their liver dumps sugar to protect itself from what it precieves as a hypo and than you see their bg's zoom up.

I bet there were dinosaurs at Red Rocks, I wonder if they partied their like we did, have a T Rex rock band playing.
 
That makes sense Rob. LOL on the dinosaurs.
AMPS 519
Debating the 3u's or 2.5u's.
He's eating the Fancy Feast Classic Beef at the moment. At least he ate it and didn't turn his nose up at the plate. He's probably so sick of turkey day in and day out that anything would be a welcome change.
 
I did give him 2.75 at 5:30. He was so hi all day, I just didn't want to wait.
He'g going back to the v.e.t. tomorrow. He's allergies still haven't cleared up and his neck is freaky looking. Looks like he got attacked by something. He's been scratching it like crazy and pulling out his fur. Poor boy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top