9/5 Harvey AMPS 379, +1 387, +2 375, +3 345

BonnieBT

Member Since 2021
My thread from yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...8-2-329-3-304-4-279-5-315-6-305-7-305.252467/

I continued scanning Harvey's Libre last night to the +3 mark and went back this morning and filled in his PM +4 to PM +10 by estimating from where the line on his Libre graph was at for those times. (The Libre doesn't give an actual number unless you scan it, or at least I'm unable to figure out how to get to that actual number.) Basically, he was 327 PMPS, went up to 379 an hour later, then gradually decreased throughout the night without ever getting into the yellow. From the Libre output, it looks like his lowest point was at +7 and right around 300.

He has been on 5 units twice a day since Thursday evening. I just don't feel like we're getting anywhere. :(
 
Hi Bonnie, do you have data for the nights of 9/2 and 9/3? I am curious about how much lower he went. It's possible he is bouncing from those lows.

Harvey has been on this dose 6 cycles and I think you may be good for an increase in dose to 5.5U (For doses between 5 and 10 units, we increase and decrease in multiples of 0.5U).
Tagging @tiffmaxee for confirmation
 
I just filled in the spreadsheet from the Libre graph.

On 9/2, his PMPS measured at 522. A couple of things about this: (1) we had just returned from the vet, so he was stressed and we were running late and (2) it was the first measurement with his new sensor. I measured him at 305 and 288 at +1 and +2. Judging from the Libre graph, it looks like his numbers from there went (more or less): 255, 236, 245, 245, 297, 297. My husband got up the morning of 9/3 at his usual early hour and measured him at 323, then 353, then his AMPS of 335.

On 9/3, his PMPS was 296. I measured him the next 3 hours at 324, 343, and 277. The Libre numbers overnight from there were roughly 280, 335, 350, 325, 325, 350, and 350. He was 292 when my husband got up at +11 with an AMPS shortly thereafter of 294.

Does that help? I've got another 5 hours before it's time to dose him again, so I won't make any changes until I hear from you or @tiffmaxee. Thank you so much for all your help!
 
Which method are you going to follow? Please add it to your signature. We do not increase in whole units though. If following TR increase to 5.50 as Bhooma said.
 
So far my dosing method has been to do what my vet says. I'm game to try one of the methods here. Do you think TR would be best? We've got the Libre, so frequent BG testing is no problem at all, especially right now when my husband and I are home all day most of the time.

I just ordered new syringes with half-unit markings, but they won't be here until Wednesday. We will have to eyeball it in the meantime.

Also, regarding ketone testing: Is there a current preference for blood testing systems for this? There is no way I can test Harvey's urine. I don't even know when he's peeing most of the time.
 
I'm game to try one of the methods here. Do you think TR would be best? We've got the Libre, so frequent BG testing is no problem at all, especially right now when my husband and I are home all day most of the time.
Yes, since you are feeding only wet food and can test more ofter, TR would be best. It is a more aggressive protocol with dose changes as often as 3-5 days and can get Harvey to a good dose faster. You can read about it here: Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

You get blood ketone meters as well, for testing for ketones : Ketones, Ketoacidosis and Diabetic Cats: A Primer on Ketones
In case you want to try ketostix for testing his urine, here are Tips to catch and test a urine sample
 
Just stopping in to say hello and welcome here. How is Harvey doing these days? Our kitties are more than just BG numbers, so it's good to get an all round report periodically. We have what we call the 5 P's (purring, playing, preening, pooing, peeing), which cover most of what a cat does, besides sleep of course! :p

Good luck with the new dose of 5.5 units.
 
Thank you for the welcome, Wendy! This has definitely been a rough few weeks for Harvey. Shortly after he was diagnosed, he went through a spell where we had to coax him to eat. He seems to have gotten past that, although we have to monitor him and keep smooshing the food back up into a pile for him. He tends to flatten it out on the plate and then has trouble picking it up.

He spends most of his time on a dog bed underneath our dining room table. It's a pretty central location, so he can keep on eye on things. We have moved his litterbox from the basement to the main floor so that he can live on one level, but sometimes he will come down and join us to watch TV at night.

I'm really concerned about his walking, and I have a video, which I will post in my next daily thread.
 
Back
Top