9/5** Harley PMPS 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Another high night. I was 15 minutes early in giving his shot last night and 15 minutes last this AM...At +8 442. Should I increase/decrease dose. Gave 7.0 this AM. He is feeling fine, picking fights, crying for food etc. and no ketones yesterday.

I am worried because these last 2 days have been the highest ever--500's. Why should this be happening. I have not changed food. I am using more 0-1% carb stuff.
Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24106
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

Pattie -

I think this is a bounce off of the blue the evening of 9/3. I'm hoping this clears soon -- remember it can take as long as 72 hours for a bounce to clear. You don't want to increase Harley's dose until this clears. I'm trying to get some additional people to take a look at Harley's SS.
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

Here is the link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24106

He is not used to seeing blues...and I agree with Sienne...
Will you be able to get some test in again today? That would be great...alternating hours from yesterday will help fill in the picture too.
I see the note that you are giving him Renaplus...
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

we're too new to help with anything but the most positive thoughts for you...but we'll send those your way.

celi & binks
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

Sending healing green light and Angels & Prayers coming your way Kath
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

I would have to agree with Sienne .. she knows this stuff, and so does pat .. I am sure it is just a bounce from the blues he isn't used to seeing .. I hope they clear out soon for you ...
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

Have you ever seen on the news when those crazy people show up at waters edge for Polar Bear Swim events? Lots of times the sun is shining and the water looks fanTASTic! Everybody is happy and in their suits and costumes, and then off they go! They tear down the beach and run into the water!
The next thing is you see lots of them shreeking and come tearing outta the water as fast as their feet can move them. They feel like HUMAN ICE CUBES!

And so it is, in my mind, with these BG numbers. Every so often, as there is progress in the BG and you see improvements, you will get "the best number EVER".You are all excited and feel so happy, but then you see that best number disappear and what you get is a number that is even higher than the usual!

I call it the liver's polar bear swim.
After getting used to pinks and yellows, a paw is dipped into the blues, liver freaks, and soars up again, passing yellows, pinks, and hides in the reds!

But that's OK. You now know that those good numbers are reachable! Now once the bounce clears and things settle down again, there will be more trips downward, and the trips will last longer and will be more frequent. The day will come when what you see now as the usual turns into the oh-no's!
My only other thought is ... pretty high dose.

If all other causes have been ruled out like getting kitty krak, have some infection, got a tooth issue, p-itis or some other health thing, then you just need to wait out the bounce.
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

Harley gets RenaPlus 3 tabs a day. He has low K+ for the last year. Last check up - May -he was finally normal. Vet never said to d/c it.

Pattie
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

Does that affect the appetite? I don't really know anything about it though...just wondering since I noticed it on your SS recently... When his values were normal it never came up about stopping that or what?
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

He always gets 2 tabs RenaPlus AM and 1tab PM. I will be more consistent in getting this on the ss.

Since yesterday I did a curve Q 2 hours, I will do one Q 3 hours today. That should help with getting gaps filled in for the weekend.

Pattie
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

Like with all Harley's bounces, he seems really hungry. With him being in the 500's, it is still ok to give him a little more. I thought I would really water it down to see if he would pee. ;-)
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

If he's hungry, it may also be because his numbers are coming down.

On additional thought... If your regular vet is OK with running the IAA test, having that data would allow you to be more aggressive with dosing. Right now, we may "think" that's what's going on but I wouldn't be comfortable encouraging you to be aggressive with dosing without a formal diagnosis.

FWIW, there have been kitties who just have a higher threshold than others before reaching a breakthrough dose.
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

I will be talking with Suzanne (primary vet) on Tuesday. I can drop off Harley and pick him up later in the day.

Pattie
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

If you are going to test for acro and IAA, you may need to fast for one of the tests if your cat has issues with lipemia.

IAA Test
IGF-1 (Acro) Test

Randi/Max is a good example of a higher dose, then going OTJ. It could be that he may have tested positive for IAA but it broke first. IAA can be temporary but acro is not. My Shadoe is what I could call a lower dose acro as she has been around 6.5u or so for a time, but has been up to 14u. Maybe your cat is like Max and just needs a bit more juice to get to that breakthrough point, but testing is a way to know for sure. Just something to keep in mind and worth the mention to your vet.

I was told that Shadoe did not 'look acro', so I had to push for the tests. Even after testing positive, they still questioned the findings as she does not look the part.
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

I think Jill mentioned somewhere that some kitties to better with 3% carb foods for some reason.
Have you tried anything higher than the 0%??
Might be worth a try anyway...
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529 - worried

can you get a +10 or +11 today and post it? I think it might be time for a dose increase, but I'd like to see if this bounce is breaking first. We don't want to increase at the same time a bounce is clearing, because the combined momentum might be too much.
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529, +3 440, +6 307

Harley does not look good (subjective I know). His eyes look like they did when he had ketones, again I know this is subjective. I would like to try to give him some really watered down food. I thought I would take FF appetizer and add water to it to get him to pee.

Would that be ok?? His gums are not tacky so I know he is not dehydrated but still, I don't want to take chances.

Pattie
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529, +3 440, +6 307

This is from Harley's University vet:

We tested Harley for acromegaly in June of 2009. His IGF-1 (growth hormone) level was normal at 12 nmol/L (the normal range is 12-92). We have not checked him for insulin autoantibodies (IAA.

She did not think it was worthwhile to test for the IAA, so I will go to Harley's primary vet for this.

Pattie
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529, +3 440, +6 307

watering down food won't hurt anything, as long as he'll eat it. It would be nice to get a ketone test.
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529, +3 440, +6 307

I'm not an expert in this field at all, however, I'm guessing something's going on with Harley and he needs to be tested, or he got into some high carb food somehow, or the insulin's petering out.

I wish you both to have good #'s and soon. *HUGS* Hang in there, Pattie.
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529, +3 440, +6 307

I am using a brand new bottle of insulin. this is the 3rd dose out of the bottle. He just won't pee on command. I looked at him - told him to go and he would only meow. what a stubborn kitty he is. cat(2)_steam

He drank all the FF appetizer water.
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529, +3 440, +6 307

try cleaning the litterbox, whenever I scoop all of a sudden everybody wants to be the first to mess it back up again. :lol:
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529, +3 440, +6 307-Please don't laugh

Harley finished the Appetizer water and we went outside - I am still planting. Phone rang, I ran to pick it up to take it outside. By the time I was back, he had peed and was covering it up. ohmygod_smile

From what I got off the grass - looks negative but not sure.
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529, +3 440, +6 307-Please don't laugh

oh, I can sooooooooo relate! Did I tell you about the time a few weeks ago when I took Lucy to the vet for a urinalysis? She peed in the carrier on the way there so I had to leave her. They tried 3 times during the day to get a cysto. They left her in a cage with the NoSorb litter just in case she decided she needed to go. They went in at 5:00 to try one more time with the needle before I picked her up. She had peed in the NoSorb!!! But then she laid in it and soaked it all up with her fur. :roll: Apparently the vet tech tried to squeeze enough out of her fur. :lol: No luck, though.

At least you know how to get him to pee.
 
Re: 9/5** Harley AMPS 529, +3 440, +6 307-Please don't laugh

Maybe later you can put him in a bathroom by himself with some littler covered with saran wrap...it might take some patience. Can you believe he took that opportunity when you turned your back? OMG! they could drive a person crazy!!! OK...I do want to laugh though. Ain't it just the way? <sigh>
 
Today I was able to test Q3 hours with Harley.
AMPS 529
+3 440
+6 307
+9 305
+10 258
+11 269
PMPS 261

Quick question. Should I have my vet run the GF-1 test again or just the IAA?

I typically feed Harley FF of 5% or less carbs. Over the last 2 weeks, I have given EVO 0-1% as snacks or mixed with the FF. Although his brother and sister are fed different food, Harley is shut in the bedroom during meals. I don’t let him out until I have picked up the other dishes and washed them. I doubt that he has gotten into high carb food but you never know.

I am so glad he went down into the yellow's. Have a good evening.

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top