9/5 Harley AMPS 186, +5 48 Yikes, PMPS 208

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/5 Harley AMPS 186, +5 48 Yikes

Ok it looks like 1.1u is too much now. It's time to lower the dose.

I fed him some of his regular food and kept testing, he's on his way back up +6 55.
 
Re: 9/5 Harley AMPS 186, +5 48 Yikes

ok ok, now the fine tuning begins once again...don'tcha just love this game?
 
Re: 9/5 Harley AMPS 186, +5 48 Yikes

I just hope my heart holds out, it almost stopped when I saw that first 50. My nerves aren't doing much better either.

Ok, so help me fine tune. How much do I lower the dose without going too high?
 
Re: 9/5 Harley AMPS 186, +5 48 Yikes

Oh no! Glad to see his numbers starting to go up. Breathe! Personally the "greens" scare the heck out of me. You're doing a great job of fine tuning as it is. It looks like he did well the other morning on .80.
Keep us posted, please. Is he showing any severe signs of hypo?
 
Re: 9/5 Harley AMPS 186, +5 48 Yikes

No he didn't show any signs of hypo, except that he came to me and got into my lap like he was asking to be tested so I did. I was going to test anyway but when he asked I tested early.

In the beginning the green's terrified me so I was overly cautious and took a very conservative approach to this. I still do I guess. I've slowly adjusted my thinking over to realizing that a non diabetic cat is always in green #'s.

I guess we are alot like our kitties, when they were dx the 400's & 500's scared the crap out of me but I slowely got used to it and then the low numbers scared the crap out of me but I think I'm finally getting used to it.
 
Re: 9/5 Harley AMPS 186, +5 48 Yikes

+5 48 is not hypo and don't know when harley typically nadirs but this was not likely a hypo.
why do people get freightend by green? green is good.
i'd say to fine tune by just a hair...LOLOLOL
it was actually just 10 points or so away from a very nice nadir.
when tom was otj he would frequently check in in the 50's
 
Re: 9/5 Harley AMPS 186, +5 48 Yikes

Oh I know it wasn't a hypo BUT it's as close as I want to get.

I just saw my son, dil & granddaughter on the evening news!! They were being interviewed about what their favorite food and favorite things to do are at our state fair. Really cool!
 
Ok, PMPS 208 almost identical to last night. 1u was good last night but than 1.1u was perfect 2 days ago and maybe a little to much today so I shot a skinny 1u. I don't want to have to worry tonight.
 
Nice! Have you ever tested a civie? That can put you at ease as to what a "normal" number is for a cat using your meter. I saw someone once who's civie tested at 42! I presume that means that meter ran low, but it's good data. You could be giving HC on a perfect #, or if your meter runs higher, not giving HC if you should be. Of course it's still just approximate, but I think it's good for a reference point, if you have a civie just hanging around with nothing else to do. ;-) Plus it's FUN to break in another cat, lol! :lol: I was scared to try it for a long time for fear I might find my civies were diabetic too ohmygod_smile thankfully.... not!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top