9-5 Gus PMPS (+14)=183

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193

Gus looks awesome!!!![/color] Ok...so I haven't been on your condo every day but it seems like every day that I have been, he's been in blue!!! Fabulous!!! What a change.

Have a super day Bev.
 
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193

Dropping by to say hello :-D

Gus certainly has kept you busy! It looks like you have him in a great place. Blue is such a beautiful color for Gus.
 
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193

OHhh Bev - so glad to hear "land of Gus" is good - and hoping YOU are too. I keep you both so close in thought!!!!! And as always sending warm and good wishes your way!!!!
xxx
patti
 
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193

look at Gus go!

Hmmm, there was somebody on Health the other day with a higher dose cat complaining that she never saw any cats in LL with a high dose and terrible numbers like her cat's. I'll try to find that condo and maybe you can go visit. You can't get numbers much worse than Gus's were at first, but you have really powered through that and gotten him into a GREAT place. I bet she would love to see what you have done here.
 
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193

yeah, gus is the poster kitty for getting great management and responding to the protocol, isn't he?! so good to see Gus in happy land!
 
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193 +7=47 PMBG 46 ADVICE

I really feel as if I should skip this shot. If not for anything else, to see what he does without insulin. I wouldn't bet against anything right now. Advice welcome. Am I over reacting.
 
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193 +7=47 PMBG 46 ADVICE

I think it's up to you. Can you stall? I know you want to see what he does without insulin but he hasn't had the numbers I think he would have if he was ready to do without insulin.

If you can stall, retest, and he's coming up and gets up to a number you are comfortable shooting, I'd give him his shot. If you just want to see what he does without it, you can, but be prepared (i.e. don't be shocked) if he does go much higher. Who knows???

If you stall and he doesn't come up to a number you are comfy shooting, I'd skip.
 
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193 +7=47 PMBG 46 ADVICE

Hope someone with more experience comes along soon. I wouldn't shoot,, but have never shot that low. Great numbers for Gus. Yay!!
 
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193 +7=47 PMBG 46 ADVICE

If you skip, you can always use R to manage the numbers if Gus bounces up. I'm thinking a skip may not be a bad idea at all so you can get ahead of Gus' shed. Given that he was in the 40s earlier and dropped back down, I think Gus means business.
 
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193 +7=47 PMBG 46 ADVICE

I'm away for a few days and look what's going on!!! Wow Gus!!! I can't get Champ's numbers this good. Way to go Bev. I know the 40's isn't where you love to be, but I know you've got a handle on this. I hope your holiday weekend has been great!!
 
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193 +7=47 PMBG 46 ADVICE

I would skip, then try a reduced dose tomorrow. Acros have big sheds, and with Jazzy I have noticed that skipping shots here and there really doesn't have much negative effect. Then you can have a night off (once he's out of the 40s).
 
Re: 9- Gus AMPS 193 +7=47 PMBG 46 ADVICE

WOw - look at Gus go! I have no experience with high dose cats, looks like you've got great advice. Sure does look like Gus means business! :-D
 
I erred on the side of safety, stalling until I got a reasonable number and gave him 4U. Gus isn't at all ready to go without insulin, the tricky part is to find the magic number that he DOES need ohmygod_smile Anyhow, that should hold him without going off the charts. We'll decide on tomorrow's plan in the AM. Thank you all for the kind words of support earlier in Gus' condo. Every one of you would have done exactly as I did, stay the course and do the best for your furbaby. My biggest happiness is seeing how happy he is. My second biggest happiness is being able to give my family more time to love him. Words can't thank everyone enough for all the help, advice, and laughs that have been a huge help to us during these last 6 months.
 
Libby and Sienne, I had already given the 4U by the time i read your posts. Do you think that 6U (down from 7) would be too big of a drop. (My question mark key is broken!)
 
I'll defer to Libby if she stops back.

What I've learned from listening to Libby and watching all of you with HD cats is that there's not likely to be a "right" answer. Last time, you reduced by 0.5u. My instinct would be to say reduce by 1.0u. You can always increase the dose back up if the reduction doesn't seem to hold.
 
bev, i'd drop the one unit in the morning too. that lets the shed drain a little. you can always give more tomorrow night if it seems like he needs it, but i would be surprised if you see a lot of difference in his numbers with the 1/2 dose shot tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top