9/5 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 163 +4 167

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

9/4 Recap
AMPS: 340 24th cycle .75u
+2: 282
+4: 108
+4.5: 108
+5: 103
+6: 108
+7.5: 120
+10: 198
PMPS: 320 25th cycle .75u
+2: 356
+4: 319


images

Good Morning on this cool, cloudy Tucson day! Sending lots of healing vines to Alex, Tarragon, Garland, Baby, Rocket, Zener, and others who need them.

Oh my baby girl has been so extra sweet and lovey. Between her and Tobey in the morning with all their snuggles and purrs, I can barely get out of bed. I am so lucky. Gracie has been busy today...catio, in to remind me it was time for breffis #1 and then breffis #2, nipping Tobey's toes, and generally just doing her sassy walk around the house surveying her territory. She was rather chatty this morning as we were waking up....not like her to meow alot but she just evidently had things on her mind. Maybe she was trying to tell me what she thinks about starting lev tomorrow :lol: :lol: :lol:

I guess it was a good thing Gracie decided to be high last night because after dinner (I didn't even manage to get that drink!) and Gracie's +2, I laid down on the couch and zoned out. By the time I woke up, it was late so I closed up the house, did a +4, and hit the sack. I think Julie is right....all that adrenaline from going 90 miles a minute when I was working full time and now....major exhaustion. But I know I will get over it quickly. Everyone I know who has retired tells me they sleep tons more right after they first quit working. It will all balance out esp since I am routinely back on my exercise program.

Here's wishing you all a Happy Labor Day. May you spend it in relaxation with those you love. The love of my life, Mike, will be home in two hours. I am very excited!!
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317

I hope switching to Lev gets Gracie out of that "Almost Club' it will be interesting to see how she reacts to it compared to Tess.
I think Julie is right....all that adrenaline from going 90 miles a minute when I was working full time and now....major exhaustion. But I know I will get over it quickly. Everyone I know who has retired tells me they sleep tons more right after they first quit working. It will all balance out esp since I am routinely back on my exercise program.
and add to that Sleep deprivation for a year. You deserve the decompression time. Have a peaceful Labor Day! When does Mike get home?
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256

Slowly coming down today. If we weren't switching to lev, I'd be looking at a dosecrease so I am having to wear those patience pants!!

Ann: I know...it will be interesting. I've been looking at lots of SS with kitties going from lantus to lev. Lots of kitties getting much flatter cycles. But Gracie always does things her way...just like Tess.

Mike is on his way from the airport as I write. YIKES!! Better go get on my makeup and do my hair :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256

Good luck with the switch to Lev...it will be very interesting to see how Gracie works it. How do you even begin to switch insulins?

LOL on getting all "cleaned up" for Mike! Have you ever seen that 1950s article about being the perfect housewife? Making sure everything is in perfect order, you're personally all tidy, the kids hair is neat and they are quiet, balanced dinner on the table...really funny stuff....
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256 +5 261

Amy: well....one cycle you give lantus, the next levemir. The lev dose is 30-50% of the lantus dose to start off since you are emptying one shed and filling the next.

Yes...I have seen that ....it is HYSTERICAL!!! I figure if I only see Mike 3-4 days a week, I ought to look decent...that way he'll want to come home :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256 +5 261

Very flat day for Gracie... I bet she celebrates her last night on Lantus with some greens!! :lol: :lol: :lol: Your morning sounds divine... cuddly chatty kitties!

Glad you're working on getting some rest! You deserve it! Heck, you've got me contemplating a week's vacation in which all I do is sleep!! :lol: :lol:

Hope you and DH have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256 +5 261

Hi Marje, so little Gracie and you start the Lev tomorrow! I wish you lots of luck and hope it evens her out. Sorry you missed that drink last night. Now you can make up for it tonight with Mike coming home. Yes, it is an adjustment at first with retirement, but sounds like you're already loving it. Sometimes you don't realize how much stress you're under until you're out from under it all with retirement, if that all makes sense. It's nice you can still work part-time, too. Gracie is kind of staying flat here so far. Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256 +5 261

Hi, Marge. Good luck with the Lev. Hopefully it will help her even out!

Love that you got to cuddle with the kitties this morning. Cuddling with the kitties is the best!

I also hope you have a great few days with your husband.

Have a lovely day.

P.S. - I think you got our clouds. Yesterday I actually saw a beautiful rainbow (but no actual rain where I was).
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256 +5 261

Good luck with the switch to Levemir. What are you starting at 0.50 units?
I'm sure you are enjoying being with your honey, right now. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256 +5 261

copying and pasting my response to marjorie's PM here:

it looks like gracie is due to clear the bounce at any time now. would you feel better letting her hit green on lantus BEFORE starting lev? in other words, start the lev when she begins to bounce from going green on lantus?

if you want to get started on lev tomorrow no matter what, i have no problem skipping tonight's lantus shot and shooting lev at 5:30 or 6am tomorrow morning.

about the dose...
edited to add: given gracie's current dose, 0.5u is what the suggested starting dose would be. HOWEVER, there's nothing wrong with starting at a lower dose... even as low as 0.25 unit. i have no problem with increasing the dose after a couple of cycles if it's obvious the dose was too low. check out alex's initial starting dose on her 2009 lev ss to see what i mean. i wasn't going to fool around with a dose that obviously wasn't enough. you shouldn't either. you test often enough that i wouldn't have any qualms about taking the dose up quickly if need be. i also know that if necessary, you'd monitor all night long.

starting low and increasing quickly if necessary may give you a little peace of mind.


it's up to you when you want to start and what dose you want to start at...
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256 +5 261

Good luck with the Lev tomorrow! Hope it gives Gracie the boost she needs. You are funny getting all done up for Mike. I'm sure you are thrilled to have him home in time for the switch. Have a great evening!
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256 +5 261 +9.5 292

Thanks to you all for your wishes on our starting lev.

In response to Jill's post:

She has come up this afternoon and Mike and I talked about your suggestions. Even though she "might" clear her bounce tonight, she might also not and we're not comfortable with her being in the 300s without any shot. We are more flexible on when we start the lev. Our plan, with contingencies is:

1. If she is still high at PMPS or only gets a small dip, we'll give her .75u lantus tonight; if she is dropping at PMPS alot or quickly, we'll skip the shot and start her tomorrow morning at 6 am on lev
2. If we give the shot tonight and she is high tomorrow morning, we'll start the lev at our regular shot time (7:30) and adjust her slowly once her shed has filled and we see what her cycles will be like
3. If we give the shot tonight and she is low tomorrow morning, we'll skip the shot in the a.m. and start her tomorrow night at 6 on lev

Does that all sound reasonable or do you see any loopholes/problems with that?

Insofar as dose, if we skip a shot so her lantus shed drains, we were thinking of starting her at .5u lev because she really hasn't done well lately on the .75u of lantus. She hasn't been in green on this dose since pm 8/31 as the green cycle on am 9/2 was the effect from the loaded dose. If we do one cycle of lantus and then the next of lev, then we probably will start her lower....do you think it is better to start at sk.5u or .25u? Would I assume if she does two cycles in yellow/pink on lev that it isn't a lantus bounce and then take her up by .25u? Will there be someone around to tell me when to take her up?

I know it would be easiest just to skip a shot but she's already got numbers too high for my liking and I'm worried about DKA. Esp if we are starting her at a much lower dose of insulin and having to bring her up. Yes, I am testing her every day for ketones but I know it develops fast and I don't want this happening to her. Conversely, I don't want her tanking from two sheds and wondering if we can get her up and having to skip shots.
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256 +5 261 +9.5 292

i don't see any problems or loopholes in your thought process. :-D

dose --- i have no idea if it's better to start her at 0.25u or 0.5u... not what you wanted to hear i bet. we just don't know how gracie will respond. *usually* we'd suggest a starting dose of 0.5u (given her current dose), but you sounded kind of nervous about the switch. i/we want you to feel comfortable with whatever dose you decide to shoot. that's why it would be ok to start at 0.25 unit and increase quickly. deciding which of these doses you want to start with has more to do with your comfort level than anything else and the "right" answer is to choose the dose you're comfortable giving.

we don't know if gracie will react by taking a nose dive within the first couple of cycles. we don't know if 0.5u will be enough, but we have to start somewhere. kwim?
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256 +5 261 +9.5 292

Howdy! Well... I know I posted here this morning - I remember the "happy labor Day"... but alas... no post is showing. scary... hmmmmmm, maybe I dreampt it all. :shock:

Good luck with the Lev - I have zippo experience with it, so won't even go there with any answers. Good luck on whatever you decide! I hope it does what you are after.

AND THIS IS SO TRUE!
Ann & Tess said:
I think Julie is right....all that adrenaline from going 90 miles a minute when I was working full time and now....major exhaustion. But I know I will get over it quickly. Everyone I know who has retired tells me they sleep tons more right after they first quit working. It will all balance out esp since I am routinely back on my exercise program.
and add to that Sleep deprivation for a year. You deserve the decompression time. Have a peaceful Labor Day!
I remember when I retired... same thing!

have a great evening guys! And Gracie: think blue and green - go out on Lantus with a bang! well... maybe not.

Welcome home Mike!
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie AMPS 317 +3 256 +5 261 +9.5 292

If you decide on starting the Lev tomorrow, good luck!!! I hope this is what Gracie needs to get her cute furry fanny in gear!!
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie PMPS 219

Hi Marje & Gracie and good luck with the switch to Lev. You asked me the other day when Rusty's onset usually begins. I would say at about +4. His nadir is anywhere between +5.5-+6 and +8 or +9. Usually (until this latest bout of weird numbers) he is pretty consistent and the curves are rather flat.
Thanks for offering the Chinese herb. I'm not sure about it. Will get back to you after I have a chance to look into it. I know that herbs can be very powerful and Rusty is very sensitive to any kind of change in diet, etc.

Have a good evening. Your plan for tomorrow sounds very sensible to me.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie PMPS 219

So we decided to see if Gracie is on the rise in the morning and start her lev at .5u if she is.

Michelle: looks like she is listening to you! Oh good..I'm glad you confirmed the reitrement exhaustion :lol: :lol:

Patty: US, TOO!!!

Anne: vielen dank!!

Libby: Boy do I hope so, too. Jazzy's SS is gorgeous!

Ella: Thanks for the info on Rusty. No prob on the herb. Just let me know. I totally understand if you prefer not to.

Mike is home; we went to see "Seven Days in Utopia". Awesome movie....about golf but really with a bigger meaning. Then dinner out. Then a walk!! Now to settle in and spend time together.
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 163

Down you go, Miss Gracie! Gotta celebrate the last night on Lantus in style!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Hope you guys had an amazing day!

Gracie! U an' Tobey can come ober tonite?? I catches a MOUSE!! But it got away (Aunt Amanda's fault!!), an' I needs help catching it again! Bean iz makin niptinis and libber pate an' sez I can fire up de grill for a midnite partee! U guyz in? --Willie
 
Re: 9/5 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 163

So Gracie is having one last hurrah on Lantus, but it looks like you've got all contingencies planned out. Paws crossed for it working for Gracie. Tess has done well on it although just now she is not being the poster child for Lev's leveling out effects.

I know you are nervous about all this, but you can handle this.You and Mike are so good at monitoring her and controlling the drops with food. That won't change, it will be fine. See you in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top