Marc & Cooper
Member Since 2021
Yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-4-cooper-amps-228-3-234-6-144-pmps-348-2-309-6-201.252439/
Big jump for cooper this morning.
Big jump for cooper this morning.
Decided to hold the dose?
If they think you are on 4U but Cooper is actually on 3.5U, you can increase tonight to 3.75U and run the curve tomorrow on 3.75U.@Bandit's Mom I do have a question.
My vet wanted me to run a full glucose curve this weekend and send them the report. They are a great vet and I don’t want to fully go against their advice as you guys have also been extremely helpful (right now they believe he is on 4 units which was their last recommendation). Do you think it would be ok to run the full curve tomorrow on the 3.5 units and then the next day start him on the new dose?
If they think you are on 4U but Cooper is actually on 3.5U, you can increase tonight to 3.75U and run the curve tomorrow on 3.75U.
I presume you are not telling them what dose he is actually on?
Yes, you just eyeball midway between 3.5 to 4. Btw, the zoom function of a smartphone camera provides great magnification.Is there an easy way to judge that or just try to get the insulin between the 3.5 and 4U line?
Don't be. Vets do not know a whole lot about feline diabetes. Increasing in full units is a very bad idea. Even if you are home to test, 1U is a lot more insulin for a cat.yes! I feel very guilty about that but I feel like the full unit jumps are way too drastic especially since I’m not home all the time to test.
Yes, you just eyeball midway between 3.5 to 4. Btw, the zoom function of a smartphone camera provides great magnification./QUOTE]
ok sounds good! Thank you!
Don't be. Vets do not know a whole lot about feline diabetes. Increasing in full units is a very bad idea. Even if you are home to test, 1U is a lot more insulin for a cat.
His +8 is 147. Is there PMPS number that I should look for to where I would not up his dose or regardless of that number should I still do the 3.75U?
Feed a little LC now and test in 2 hours. If he continues to head lower till PMPS, I would hold the dose. If he is 190 or higher, I would increase.His +8 is 147. Is there PMPS number that I should look for to where I would not up his dose or regardless of that number should I still do the 3.75U?
Feed a little LC now and test in 2 hours. If he continues to head lower till PMPS, I would hold the dose. If he is 190 or higher, I would increase.
Your pmps is within meter variance. I think you have room to increase.
Good luck with the increase!ok great! Thank you for the fast response. I jumped him to 3.75![]()