9/5 China AMPS 79,+3 59,+7 64,PMPS 97,+3 63,+6.5 61 Dental tomorrow...maybe

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris/China (GA)/Garfield

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Well heck....now I don't know what to do

There's a new vet that's never seen China before that's supposed to be doing the dental tomorrow. To get her "usual" vet it was going to be another month before she could get in.

Called today to see what she thought about China's dental and she said she wanted her to have a small meal in the morning and her usual dose of insulin!

I've always skipped the morning of and I'm not at all comfortable giving her insulin before anesthesia ....and I told her she was very tightly regulated and usually between 50-90

And she said if I didn't give it, she'd give it when she got there!! I know they don't keep Lantus laying around the office, so what's she think she's going to do? Give her R??

She's concerned she'll go high since "they tend to go higher at the vets due to stress"....DUHHHH.....but I'd rather she run a little high than take the chances of running too low!...and China doesn't always react to stress by going up....she's just as likely to go down.

I wish vets would give us credit for not actively trying to kill our cats..that we just might know what we're talking about.

Seriously considering canceling and just waiting until I can get her in with the vet that's seen her more
 
Neko's dental specialist let her have 1/3 of her breakfast up to six hours before her denta. Newer anesthesia protocols allow that for diabetics.
 
Either be firm with the vet and say, "I do not consent, under any non-emergency circumstances, to the giving of insulin to China for this dental procedure" and make them acknowledge that in writing, or cancel until you can schedule with somebody whose competency you can trust.
 
A lot of cats go up at the vet, but a lot of cats also tank after the appointment.

I assume that this isn't a "smile and nod" and lie about giving the morning shot occasion.
 
Is this vet in the same practice? Can she see any BG info from previous dentals?

Yes, she's in the same practice.....and her last dental, the highest she got was 248 on the AT

Newer anesthesia protocols allow that for diabetics.

I'm OK with the small meal.....I'm not sure I'm OK with giving her scheduled dose of insulin on top of it....that's what scares me
 
Oops....missed one

Her last one was 3/24/16....Her numbers were AMPS 82,+2 162,+4 204,+7 248, PMPS 274, +2 180,+4 91,+6 89

But she was also at 2.75 at that time.....now she's on .5 and close to earning another reduction due to 7 days in normal numbers
It seems like your choices are-

  • reschedule with the vet you trust
  • smile and nod (BG went up -oh, it must have been a fur shot!)
  • follow this vets instructions.
what is your gut telling you?
 
Yesterday's condo

Well heck....now I don't know what to do

There's a new vet that's never seen China before that's supposed to be doing the dental tomorrow. To get her "usual" vet it was going to be another month before she could get in.

Seriously considering canceling and just waiting until I can get her in with the vet that's seen her more

If it's only a month, I would go with China's usual vet. Why deal with stress on top of everything else?

Sending vines for whatever you decide to do!

Yo China, If you don't go to the vetty bean tomorrow, come to camp with me and help plan the Full Harvest Moon party.
~ Rusty
 
Seriously considering canceling and just waiting until I can get her in with the vet that's seen her more
:mad::mad:

I am so sorry. Why can't they "consult" with us and actually listen and work to come up with a solution that
makes everyone comfortable?

:bighug::bighug: Keep us posted.
 
i hate to say it because I know how much you want it over with....
but ....
no.... unless a cat is in really high numbers, they don't need insulin on the day of surgery.... they don't need to eat within 6-8 hours before surgery because
they could choke on food....
she doesn't seem to be familiar enough with diabetic cats.... quoting textbook instead of experience.

You know far far more than she probably ever will.....
and this is your China....



She's just not saying anything right.....
 
If it's only a month, I would go with China's usual vet. Why deal with stress on top of everything else?

Yeah I know....and in a perfect world, that's what I'd do....but to try to save a little money, it's important to get the dental in while we still have "recent" bloodwork....otherwise they're going to insist on repeating it before anesthesia (which I totally understand and agree with, but that's another $200 or so)
 
i'm not opposed to the new vets.....
but she isn't saying the right things....

so i'd either lie and say I shot.... because what she says could actually be dangerous.
anesthesia lowers bg.... she should know that.... and not be saying she'd give insulin on a cat that's so well regulated.... and not in high numbers......
 
I guess I'm so used to having drs that say stupid things for me and I walk out.... and find the next one that I'm not willing to put up with the nonsense anymore.
Just like all the idiots on the news these days.....
the stupid virus seems to be taking hold every where.....
 
anesthesia lowers bg.... she should know that.
Not necessarily. Maybe the new vet is using the new (or at least relatively new to the US) induction drug that does not lower BG. You could always say she got her dose in the AM. Just happens her dose for that AM is zero.
they don't need to eat within 6-8 hours before surgery because
they could choke on food....
Again, not necessarily. The latest protocols for anethesia and diabetic cats say you can have food sooner. And China eats raw food, which is processed a lot faster in the GI system than the protocols which also allow for kitty eating dry food which takes longer to process. Other than the insulin, this vet could be on the ball.
 
I once gave Neko 0.1 units before a dental, and she got down to low 70's on their AT. :nailbiting: But they weren't worried, as one of the anethesia drugs they give bumps the BG.
 
Ugh! What a position to be in! :banghead:

Whatever you decide to do, Chris, I know it will be with China's best interests in mind. :bighug:

Sending good vetty and dental vines just in case. They're long lasting, so if you decide to postpone they'll still be good in a month!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top