9/5 China AMPS 161,+2.5 188,PMPS 165,+3 137,+6 65,+7 56

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Thank you to Kelly and Deb for stopping by yesterday, and I appreciate your thoughts on going back up to 1.25 on China too Deb. I decided to go for it since it looked like she was getting better numbers then and I really debated with myself over lowering it after that 49 six days ago anyway.

TODAY IS 3 MONTHS OF BEING ON LANTUS!! No, she's not one of those truly lucky ones that responds so quickly and is OTJ in a matter of weeks, but I'm not discouraged! The statistics say we're only halfway through that "prime time", but if she requires insulin for the rest of her life, that's just the way it is. I know I won't be alone there either.

We shall overcome!!.. Besides, China's been there for me through some of the worst times in my life. I owe it to her to take the best care of her I can for as long as I can. I don't look at it like a burden at all...it's my privilege to have her if my life and just having my "old China" back lately has been a truly great gift. I hadn't realized how much I'd missed her chirping, her playing, her occasional purring and most of all, the look of absolute love of life in her eyes when she finally "catches" the invisible bugs only she can see...she has such fun doing that!

Our relationship has grown closer than it's ever been, and although I wouldn't want anyone's cat to develop diabetes, it adds a whole new depth to your relationship with your cat that's priceless.

My heart breaks for Barb today at her first day without her beloved Checkers. With this special relationship we do build with our sugarcats, when they're gone, the hole it leaves in our hearts is even deeper. Take care of yourself...We all understand and wish we could share the pain so you didn't have to feel it all.
 
Re: 9/5 China AMPS 161,+2.5 188..back up to 1.25

Hi guys .. good luck with the new dose! And no, don't be discouraged that your kitty wasn't a quick stop in LL .. mocha was on for 22 months and finally OTJ so you just never know!! I'm so glad that China is returning to her old ways .. That is the best feeling in the world, that we made them feel that much better with what we are doing .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/5 China AMPS 161,+2.5 188..back up to 1.25

Wow Chris,
What beautiful words, and so true. I can completely relate to everything you said. Diabetes can be frustrating for sure, but it does bring a closeness that is hard to explain. It has also made me appreciate every single day I have with Ebby...the good and the bad days. China is lucky to have you!
 
Re: 9/5 China AMPS 161,+2.5 188,+9 207,PMPS 165..back up to

Thank you for the visits Peter and Melissa!!...and Thank you again for the kind words Melissa :-D

I guess I was feeling a little beat up and disappointed this morning with having to increase her dose again, and I find if I back up and think about the successes instead of the failures, it helps.

I think all of us need to be reminded now and then to celebrate those successes instead of getting lost in feelings of frustration and defeat. It gives us hope to get up the next day and start over again.

Will just keep on keeping on...at some point, I figure that China's pancreas will get the message that I'm not going away....LOL
 
Re: 9/5 China AMPS 161,+2.5 188,+9 207,PMPS 165..back up to

Hi, Chris, you said it so well!! I wholeheartedly agree that this dance has added a whole new depth to our lives, in so many ways.
Good luck with China's increase :-D !
 
Re: 9/5 China AMPS 161,+2.5 188,+9 207,PMPS 165..back up to

Great and lovely post this morning Chris!! you said it all.......and so well....

Glad to see that China's day looks better already with her new dose.....

I know how you feel about second guessing those decreases......I always make an excuse why Tom really really didn't earn it....ha. it obviously isn't according to Protocol, but sometimes I just feel like doping him up high for like a month to really allow that pancreas to heal....just totally let the pancreas have a nice snooze.....but not really safe to do that.....ha :shock: ....so we have to just take our time....and like you said: keep growing our sugar-cat bonds.

How is China's appetite today?


~kelly
 
Re: 9/5 China AMPS 161,+2.5 188,+9 207,PMPS 165..back up to

How is China's appetite today?

Better, as long as I open enough cans to find something she recognizes as food. She's never been this picky, so I have to wonder if there might be something else going on, but only one puke lately, and pooing is fine....so we wait...and wonder.

One of the other wonderful members of this board is sending me a couple of samples of FortiFlora to see if it helps. On my budget, it's not something I can afford to buy a whole box of if it's not going to help. If it does, I'll figure out how to pay for it though.

I know how you feel about second guessing those decreases

Yeah..I'm bad about that too but like you said, I try to follow the protocol exactly. The people who wrote it know a lot more about this dance than I do....but I see something like that 49 and think, well, with the 20% variance on the meter at any given time, that could just be a nice healing 59!! :-D
 
Re: 9/5 China AMPS 161,+2.5 188,+9 207,PMPS 165,+3 137 :)

Hi Chris,

I just wanted to thank you for the beautiful thoughts today - China is lucky to have your dedication and love as a caregiver. I've been feeling defeated, today especially - we're getting another increase tomorrow. I agree about the decreases - Tigger had so many so quickly, I feel his momentum petered out. Your words, & Peter's reminder that it took 22 months for Mocha's pancreas to get with the routine really helped me as well. you're right - keep on keeping on.

I sure hope the fortiflora samples work for China & her appetite improves - will keep paws crossed......
 
Re: 9/5 China AMPS 161,+2.5 188,+9 207,PMPS 165,+3 137 :)

Hi again, Chris,

I just wanted to stop by & thank you for the really kind words & input on Tigger's SS tonight - it was really touching, & helped alot. I wrote a message to you on my condo, but realized you might not get it, so - here I am: Thanks, my friend. Your words were well received, & if you ever need a pick-me-up, stop on by.

Sure is nice to see good numbers continuing for China, too! She's got some good momentum so far!
 
Re: 9/5 China AMPS 161,+2.5 188,PMPS 165,+3 137,+6 65 :)

Look at that +6! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Well done China. :-D :-D Sometimes they just need a little kick start to get them healing again. I've seen a number of cats go up and down and up and down and, well, you get the picture. Then finally something clicks. I try not to get too worried about the actual amount of the dose Neko is on, but worry instead about whether she's getting into numbers she needs and dose to get her there.

Thanks for stopping by our condo earlier. We did have some pretty wild weather but it seems to have calmed down now. Those type of long lasting thunderstorms are rather unusual for us.

BTW, it's Devon who posts about Mocha. They are indeed a great story.
 
Thanks so much for the visits as well as the kind words. They're truly appreciated!!

I think you're right Wendy...it's too easy to just look at numbers and lose track of the Big Picture

Looks like I'll be up a little longer tonight though! Her nadir slips around so much I can't be sure she's done going down....but I like the numbers! (so far anyway)

Recap of today
AMPS 161
+2.5 188
+5 154
+9 207

PMPS 165
+3 137
+6 65
+7 56
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top