9/5 Buster AMPS 392, +5 335, PMPS 256

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
So I'm finding all syringes are NOT created equal :-x I don't think Buster got a dose last night. I'm trying to use a drop method for better accuracy. I did a little more testing this morning to find some syringes would yield 5 drops per .5u while others only 2 or 3 drops. Thus, when I diligently omitted 2 drops last night, that made it mostly zero. This morning I eyeballed it to make sure he got at least something. +5 will tell...

My syringes are just the generic Kroger kind from the Fry's pharmacy. I have seen some posts comparing different brands. What's the latest consensus?
 
Re: 9/5 Buster AMPS 392

I am using a caliper for measuring the dose. Whatever the marking on the syringe, I just ignore & follow the caliper. That makes life a lot easier. Remember consistancy in the dosage is the key importance.
 
Re: 9/5 Buster AMPS 392

Good morning! We use monojects here, but are not microdosing. There have been a lot of discussion on syringes and I'm sure you will get a lot of great advice with all of the syringe comparisons that have been done. Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/5 Buster AMPS 392

Hi guys .. bummer on these dang syringes that aren't consistent! We always used the relions from wal mart .. but we never really got down to counting drops with mocha either .. hope you find something that works for you .. have a great day!
 
Re: 9/5 Buster AMPS 392

There's a caliper that measures amounts that small? Sounds like it would be reliable and repeatable, which is just the ticket I'm looking for. I will search the forum - I think I did see someone who had a link. I really feel like the .25 dose is going to work well for my boy. I just need to find a consistent way of getting it to him.
 
Re: 9/5 Buster AMPS 392

Tara

Ive done a ton of research on syringe accuracy and it's horrible on all of them.

I found these digital calipers from Harbor Freight and they are great for microdosing.
 
Re: 9/5 Buster AMPS 392

Thanks for the link, Marje!!

I was also pondering getting the Terumo syringes. Is that necessary or will the calipers take the guesswork out of the equation? Seems like you could have a little tube without any numbers at all on it at all if I understand this correctly.
 
Re: 9/5 Buster AMPS 392 - ? re syringes and calipers

Unless you've got great vision, I recommend marking your syringes for the dose after measuring with calipers before loading with insulin.
I've had a hard time with laying the syringe down and measuring and then holding the syringe in the air for loading.
Too much back and forth so I'm marking them before hand and use my own marking.

The terrumo's are more accurate.
I was using Kroger monojects and Marje did a comparison when she had some too.
She got 1.46 in one unit on the monojects to 1 unit on the terrumo's.
When I switched to the Terrumo's , I didn't know that and inadvertently reduced the dose for Shadow without meaning to.
Once I realized the huge difference ( after 18 days) , I corrected it slowly to get back to where we were. I think I'm caught up now.

Now that you know this too, you'll not have to lose ground like we did .
The monojects are wider than the terrumo's and have a extra space in the nose that makes them inaccurate.

You wanted more homework, didn't you?
 
Re: 9/5 Buster AMPS 392 - ? re syringes and calipers

We used the Kroger syringes with 2 pairs of reading glasses for magification. It helps a lot to prework the plunger beofre you measure the dose, move the plunger in and out a few times and push it hard all the way in so the rubber deforms right up into the cone against the needle. Eliminating bubbles was a pain and more than once I had to start over with a fresh syringe. Even with twisting the plunger to move it the syringes were still jerky and hard to get exact. Then I had to account for the amount in the cone which may or may not completely come out when I gave the shot. Despite all those complaints, I felt that with a lot of measuring practice using water, I was able to get fairly consistent based on squeezing out the practice doses onto wax paper to see how much liquid came out. I didnt try the terumos they are supposed to have smoother movement which some people like. If the terumos are skinnier that will also help with measuring tiny amounts. Good luck!
 
Re: 9/5 Buster AMPS 392 - ? re syringes and calipers

You guys are awesome! I ordered the calipers and I will order some syringes today, too. I will be ready to rock this weekend and hopefully find some sanity! Thank you for the tips - I appreciate all the hard work you guys put into the testing, etc. so us newbies don't have to re-invent the wheel. I'm headed home to see if Buster got any precious droplets of goodness this morning - I don't have high hopes that he did...we'll see....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top