Heike & BInie
Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-2-binie-amps-487-3-329.293661/#post-3204237
Good evening,
I increased the dose to 1.75 IU today and was surprised, how different her numbers looked! For more than two weeks I didn't see any blue during the day and today she had a string of blue for four hours. Not below 150 but close.
I am curious what happens tonight, as during the night she is usually lower and today it is also quite hot.
I felt tempted to cancel the vet appointment tomorrow because I didn't see her licking her wound much and I didn't see anything open. But I decided to go anyway, because only the vet can have a closer look and really judge how good or bad it is. I also like to speak with her about possible tests we can do. I am still not sure we know what all this is about. We thought the licking which started a few weeks after the surgery was due to an allergic reaction to the threads but I find it strange, it doesn't stopped after all this time. And she also licked part of her leg, where there have been no threads. I collected some ideas here and in my own research and try to discuss them with my vet. I can already see her raising her eyebrows.
Today two weeks of antibiotics is over and I can see she is feeling much better. She pees less, is not hiding at all, not licking her private parts and the diarrhea problems she had for the first days of the antibiotic are gone. I really hope the antibiotics killed all the germs and we don't need another one. One week after she stops the antibiotics, I will hand in another urine sample and we will see.
Hope everyone is having a great day!


Good evening,
I increased the dose to 1.75 IU today and was surprised, how different her numbers looked! For more than two weeks I didn't see any blue during the day and today she had a string of blue for four hours. Not below 150 but close.
I am curious what happens tonight, as during the night she is usually lower and today it is also quite hot.
I felt tempted to cancel the vet appointment tomorrow because I didn't see her licking her wound much and I didn't see anything open. But I decided to go anyway, because only the vet can have a closer look and really judge how good or bad it is. I also like to speak with her about possible tests we can do. I am still not sure we know what all this is about. We thought the licking which started a few weeks after the surgery was due to an allergic reaction to the threads but I find it strange, it doesn't stopped after all this time. And she also licked part of her leg, where there have been no threads. I collected some ideas here and in my own research and try to discuss them with my vet. I can already see her raising her eyebrows.

Today two weeks of antibiotics is over and I can see she is feeling much better. She pees less, is not hiding at all, not licking her private parts and the diarrhea problems she had for the first days of the antibiotic are gone. I really hope the antibiotics killed all the germs and we don't need another one. One week after she stops the antibiotics, I will hand in another urine sample and we will see.
Hope everyone is having a great day!


