9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 +1/137 +2/119

Status
Not open for further replies.

cindyh

Member Since 2012
Benjamin didn't seem to feel well today, he had soft stool in his litter box from during the night and this morning. He ate all his breakfast, but not with his usual vigor. My vet made up a mixture of Fortiflora, Thorne Gastriplex, althea, and bentonite clay and had me give him 1/8 teaspoon of that this morning, along with a .2ml injection of B12 and metronidazole 50mg. He ate his next meal pretty quickly and then had another stool that looked firmer. Now tonight his PMPS is only 106, and was 109 earlier at AMPS+9. I haven't fed him or shot him tonight, I'm thinking of testing again in 30 minutes to see what his BG is doing. Any suggestions for what I should do?
 
Re: 9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 What to do?

So it's been almost an hour and he is a 107, only up 1 point. He hasn't eaten yet. What should I do?
 
Re: 9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 What to do?

He's surfing. You have a choice...

You can:
  • skip -- this has the biggest effect on the insulin depot
  • shoot -- the late shot acts like a dose reduction plus you'll be feeding. This is viable if you have plenty of strips and high carb food, should you need it.
  • continue to stall.
  • shoot a reduced dose -- shooting a reduced dose and shooting late has a big impact on the depot.

The other question is can you afford to be off schedule in the AM. Your shot tomorrow morning will be 12 hours from the time you shoot tonight.
 
Re: 9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 What to do?

Hi,

Have you PM'd Sienne or anyone else to ask for another look at your thread?

I would think about these questions while you are waiting:

Can you handle pushing the shot time forward by 12 hours from the time that you shoot tonight?

Do you have at least 15 test strips?
Do you have HC and Karo?
Can you stay up with the cat tonight?

Hope you get an answer soon. If not, I would skip. It's not the end of the world, but it would be nice to be able to shoot if someone with experience thinks you can.

Good night!
 
Re: 9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 What to do?

I can handle the late shot in the morning, have plenty of test strips, karo and high carb food. But I am also concerned about how his appetite will be this evening since it wasn't great today. Should I try feeding him and see how much he eats?
 
Re: 9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 What to do?

Hi Cindy

I haven't been on your condo yet so welcome to Lantus Land. Looks like this has the potential to be your lowest shot.

Sienne and Dale have given you good options. You can also click on the link to " Desling with low preshots" in my signature block but one of us will keep checking in to see what you'd like to do. I'm going to be up a couple hours if you decide to shoot and can walk you through it if he comes back down.
 
Re: 9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 What to do?

I decided to go ahead and shoot. He really wanted to eat and gobbled dinner like his usual crazy self. I will keep checking him tonight. I've read all the info on handling low numbers and I have all my supplies, so I am ready. Thanks for all the help and support! It's nice to feel that I am not alone in this.
 
Re: 9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 What to do?

Cindy...good job but please be sure you get a +1 and a +2. I'll be around looking for those numbers, ok?
 
Re: 9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 What to do?

Thanks, Marje. I will get the numbers and post them.
 
Re: 9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 What to do?

Hello.
Would you put the +1~137 in your subject heading?
Edit your first post of the day and then everyone can see where it's going.
 
Re: 9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 What to do?

Perfect. Could you please do a +2 so we can see if this is a food spike? You've seen the typical lantus curve?
 
Re: 9/5 Benjamin PMPS 106 What to do?

Yes, I will definitely get the +2. And I will edit the title of the original post. Yes, I know what the curve should look like. Thanks so much!
 
Hi Cindy! Jane here :-D

Marje needs to go sleepus (Lantus-Speak for "go to sleep," of course - some of our little jargon tidbits are not *quite* as obvious :mrgreen:) soon, and we like to make sure people aren't by themselves especially when they're starting out. I'll hang out with you if that's alright.

Things are looking good. I'll be waiting on that (+3). I'm glad you have supplies and have read the stickies - well done. See you in a bit!

Hugs
Jane
 
:lol: I was going to tell you Jane is going to keep an eye out for you!

Great work to ignt...off to bed with me. Have a fun time with Jane.
 
Any update Cindy? I think we're approaching (+4) now?

Edited to add: Not sure where you've gone, Cindy - I hope you did still get follow-up tests. I'm training for an hour or so now, but I've got my iphone with me so I'll keep checking for updates.
Jane
 
Hi Ladies, so sorry for disappearing. Benjamin was fine during the night, +6 was 105 and +10 this morning was 144. Thanks for the help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top