9/5 Beenie 69 PMPS, 83 +1, 92 +2, 103 +4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beenie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo: Yesterday

Day 1 of Cabergoline. Gave it this morning with AMPS snack. Ate it right up, no surprise there:rolleyes:

Beenie's +2 is a little low so it'll be interesting to see how she does today. I hope she surfs and doesn't dive on me. I'm around all day today to monitor.

Chin scritches to all the kitties!
cat medicine comic.jpg
 
Can you stall? Do not feed.
I haven't given her anything yet. She's due for her PM test in 45 min then food then shoot in less than an hour.
She's been dropping slowly since this afternoon and I thought when I got a +11 she would be on the rise. Not what she had planned. So I'm going to test in 15 min and see if she's rising on her own.
 
45 is still too low to shoot
Wasn't planning on shooting, its not quite time. Before I tested her again just now she was 53 and wondered what to do then since it was an hour before PMPS. I decided to wait 20 min and she's still dropping so I gave her a little MC food and will re-test in 15.
 
Can you delay the shot at all? Too bad you fed. I would have stalled 15-20 min to see if she is rising. For next time.
 
I just got 65. I only gave her a teaspoon of MC gravy. Going to retest in 15.

At least she officially earned a reduction. Las time I took a reduction on a 51. I'll see what the others say, 12.0 or 12.25 as the new dose.
 
I sure hope some of the high dose gurus weigh in.

Can you be off schedule? If so, keep testing her and once she is at a shootable number you could shoot.
 
Can you delay the shot at all? Too bad you fed. I would have stalled 15-20 min to see if she is rising. For next time.
She technically not sue for her shot for another 15 minutes. I only gave her a teaspoon of MC gravy because she went to 45
 
For safety's sake, her next dose should be 12.0 units. When you shoot it.

Keep testing every half hour. Either wait two hours after her last feed, or until she starts to zoom up, if she does.
 
I sure hope some of the high dose gurus weigh in.

Can you be off schedule? If so, keep testing her and once she is at a shootable number you could shoot.
That's what I'm thinking. If she keeps rising we would only be off 20-30 minutes from her regular time. But I don't know what I should reduce to either
 
For safety's sake, her next dose should be 12.0 units. When you shoot it.

Keep testing every half hour. Either wait two hours after her last feed, or until she starts to zoom up, if she does.
ok on the 12.o I'm due to re-test in 8 minutes. Hoping she's significantly higher so I can shoot. Or at least shoot the next go around. I only gave a smidge of gravy so hopefully it wears off and its her normal rise.
 
It typically takes a couple hours for the carbs to wear off. I would want her to be quite a bit higher before shooting. Another option is to take some off the dose and do BCS tonight to help drain the depot. Maybe take 1/2 or 1/3 off. Note if you shoot, the 12.5 depot could still be running the show for a good part of the PM cycle.
 
She's still at 65. Clearly not rising like her normal way. What is BCS? If I were to shoot the reduced dose could I feed her now then shoot say 7 U?
 
Big Chicken S*%t. She is still under influence of the carbs. Can you wait another 20-30 minutes?
 
Big Chicken S*%t. She is still under influence of the carbs. Can you wait another 20-30 minutes?
:joyful: yes I can wait 20 min. I have my timer set from the last test. So it'll be in a little under 20 min. She hasn't had her dinner yet so can that influence her number? I haven't even given her a treat after the last few tests and I'm getting looks.
 
Zero carb treats are fine. And yes, not having food can make them drop, but she did have some MC which should tide her over.

I may be offline in 20. You OK?
 
Zero carb treats are fine. And yes, not having food can make them drop, but she did have some MC which should tide her over.

I may be offline in 20. You OK?
What do I do in 20? I mean I don't know what her number will be. So I shoot the BCS shot or??? Im sorry I'm getting a little confused now
 
If she is only up a little when you test again in 20 minutes, give the reduced dose. If she zooms up, you can give the new dose if you can monitor.

Gotta go move a boat.
 
Just catching up ... severe weather & power outages here in Baltimore...I will try and hang in.

BCS is a good idea. I used them often.

Keep the large depot in mind (its the gift that keeps on giving )


Some guidelines from the shooting low numbers sticky:


Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
--- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

 
Just catching up ... severe weather & power outages here in Baltimore...I will try and hang in.

BCS is a good idea. I used them often.

Keep the large depot in mind (its the gift that keeps on giving )


Some guidelines from the shooting low numbers sticky:


Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
--- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Bad weather here too! Power went out several times then came right back on. Thank goodness.
I realized after I could've waited a bit but I opted to give a teaspoon of MC. I'll know next time. Beenie is not doing anything she normally has done which is rise at +10 and +11 so I panicked because she kept dropping and I didn't want her to go lower than 45. She's due for a +1 shortly. We'll see where she's at currently. If everything settles and tomorrow's AMPS is shoot-able can I go right back to her 6:30am shot time? We were only 1/2 hour late and not sure if I needed to adjust in 15 min increments or not.
Thanks Sandy!!!
 
This is a very slow rise for Beenie. I don't think much sleep is in my future. Just have to remind myself that we're all here in hopes of reductions. Just didn't think day one of cabergoline would be this eventful. :eek:
 
This is a very slow rise for Beenie. I don't think much sleep is in my future. Just have to remind myself that we're all here in hopes of reductions. Just didn't think day one of cabergoline would be this eventful. :eek:
Wow ... what a day! I just said something similar about reminding myself that the lows are a good thing and are needed to get to remission. I hope Beenie settles down a bit for you and that you can get some sleep tonight.
 
I think the lows today were to do with the 12.5 unit dose, not cabergoline yet. She got to low 50's already on this dose.
 
I was sure it was a quick action cabergoline that you found .... lol .... what a day.... You said you fed Beenie the cabergoline? You got the liquid format?
 
I think the lows today were to do with the 12.5 unit dose, not cabergoline yet. She got to low 50's already on this dose.
Oh I just meant all the action on the start day of the cabergoline.;) No way could it be that, she just got her first dose this morning.
Gonna grab some shut eye and get a +6 and so on.
Thanks for your help!!
 
I was sure it was a quick action cabergoline that you found .... lol .... what a day.... You said you fed Beenie the cabergoline? You got the liquid format?
Its liquid and added it to her AM snack. The compounding pharmacy had called a few days prior to ask if Beenie would like chicken flavoro_O. Yep she loves chicken!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top