9/5 Autumn +6-37,+8-71, pmps-50,Cassanova ambg-55, pmbg-133

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Yesterday was a happy day not only because the Great Pumpkin decided to drop to double digits sans insulin, but because I helped 22 kitties and 15 puppies go to their Furever Homes!! My rescue had an adopt-a-thon. Our goal was 24 animals in 12 hours so we could open space to bring in 24 new babies that were left homeless after their sanctuary suffered major fire damage last week. Then last night I got a call to transport 3 more special needs kids to their Furever homes this weekend. YIPEE!!

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/5 Autumn amps-58, Cassanova ambg-55

Wow, what a great end to your week, Mel!! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 9/5 Autumn amps-58, Cassanova ambg-55

Super Duper!!!! That's fantastic news. That just made my day! Thanks Mel.
 
Re: 9/5 Autumn amps-58, Cassanova ambg-55

I have to admit one of the kids being transported this weekend is gonna cause lots of tears, happy tears but still tears when I hand her to her new momma. Violet is one special girl whom I'm sooooo going to miss seeing at the rescue. But also delighted that someone finally looked past all her flaws to open their hearts to her.

You see Violet is an old lady whose lived a hard life. She has had her ears frost bitten so most of one is missing, she's had one eye removed because of infection and she only has 3 legs and if those weren't enough strikes against her she's coal black. But oh what a love!! She's the first to greet visitors with a purr that shakes her whole body and no one has ever told her that cats should have 4 legs. If there's a lap to be had Mz.Violet is in it. Outwardly she is not a pretty cat but inside she's BEAUTIFUL!!! We didn't even have her up for adoption because we figured it was pointless. But then along comes this dynamite little 13 year old girl that wanted nothing to do with the cute kittens or the beautiful adult cats. She took one look at Violet and it was love at first sight. Tawny has been volunteering at the rescue this summer with her grandma. Well school starting meant she was headed home to Kansas and before she left she hugged Violet and promised her she'd be back for her. While sweet none of us expected it until the application for adoption came through on Wednesday. If we could get Violet to Kansas, Tawny's family would give her a home and heart to call her own. So in less than 24 hours I will place Violet into the hands of her new family who already love her warts and all. And that new family comes with two 24/7 vets. Yep mom and dad are both vets so Violet will never again want for anything. But boy am I going to miss her.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/5 Autumn amps-58, Cassanova ambg-55

Wow great story, im so happy for sweet Violet, and what an amazing 13 year old girl.

Nice numbers in the gang today :)
 
Re: 9/5 Autumn amps-58, Cassanova ambg-55

ok... now I am crying... and I am at work....

Lovely story about a lovely lady! So happy for Miz Violet!
 
Re: 9/5 Autumn amps-58, Cassanova ambg-55

Aw, I'm so happy for all those 27 animals who are going to forever homes! And happy for the 24 who are going to be cared for after the fire!

Bittersweet to not have ones you love in your life anymore, but also so wonderful to be able to know that they're being loved where they are. We only fostered one dog in our time and giving her up was horrible, even though there was no way we could care for her as she deserved (we were working on aggression issues with dogs, men, and food due to coming from a severely abusive situation and I was due with a baby any day!). The house we found for her was awesome and they still keep us updated 3 years later with pictures of her loving life with her pack (mostly other dogs from abused backgrounds). Finding people who love those animals as much as you do makes it all work. Thank goodness for caring people!
 
Re: 9/5 Autumn amps-58, Cassanova ambg-55

that's wonderful Mel and i know happy and very sad for you but it sounds like she will have a fantastic home.
Great job. maybe they can send you pictures or updates about her once in a while.
 
Re: 9/5 Autumn amps-58, Cassanova ambg-55

Oh Mel....From one rescuer to another...BIG HUGS!!! God bless that little girl--what an amazing family they sound like.

What's not to love about Violet? Black cats are the best. :)
 
Re: 9/5 Autumn +6-37,+8-71, pmps-50,Cassanova ambg-55, pmbg-

Cassanova would have been lower but a cat fight erupted right before I tested. A neighbor's cat deemed to come for a visit at the sliding door :roll
So I'm still calling him on trial.

Reduced Autumn back to her pre surgery dose of .1 since antibiotics are done

Mel and The Fur Gang

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top