9/5, Atlas, PM 277, +2 208, +3 169 Slidage still

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Good Morning Everyone!!

Well Atlas just was a big ole snuggy last night. This morning we're riding a little high from yesterday, but not starting out all that much higher from yesterdays 398. Exactly at 10% higher. I figured he would be back up at his >500 this morning.

Can anyone explain the concept of slidage? While yesterday "seems" to be a good example of it and the days prior a milder version:

What causes it?
Is it a late nadir or something else going on?
Can feeding times help or hinder it?
Is it related to the depot?

I've got this picture in my mind of Hoover Dam. It is raining but the dam hasn't been opened yet. Then the sirens go off and whoosh flooding of the low laying areas.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24102
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437

Good morning Blue and Atlas

Saw your question, and... I don't know what it means :lol:
Never really seen this slidage word associated with Lantus...
So we'll see what others say thru the day thou.

Have a good Sunday!
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437

that's funny Blue...how did you find that word out of all the other terms used here? that one isn't widely known...or used...
where did you read it? In the Slang dictionary?
"Slidage - when BG level goes down after +6 until PS. "

Libby and Lucy said:
keep going down, Shadow... ooooh, he needs to learn the skill that all the kitties used to do (patented by D & Shadow a couple of years ago). It's called SLIDAGE. It means to keep sliding down allllll the way to PMPS. You like to be a trendsetter, don't you Shadow? How about trying it?
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437

:lol: Pat!
Well that was easy, where did you find that? In one of your condo's it looks like
:lol:
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437

I have to admit that I've not seen the term used, or don't remember it being used, since I've been here. Libby's been around LL longer and has a better memory than I do, though!!

What causes it? I'm not entirely sure. It could be a bounce that's breaking or simply a break in the numbers. For many kitties, there are high numbers before a break. It might be a late nadir but often with late nadir kitties, there's a pattern of late nadirs vs. a late nadir every so often. Food can certainly influence a cycle. Many of us do, in fact, use food to manipulate the numbers -- most often to slow fast dropping numbers. Whether you'd want to feed the curve in an instance of slidage may depend on where the numbers are starting from, where they end up, and how much data you have in order to give a shot on time. I don't believe it's related to the shed.

Libby or someone who was around when the term was coined may be able to provide more info.

Nice blues yesterday!!
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437

Blue said:
Can anyone explain the concept of slidage? While yesterday "seems" to be a good example of it and the days prior a milder version:

What causes it?
Is it a late nadir or something else going on?
Can feeding times help or hinder it?
Is it related to the depot?

I've got this picture in my mind of Hoover Dam. It is raining but the dam hasn't been opened yet. Then the sirens go off and whoosh flooding of the low laying areas.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =9&t=24102


I did get this term from the slang dictionary!!! :lol: I figured you'd all know better and could explain the observation. Maybe it is just they are still adjusting? I really don't know, but for a newbie in LL yesterday was a real test of....bravado?

Looks like we're heading the same way this morning too. Maybe with being back down at 1u it won't come off so harsh to his little body. He is already bugging for the morning snackers too, but still way too high for it.
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437, +5 357,+6 365, +9 310 slidage!

Slidage!!!!

He is rounding third and heading for home... is he gonna make yellow today!
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437, +5 357,+6 365, +10 303

Oh so close... 303!!!!

And yes, I am prepared to give another 1u.

Craziest kinda curves I've ever seen, but ...if he is just adjusting to the descent...Yippee!
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437, Slidage to +11 295

Ok...so dinner is in about a half hour.

+11 is 295

I'll be doing another 1u, but really...what is going on?
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437, Slidage to +11 295

I am trusting your experience with lantus on this "bounce" idea.

We've been on humilin n since March and he usually rides well of 400 at shot time. So me seeing this as a bounce is blinding for me. When we bounced with humilin, numbers hung high for 3 days with no fluctuation. So I'm learning here.
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437, PM 277, +2 208

hmmmm....still falling very slowly....

Is it time to start steering...

or wait just a bit longer?

We did eat normal dinner and did 1u.

We normally do a bedtime snack in about 45minutes to and hour.
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437, PM 277, +2 208 Slidage still

Hi Blue!
slow drops is good.
Sorry, I can't recall, are you feeding LC (low carb)?

Little snacks along the way should help. Plus some snacks for overnite.
A +3 would be good and/or a before bedtime spot-check, which ever is first.
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437, PM 277, +2 208 Slidage still

Ronnie & Luna said:
Hi Blue!
slow drops is good.
Sorry, I can't recall, are you feeding LC (low carb)?

Little snacks along the way should help. Plus some snacks for overnite.
A +3 would be good and/or a before bedtime spot-check, which ever is first.


Yeah, we're low carb. Snacks have to be controlled or Atlas just eats them all in one sitting...so no free feeding here!
 
Re: 9/5, Atlas, AMps 437, PM 277, +2 208 Slidage still

I understand about the free-feeding, I have a civvie who likes to pig out all at once, so she gets snacks on mine and Luna's terms. :lol:

Have you thought about a timed feeded for overnite and for work days?
 
Uhmmmm...bump! Looks like I'm keeping watch tonight...

277-253-208-169 and on a slide. I've seen no rise or bounce this evening. I'm getting concerned.

24pt drop 1st hour
45pt drop 2nd hour +snack
84pt drop 3rd hour +snack

I am going to check him again in 15 minutes. He needs to stop slidding...
 
Hi Blue!

Actually this is good! Looks like onset has begun. See below.

Have you had a chance to look at the New to th Group stickie and the curve chart?
I used this as a guideline so I can see how Lantus works thru a cycle.


Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset ---> the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir ---> the lowest point in the cycle
Duration ---> the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose

How to do a Curve: you don't have to test every hour. Typically curves are every 2 hours in a 12/12 cycle. Or a mini-curve, about every 3 hours.
Depending on where the numbers are, you may have to re-test frequently and offer food to help steer numbers.

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Carryover ---> insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap---> the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing & the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot ---> (aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
More on the Shed ---> Lantus & Levemir Insulin Depot AKA Storage Shed

It's going to get easier Blue, just a little patience.
 
I think he's fine, he's just trying to get back down to those good numbers again. It's slower than he was dropping yesterday. You did the right thing, give him a snack and monitor.
 
I guess those events with the humilin n and dropping out on me, have me spooked more than I thought. When we got to these kinds of numbers too early in the cycle...I already knew trouble was brewing. Sigh....

I need to calm down.
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

It's going to get easier Blue, just a little patience.

But that is not what he did today. He just kept going lower...? I know this will get easier and I sort of understand the action of the lantus, but ...
 
The AM cycle was probably not typical -- I wouldn't worry about it.

There is a huge difference with N and Lantus. A drop of about 100 points from pre-shot to +3 is not drastic. A little bit of LC may help to keep Atlas surfing or slow things down a bit but you're not in worrisome numbers in the least.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top