9/5/17 Kopie is 106 NEED DOSING HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carey & Kopie

Member Since 2017
OK, I guess 4.5 units is the magic number. Raised him from 4 to 4.5 about a week ago. He dropped to 64 then bounced really high. I went back to 4 units and he's been in the high 200s and 300s. I increased it back to 4.5 yesterday morning. He's been fine. Tonight he is at 106. What should I do for his pm shot?
 
That's roughly the same number allowing for meter variance. How long can you wait without messing up your shooting schedule?

You can move back shot time 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes once a day.
 
You haven't specified in your signature whether you're following TR or SLGS for Lantus. I'll assume SLGS. In those guidelines you would reduce if you get a 90 BG or lower somewhere in a cycle and you haven't recently. You've stalled and his BG is holding above 90 so I'd give the full dose and be prepared to monitor. Plan on getting a +2 for sure.
 
If Kopie drops too low (below 50 on a human meter), you will need lots of strips, high carb food or honey on hand.

The chocolate is for you.
 
You haven't specified in your signature whether you're following TR or SLGS for Lantus. I'll assume SLGS. In those guidelines you would reduce if you get a 90 BG or lower somewhere in a cycle and you haven't recently. You've stalled and his BG is holding above 90 so I'd give the full dose and be prepared to monitor. Plan on getting a +2 for sure.
I am using Lantus. I put it in my signature. Guess I'm not using the right wording.
 
I am using Lantus. I put it in my signature. Guess I'm not using the right wording.
TR and SLGS are acronyms for the two Lantus dosing regimens. Are you familiar with those? You can read about them in the yellow info stickies at the top of the Lantus forum page. The advice we give here depends on which of those sets of guidelines you're using.
 
At 8:15 pm he was 191. I gave him 4.25 units of Lantus. I will monitor him closely tonight

That's better......the reason we say to stall and not feed is so as soon as the numbers start to rise, at that point it's usually safe to go ahead and shoot

If you feed, you don't know if the number is going up on it's own (so the last shot is wearing off) or if it's just a "food bump" from feeding
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top