9/4 Tink AMPS 227 (YAY)... but might be starting new bounce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124670

Hmm... beautiful cycle last night. Based on last night's +2 I didn't think any steering was needed... but then he had dropped quite a bit by +4, regular mealtime. Checked again 2hrs later and he was 118, so I fed him an extra meal hoping to avoid a bounce (but assuming it was too late). Surfed nicely after that and I was excited to see a reasonable AMPS. BUT... then the +2 was 140pts higher than AMPS... so I'm not sure if he's just going to have a quiet cycle, or if he's starting a new bounce.

Left a slice of zucchini for +3 and his meal at +4.

Still negative for ketones (YAY - and anti-jinx). I think he's starting to figure out that midnight pokes = treats. He scratched on my door at 1am. Since he'd been at 118 at +6, I figured I'd test him again since I was awake (thanks to him scratching the door). Hope he doesn't turn this into a new habit though. The downside of having french doors - nails on glass is a lot harder to ignore than nails on wood. :shock:

OH... and I just got tomorrow off... so I could do a dose increase tonight and have 3 full days to monitor (7 cycles if I start tonight). What are thoughts on that? I'm concerned that another .25u could have TOO MUCH effect, based on his current nadirs. Seems like his lowest numbers are coming between +4 and +6 - but I'm generally feeding them to avoid going lower and bouncing. Part of me wants to hold this dose awhile and see if the bouncing stops and he stabilizes - he hasn't had a chance yet to surf for multiple cycles on this dose since he keeps bouncing. I feel like it might be enough if the bounces would stop. But then again... I know a little more might help make that happen... so???
 
Re: 9/4 Tink AMPS 227 (YAY)... but might be starting new bou

He could be starting a bounce + a food spike. I'd increase his dose to 2.75u tonight unless you see green :-D

Good job staying on top of the ketones. Good luck with the increase.
 
Re: 9/4 Tink AMPS 227 (YAY)... but might be starting new bou

Problem is... I wont see green as I can't test during his daytime cycles during the week. :( But, I'll be there to monitor and have hc if needed, so will go ahead and increase tonight.

Is there any rhyme or reason as to why some food spikes are large and others small (or non-existent)? I mean, I know the food varies a bit from can to can (though I buy by the case, so it's all the same lot)... but sometimes I see a 100pt food spike and other times it seems there is no spike at all. I feed 3 different flavors of Wellness, but they are all supposed to be 4% carbs. I haven't noticed a difference in the spike between flavors... but I haven't really been looking for one either. Just seems sometimes there's no food spike (especially if I WANT one)... but other times it's huge.
 
Re: 9/4 Tink AMPS 227 (YAY)... but might be starting new bou

My Gracie does it as well and for her, I believe it is duration. She's on levemir and so her nadirs can be anywhere from +11 to +15. If she has a day where she nadirs early, then she starts up. Add the food and the action of whatever insulin she has left is decreased so she gets a bigger food spike. But then she onsets about +4 and numbers will come back down if she isn't bouncing. Conversely, if her duration is closer to +15 and/or she's clearing a bounce, she gets no food spike and she just keeps coming down.

It could be duration for Tink, it could be absorption, it could be ECID, it could be because it's Friday in China :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Sorry but that's about how crazy the factors are that can influence a kitty's numbers from cycle to cycle.
 
Re: 9/4 Tink AMPS 227 (YAY)... but might be starting new bou

HAHAHA! Yeah, that sounds about right. On the bright side... if it's Friday in China... that mean's it's GOTTA be 5 o'clock SOMEWHERE, right?!?! drinking24
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top