9/4 Tiggy PMPS 292 + 2 270

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo

Tiggy likes to give me something new every day. Today he was 43 pre shot so I refreshed his food like I always do at breakfast time and stalled. I also decided to work from home today and will deal with the boss later cos there was no way DH was going to deal with this!!

I'll wait an hour and see how he goes. And once he is over 50 I will give him his shot, I am guessing he earned another reduction due to this too?

Also how much over 50 should i leave it? Looking at my SS you can see last few times he was shot in the green (85 and 56) I spent the next few hours giving him HC.
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMPS 43 - another hypo day

Wendy --

You really should not feed if you are stalling. Whatever number you get in an hour is going to be influenced by food. Please read over Libby's post on low pre-shot numbers.

Also, is Tiggy experiencing symptoms of hypoglycemia?
  • The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
  • staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
  • ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
  • disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
  • twitching
  • stuporhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46005
  • convulsions or seizures
  • coma
If not, they Tiggy is in low numbers. Unless a cat is experiencing symptoms, we don't consider it hypoglycemia.
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMPS 43 - another hypo day

Good morning and wow on the 43! I definitely would not have shot that. You might want to change your title to "AMBG - Stalling" so people know you haven't shot yet and are stalling. From the look of the ss, you definitely don't want to spend the next few hours trying to get him back up. If you can stall and he is rising, you might be able to shoot later. Did you take the food away for now while you are stalling? Be sure not to feed to see if he is on his way back up.
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMPS 43 - stalling

I wasnt sure about feeding him but it was his normal breakfast time sand he was hungry. ( he is a free feeder but whatever canned food is left by morning tends to get dry and crusty and so i refresh with fresh stuff at amps). Anyway he has stopped eating now.

No hypo signs at all, what I meant with my prior subject line was that we are going to have another one of those low days with the HC feeds if past experience is anything to go by. And even on the Sept 2nd his amps was 85 and he had breakfast and still measured 50 an hour later.
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43 - stalling

If you're going to be home and can get a +1 and a +2 as well as be able to monitor, have strips and HC, then go ahead and shoot. It doesn't look like Tiggy typically has big food spikes so you should be OK to shoot. OTOH, he's a cat. He'll do what he wants.
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43 - stalling

Hi guys .. Look at that 43! :o I wouldn't have shot that either .. now that tiggy is up a little and you'll be home to monitor it will be interesting to see what he does today ..

I think Sienne meant Tiggy .. Tidus was a cat on here as well and she might have just mis typed :-D

Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43 - stalling

Not sure - we have never boarded Tiggy so the whole sentence doesnt make sense to me. ie "Also, can you find out how Tidus was eating while boarded? If he wasn't eating as well as he does for you, that may have effected his numbers."

Be interesting to see where he goes from here, I have the HC at the ready! :-D
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43 - stalling

Oh ok, I didn't realize tiggy hadn't been boarded before .. but yes, it IS going to be interesting today! :-D
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43 (stall) + 1.5/AMPS 58 +1 56 +2 65

Not sure my subject lines make sense so here is today. And not sure I did the sheet right either.

AMBG 43 - stall
AMBG + 1.5 58. gave shot so this is AMPS?
AMPS + 1 56
AMPS +2 65
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43 (stall) + 1.5/AMPS 58 +1 56 +2 65

looking good tiggy!!!

Yes, your +1.5 would now be your AMPS .. and because you shot late this morning, you will need to readjust your night time shot .. Others can help you figure out how much you can move it by, some do 15 minute increments, some do a 1/2 hour .. I think it depends on what tiggy's numbers are tonight ...
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43 (stall) + 1.5/AMPS 58 +1 56 +2 65

Sienne was also advising Tidus today. So she may have gotten her posts jarbled.
I will pm her and tell her so she can make corrections if she said something to the wrong cat. :shock: :-D
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43 (stall) + 1.5/AMPS 58 +1 56 +2 65

I think most of her advice worked fine for Tiggy - the Tidus thing was a question so was ok. Do I need to adjust my SS ? Currently in the AMPS column i have the AMBG number and the AMPS number is at +1 or so.. If I update to put the AMPS number in the right column then the stall info goes away...
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43 (stall) + 1.5/AMPS 58 +1 56 +2 65 +3 4

Ok its +2 and he just got to 47. No surprise I guess. Gave him a little HC since its early in the day. He already got a dose decrease this morning by 0.25IU cos his AMBG was 43 but I assume this new number doesnt mean a second decrease in a day?

fyi
AMBG 43 - stall
AMBG + 1.5 58. gave shot so this is AMPS?
AMPS + 1 56
AMPS +2 65
AMPS +3 47 and gave a little HC
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43, AMPS +3 47 dose question

Whatever the number is that you actually shoot, is your AMPS. What you have as your AMBG is your +12. You can either put it in your PM +11 column or your AMPS with the note as to the time. You can look at Gabby's SS to see how I stack numbers. You'll have to change the color of the cell manually, though.

Giving some HC to get Tiggy's numbers into the 50 - 60 range is a good idea. Please re-test in 30 min. and repeat until his numbers stabilize in that range. I'm at work and may not be able to check back in. Here are the instructions on handling low numbers.
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43, AMPS +3 47 dose question

You don't see instant results from Lantus. What you shot this morning will show up in later cycles.
Someone will explain it better , I hope.
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43, AMPS +3 47 +4 65

Hi Wendy

You're doing great! Congrats on the dosecrease!!

You're right, the decrease of 0.25u is all Tiggy gets - UNLESS you will not be able to monitor closely over the next few cycles. Rhiannon is referring to a frequent (but NOT definite) delay in reaction time from the cycle that starts out on a changed dose and the cycle(s) in which the new dose shows its first effects. Sometimes, the reaction IS immediate though (Alexa and Reuben can give you their recent experience on this - they saw an INSTANT drop right in the cycle that began with a dose increase!! Yes, the shed had been filling on the previous dose. Even so, the reaction to this increased dose of Lantus was immediate!) which is why we watch our kitties so closely with the TR protocol, and we all have to remember that Every Cat Is Different (ECID), just like every caregiver is too :mrgreen:

Keep updating us, ok? I'll look for your next BG update.
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43, AMPS +3 47 +4 65 +5 88

fyi
AMBG 43 - stall
AMBG + 1.5 58. gave shot so this is AMPS.

AMPS + 1 56
AMPS + 2 65
AMPS + 3 47 and gave a little HC
AMPS + 4 65
AMPS + 5 88

Thanks for all the support guys!!! :)
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43, AMPS +3 47 +4 65 +5 88

Glad to see Tiggy has moved into upper green, hope he has steady surfing there for the rest of the day! Great job Wendy!
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy AMBG 43, AMPS +3 47 +4 65 +5 88 +6 103 + 9 250

Nope - went blue and bounced into yellow and we are still 3 hours to go till his next shot.
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy PMPS 292

Almost reached pink... But maybe his shot will fix that! Or not... Will know in a couple of hours.
 
Re: 9/4 Tiggy PMPS 292

Drat it, I just gave a partial fur shot, he twitched and the needle popped out. Think I got most in there but not all.drat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top