9/4 Tiger AMPS 340;+4=278;PMPS 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Last Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124284

Last weekend was my nephew's wedding, during that week and part of this week, we had 6 house guests, things were a little hectic, so sorry for my lack of participation. This coming weekend will be the reception in Spokane, for the relatives that couldn't come to Seattle for the wedding. I have arranged to leave Tiger at the vet's as they have a reasonably priced boarding and grooming service. They will administer her Levothyroxin and do her insulin injections, but no testing! :oops: My question is, should I have them give her full injection, I don't feel comfortable if they aren't going to be testing? If the answer is a reduced dose, how much should it be? What do other people do in this situation? Thanks for any input, we leave tomorrow late afternoon.

Tiger's foot is a little better, though she is still favoring it. The full dose of bupe was making her way too groggy and constipated, so I cut the dose. These last 2 days, I haven't given any. I swear it affected her numbers, and not in a good way. More likely, it was her level of pain causing the high numbers.


Continuing healing vines to all kitties and humans in need!
 
Hi Ruth.

Sorry poor Tiger is still favoring her foot. I really think pain can increase the BGs, as Cinco's always go up when he gets an infection in his eye. Did you try giving a reduced dose of Bupe, since the full dose was causing other problems? Do you give a probiotic? I see you feed baby food squash. Cinco gets that daily now, whether he's on pain meds or not. He is not a very active cat, so he needs a little help keeping things moving, if you know what I mean. ;-)

When I was boarding at a facility that didn't test as often as I like, I would reduce the dose to the next lower amount (if I was shooting 2.25, I'd reduce to 2.0). They refused to do .25 increments, anyway. Sounds like yours is equally uncooperative, so I'd probably have them shoot 4.0. You might want to add the ? icon to your post, and maybe put "Dose for Vaca?" or something similar in the first subject line to get more responses.

I hope Tiger's foot heals soon and that all goes well with your trip and her boarding.
 
Hi Ruth,

It looks like you and I, and Tiger and Clare, have similar questions about how to instruct caregivers while we're away over the weekend. Best wishes for your nephew's celebrations and for Tiger to be safe and happy for that time. It's hard to leave our kitty friends, isn't it; but so important to be able to participate in those few special events?

Georgette and Clare
 
sienne has that same situation of no testing while she travels. she's the most experienced at this. hopefully she'll have a chance to chime in before you need to go.

If it were me, i think i'd just go to 4.0u - i'm wondering how accurately you can count on a vet tech to measure if it's an odd amount in the syringe. How many shots are they going to be giving, ie, sounds like it's friday night through when?
 
Thanks Tricia, I bet you would get higher BG with Cinco's eye, what kind of probiotic do you give to your kitties? Are you meaning Forta Flora? I did try to give half doses for a day or two, but I did worry about that constipation and the baby food squash does seem to help.

Hi Clare, thanks for your visit to our condo. I don't like leaving Tiger at all, but this is an important family event, I just wish it wasn't out of town. I hope you found a safe place for Clare, I should have researching earlier.

Thanks Julie, I don't have a lot of faith in the accuracy of someone else dosing .25 units either, even myself sometimes! :oops: So I suppose 4 units sounds reasonable. I just hope she doesn't have some crazy bounce clearing drop. I decided to cut my trip short, so I will give her shot Saturday AMPS and they will have to give her PMPS and Sunday AMPS. The more I think about it, maybe they can just give her 3, like a token dose?
 
Hi Ruth. I hope you had fun at the wedding. I was so glad my nephew had his locally and even then I gave two reduced doses. FD does make some things difficult. They won't test at all? That is crazy considering it is a vet's office. With lower doses she will be fine.
 
Thanks Elise, it was very emotional for all of us! My nephews used to stay with us for 2 weeks each every summer until they were all grown up, seeing them old enough to marry is very touching! Maybe I should call the office again and talk to the person in charge again. When Tiger was hospitalized, they tested at least pre=shot. I remember the Dr on call skipped one shot because she was low. But that was the hospital not the boarding service.
 
Maybe you can arrange for a vet tech to go to the boarding area and do at least a few tests? It might not be their policy but as you said you can ask.
 
I think Julie's suggestions sre good ones. Better to take the dose down more than necessary and have her safe.
 
If you're concerned about the lack of testing, I'd drop Tiger's dose a little -- maybe to 4.0u like Julie suggested or if you're really nervous, 3.75u. Tiger's numbers look like you just increased so you know that 4.0u is less than what it looks like Tiger needs so it should keep your kitty safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top