9/4, Tango, AMPS 101, +2 83, +5 79, +8 94, PMPS 116 - .5 or .25?, + 3 102

Hi Lori, have you shot? Let's see what he does in the AM cycle and take a call on the PM dose?
It does look like he needs to go back to 0.5U though.

Try giving him a snack at +9 and see if that brings down his preshots?
 
Hi Lori, have you shot? Let's see what he does in the AM cycle and take a call on the PM dose?
It does look like he needs to go back to 0.5U though.

Try giving him a snack at +9 and see if that brings down his preshots?

Already shot .25

Feeding schedule for morning and night is at + 9.5 we give Tango 1/2 wet food and take it away by + 9.45. After shot, he gets another 1/2 can.

For snacks he gets cooked chicken. We need to find another snack. Any suggestions?
 
I saw the tags this morning, was asleep last night when you did the tags.
From this post: Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis

  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
On 0.5 units, Tango wasn't staying under 100 overall, and his lowest BG's were not always in the 50-80 range. The lowest I see was a few times at 77. Like Bhooma suggested, I'd like to see what he does the rest of the day, so maybe a test or two later than you have already during the cycle to make sure nothing is being missed. Having said that, today is still influenced by the 0.5 unit depot.

His snack should be a couple tsps, not a half can if feeding late in the cycle. Plus 0.5 units dose is a little high to be doing the feed late in the cycle trick. We save that for when cats are on smaller doses - think 0.1 units. If you have been feeding 1/2 can at +9.5, that could explain his higher preshots.
 
Last edited:
I saw the tags this morning, was asleep last night when you did the tags.
From this post: Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis

  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
On 0.5 units, Tango wasn't staying under 100 overall, and his lowest BG's were not always in the 50-80 range. The lowest I see was a few times at 77. Like Bhooma suggested, I'd like to see what he does the rest of the day, so maybe a test or two later than you have already during the cycle to make sure nothing is being missed. Having said that, today is still influenced by the 0.5 unit depot.

His snack should be a couple tsps, not a half can if feeding late in the cycle. Plus 0.5 units dose is a little high to be doing the feel late in the cycle trick. We save that for when cats are on smaller doses - think 0.1 units. If you have been feeding 1/2 can at +9.5, that could explain his higher preshots.

+ 5 79

Yeah, was pushing the reduction with a few more BGs. Will get a few more tests today and start feeding snacks at +9 to see if that makes a difference.

What does 'doing the feel' late in the cycle mean?:confused:
 
It just depends. Sometimes he gobbles it down. He has been known to take a couple bites then walk away. Then, he'll come get one of us and wants us to take him back to his food, stir it up, and he finishes. Before testing, I like to give him 20 minutes or so before I take it away.
 
It just depends. Sometimes he gobbles it down. He has been known to take a couple bites then walk away. Then, he'll come get one of us and wants us to take him back to his food, stir it up, and he finishes. Before testing, I like to give him 20 minutes or so before I take it away.
OK. For the +9 snack, a couple of bites are enough. If he's eating till +9.5 or so, that might also affect his PS. Some CGs have found that feeding a snack at +8 works better for their cats than +9.
 
Back
Top