I saw the tags this morning, was asleep last night when you did the tags.
From this post:
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis
- reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
- reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
- reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
On 0.5 units, Tango wasn't staying under 100 overall, and his lowest BG's were not always in the 50-80 range. The lowest I see was a few times at 77. Like Bhooma suggested, I'd like to see what he does the rest of the day, so maybe a test or two later than you have already during the cycle to make sure nothing is being missed. Having said that, today is still influenced by the 0.5 unit depot.
His snack should be a couple tsps, not a half can if feeding late in the cycle. Plus 0.5 units dose is a little high to be doing the feel late in the cycle trick. We save that for when cats are on smaller doses - think 0.1 units. If you have been feeding 1/2 can at +9.5, that could explain his higher preshots.