9/4 Puss AMPS = 173

hummys

Member Since 2019
Last nite at bedtime it was 128, up this morning, but still not bad considering that we didn't give him a second injection yesterday. I think... We gave him .5 units this morning. Hoping we can stay under 200.
 
That's not a bad start at all. Have to decided on a protocol yet?

Consistent dosing is important with Lantus. It'll depend on your protocol selection - TR or SLGS when his dose can change. It's not based on the pre-shot number, it's based on the lowest point reached during the cycle. Hope you can get some mid-cycle tests in - perhaps this weekend when you're home all day? :)
 
Need to reread the TR/SLGS document again and then we'll figure out what we're doing. We'll definitely get some mid-cycle tests in this weekend. We're still at the point where it takes two of us to do the tests. As a formal feral, he's very sweet and lovable, but doesn't like to be held, confined or picked up. No matter how we've tried, he wiggles away if it's only one of us trying to do the test. I'm sure that some of it is our apprehension. It's one part of this process that we both struggle with. Know that it's for his own good, but it still feels like we're torturing him. I know we're not, but those sad eyes get me every time. The vet wanted us to either do a curve at home or come in next week for a fructosamine test. I know that the curve at home is better, so we're going to try that over the weekend. Also, he's at the point where he's starting to run away from me. I've tried petting him, treats and the same location each time - I try to give him treats after each test, but he walks away from them. Concerned that we're stressing him more and that it will start to influence his numbers. So, I'm struggling with that as well.
 
We have all been there, all this is very stressful in the beginning but before u know it, it will just be part of ur daily routine
And welcome
 
I'm sorry to hear that you're having a hard time with testing, that must be so frustrating.. trust me... it will get better :)

Need to reread the TR/SLGS document again and then we'll figure out what we're doing.
If you did want to follow one of the protocols here, you would have to start with SLGS until Puss is transitioned to wet food... To follow TR kitty has to be on a wet food diet. I follow SLGS and I like the way that it fits my schedule.

To sum it up, you hold a dose for a week. The only reason you would change the dose during that week is if Puss' Blood Glucose (BG) level goes below 90mg/dL. If it does you would give a reduction of 0.25u. If Puss' BG doesn't go below 90mg/dL you continue to hold the dose. At the end of the week you do a Blood Glucose curve taking a test every two hours for 12 hours. Then you will either hold, lower, or increase the dose based on the lowest point of the curve which is also known as the nadir. The directions on whether to hold lower or increase dose are found in the sticky.

When you pick a dosing protocol you aren't chained to it... you might start it and decide actually the other option is better. I would recommend starting on SLGS and then, once Puss is off dry food you can reconsider TR

It's up to you if you want to use a protocol here, so no pressure.. but it is much easier for members to provide better feedback if you do follow one. If you choose not to, the most important thing is to make sure you keep your spreadsheet updated so that if you need guidance that members will be able to see and understand Puss' dose history.

Also! Welcome to the board :joyful:
 
I've experienced exactly all of this with my Ti-Mousse who was a feral cat! Could not take him, he was hiding, running away from me and looking at me with his big eyes asking to leave him alone! It took a little while.. but he's trusting me again and now he's coming for his test when I call him ! He chose the testing place himself.... the doormat! So don't get discouraged, you will get there! :bighug:

Nice to see all those blues for your little Puss! :cool::cool:
 
Thank you for the welcomes! So overwhelming, happy to have found this site. He was already transitioned to wet, so that isn't a problem. He misses his Fancy Feast dry, but is doing alright without it. I'm sure he'd tell you otherwise. He was on 99% wet food when we started him on Young Again food about two weeks ago - I guess that wouldn't allow us to follow TR (will reread that sticky when I get home from work)? So far he's doing ok on the Young Again. We've needed to adjust the amount that he was eating, but otherwise no problems.
 
Thank you for the welcomes! So overwhelming, happy to have found this site.
I think this all the time! Mowgli and I would be in a lot of trouble if I had never found this place :)

He was already transitioned to wet, so that isn't a problem. He misses his Fancy Feast dry, but is doing alright without it. I'm sure he'd tell you otherwise. He was on 99% wet food when we started him on Young Again food about two weeks ago - I guess that wouldn't allow us to follow TR (will reread that sticky when I get home from work)? So far he's doing ok on the Young Again. We've needed to adjust the amount that he was eating, but otherwise no problems.

Already transitioned to wet!? That's great!! A quick win for you for sure :) I guess you do have more consideration in order to choose the best method for you! SLGS is a great option, but there the consensus seems to be that TR is often the best method to get cats regulated and potentially off the juice (OTJ) sooner. I use SLGS because my work schedule doesnt allow me to test enough for TR, but If I could test during the day then I would definitely have gone for TR... if that helps. Definitely read over the sticky that goes over the two methods and once you choose one add it to your signature. Like I said before... if the method you choose doesn't work out for you it is ok to switch later :)
 
Back
Top