9/4 Lulu AMPS 88 - Help

Maya_

Member Since 2024
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-31-lulu-increase-current-dose.293607/

Hello, Lulu's dose was increased to 1.25 units 2 days ago and today her AMPS level was 88. I'm going to skip the am dose and monitor her throughout the day, I fed her now hoping to increase the level to a comfortable range. In this case, could 1.25 units be more than what she needs or maybe this is a one off case? With the 1 unit, she was rarely going below the 300s.

Thanks
 
Last edited:
Did you get another test to see if the first test was an error? Does she have any history of ketones?

yes, the first test was 82 and the second was 88. For ketones, not that I’m aware of due to her not being tested at the vet but I ordered the at home kit to test myself
 
yes, the first test was 82 and the second was 88. For ketones, not that I’m aware of due to her not being tested at the vet but I ordered the at home kit to test myself
Do you want to get another test now and if she is significantly higher, give her insulin?
 
Do you want to get another test now and if she is significantly higher, give her insulin?


Just tested her and it’s 384 now. I fed her over a hour ago so I’m assuming it’ll be late to give her insulin now?
 
Last edited:
Sorry, I only just saw this!!

You could have still given insulin an hour late and adjusted your future shooting time to compensate for the delay.

In future, if you get a number below 90, stall without feeding and test in 20 mins to see if the number rises over 90. In any case, you can always feed and test again in 30 mins and if you see that numbers have zoomed up the way they did today, you can shoot.
 
Sorry, I only just saw this!!

You could have still given insulin an hour late and adjusted your future shooting time to compensate for the delay.

In future, if you get a number below 90, stall without feeding and test in 20 mins to see if the number rises over 90. In any case, you can always feed and test again in 30 mins and if you see that numbers have zoomed up the way they did today, you can shoot.


No worries! I won’t be able to give her the dose now because I won’t be able to keep up with the time given due to going to work. So I’ll get back on schedule for the next dose. But should I continue giving 1.25 units instead of 1 unit? The only thing is when I did 1 unit, the BG level was rarely going below the 300s.
 
But should I continue giving 1.25 units instead of 1 unit? The only thing is when I did 1 unit, the BG level was rarely going below the 300s.
Yes, with SLGS, every drop below 90 is a reduction. So you would go down to 1U.
 
Back
Top