9/4 King AMPS 85 +2 65 +5 61 +8 87 PMPS 71

I had days to update here on the forum..almost a month..
besides my diabetic cat, I also have a 3-month-old baby.. I was up all night with King and when I wanted to sleep in the morning I had to stay up with my baby. I haven't been well for the last month. this was the reason why I didn't write at all on the forum. I apologize because I know you've been following me and I'm grateful for that..
 
That is not good. Your health matters!:bighug: I’m going to discuss this with a few senior members but I think you could try an OTJ trial. I will let you know as soon as possible.

did you see King's ss? I hope it continues in these numbers. Thank you very much
 
Yes. An infection can raise the bg. Does he get a lot of them? Has he been on an antibiotic for then? His ss does not look like a cat with an infection.
 
Yes. An infection can raise the bg. Does he get a lot of them? Has he been on an antibiotic for then? His ss does not look like a cat with an infection.

He had 3 UTIs in a 2 month period. he took antibiotics but only for a few days (7).. we changed the vet, he did all the tests and since then he is fine..
 
Keep giving small snacks. Here are the direct for an OTJ trial. Good luck!
Instructions for starting the OTJ trial
Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!
Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to changehis/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar inthem and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes(excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), testhis/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
That’s good. Is he getting multiple small meals each cycle?
At least 4 meals in each cycle
upload_2023-9-5_1-7-40.png

upload_2023-9-5_1-7-40.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-9-5_1-7-40.png
    upload_2023-9-5_1-7-40.png
    312 bytes · Views: 156
  • upload_2023-9-5_1-7-40.png
    upload_2023-9-5_1-7-40.png
    1.2 KB · Views: 158
Keep giving small snacks. Here are the direct for an OTJ trial. Good luck!
Instructions for starting the OTJ trial
Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!
Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to changehis/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar inthem and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes(excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), testhis/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

I don't know if he is ready to live without insulin yet. maybe i'm afraid I would like a few more days for him to have green numbers with insulin..
 
The only way to know is to try the OTJ trial. I'm not sure you even needed to do the drop dose. He had 7 days in pretty much all green in the 0.1 unit dose. We typically only suggest the drop dose for cats seeing more blue on 0.1 units.
 
The only way to know is to try the OTJ trial. I'm not sure you even needed to do the drop dose. He had 7 days in pretty much all green in the 0.1 unit dose. We typically only suggest the drop dose for cats seeing more blue on 0.1 units.

I will try it, I just want, I think, a few more days in the green. I wanted to stop the injections and now I'm afraid..
can I ask something? if I stop and one of his numbers is over 120, what will I do?
 
It’s all explained in the directions what to do if not green at amps or pmps. Simply feed and test again in 2-3 hours. A working pancreas will bring down the BG after eating. Worst case would be a failed trial in which case you refund insulin and try again. I understand the fear but we won’t let him be off insulin for long if it’s needed. Post daily. I honestly think he’s ready.

If the amps or pmps is green go about your life. No need for more testing.
 
We often find the trial is for the caregiver too. So many people find it hard to reduce the amount of testing to just two per day if green at preshot time. We've had 100's of cats go into remission following our dosing methods. They all have gone through this process and he does look ready for the OTJ trial.

Elise answered your question about what to do with numbers in the 100's.
 
It’s all explained in the directions what to do if not green at amps or pmps. Simply feed and test again in 2-3 hours. A working pancreas will bring down the BG after eating. Worst case would be a failed trial in which case you refund insulin and try again. I understand the fear but we won’t let him be off insulin for long if it’s needed. Post daily. I honestly think he’s ready.

If the amps or pmps is green go about your life. No need for more testing.

you are absolutely right. I'll see how it goes tomorrow and I'll start the day after tomorrow.. I hope we'll do well
 
We often find the trial is for the caregiver too. So many people find it hard to reduce the amount of testing to just two per day if green at preshot time. We've had 100's of cats go into remission following our dosing methods. They all have gone through this process and he does look ready for the OTJ trial.

Elise answered your question about what to do with numbers in the 100's.

you are absolutely right. it's my anxiety, etc. here and when I see blue (below 120) which is normal I get anxious. I will start the day after tomorrow without insulin and I hope it goes well
 
Why not start tomorrow? He's had 7 days in beautiful solid green, reduction is earned to zero units.
 
Why not start tomorrow? He's had 7 days in beautiful solid green, reduction is earned to zero units.

in the evening his blood sugar went up to 110.. he had eaten.. can I stop his insulin while his blood sugar was 110?
 
Yes, try it. He came back down. Anything (another cat, bad weather, travel, who knows what) can temporarily increase numbers. That's OK. We had one member who had to take her cat on an OTJ trial for a car ride - he hated rides. Got up over 400. Brought it back down under 100 the next day. The trial continued. I had a non diabetic cat who had to go to the vet, a strange male vet he didn't know. He went over 230, down to 53 the next day.
 
Yes, try it. He came back down. Anything (another cat, bad weather, travel, who knows what) can temporarily increase numbers. That's OK. We had one member who had to take her cat on an OTJ trial for a car ride - he hated rides. Got up over 400. Brought it back down under 100 the next day. The trial continued. I had a non diabetic cat who had to go to the vet, a strange male vet he didn't know. He went over 230, down to 53 the next day.

400? I think I will die if I see a number like that on my King again. I will give it a try. I start tomorrow morning..
 
Back
Top