9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75 PMPS 123, 57 @ +3

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Condition the same. I talked with a receptionist at the big vet hospital with the IM vets. They are completely booked this next week as it is a holiday week. I am on the list for cancellations (she says there have been a few lately, so it's a possibility). I have an appointment with a different IM vet (one my vet did not recommend - wonder if this one is an intern or what?) for the following week. I was half crying when I described my work dilemma and she suggested I could drop Kasha off early and leave her there - pick her up later. So, I'm going to aim to do that. I will have added 3 hours of driving to my work day, but I don't really have another option. If we make it that long...

Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers.

Yesterday
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75

Praying for you both that things improve for her very soon more healing vines and snowflakes sent her way
Snow-01.gif
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75

Well, something worked - 3 good things just happened:

First, Kasha looked over at me from her papasan chair and meowed at me. I got the impression she wanted to try some food (don't ask, I was just going with my gut) and I brought her some food and she nibbled - not a lot, but over 1/2 Tbsp she ate on her own and she asked for it...

Second, while I was washing food bowls, we got a call back from the vet hospital - there was a cancellation and we can go in on Tuesday, 7 Sept... with the IM vet we've seen before. While I was thanking the receptionist profusely, she said that actually, cancellations are pretty rare... So, I'm taking off Tuesday (there are things going on at work that I shouldn't miss, but I will).

Third, just caught Kasha in the litterbox - the days of pasty poo are apparently past. It still may be a little off in consistency, but her contributions were perfectly formed and not like the previous week's.

Sigh...
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75

(((Krys))) I know that you and Kasha have been going through hell, but I'm happy to hear that the appointment is scheduled and that she ate a bit on her own. I am sending vines that these are good omens of better days to come. I will continue to keep you both in my thoughts and prayers.
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75

This is good news Krys! Sooo happy to hear something is finally going your way. Even if it's just a cancellation a meow and a good poo! This is wonderful. Hope things continue to improve for both you and Kasha.
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75

That is really good news..all three things...the meow, the poops and the vet appointment!
Isn't that so great to have all these things all at once today? Guess you needed that Krys...
great news on all counts! :razz:
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75

I hope this is Kasha turning a corner but....
2102062644_68eca9e1cc.jpg

I'm still sending snowflakes and vines to keep Kasha on the road to recovery.
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75

that's good news! So glad she wanted to eat some on her own, and that you got in with the vet so soon. I'll keep praying...
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75

"Good things come in threes" (old saying), and it looks like it is working for you, Krys. Kasha, you keep on improving now, OK?, and we will think good thoughts for Tuesday and keep sending vines and snowflakes.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75 PMPS 123

Thanks everyone.

I force fed breakfast and dinner (about 2 Tbsp each mixed with supplements) but just brought her food to nibble in between. She nibbled 3 times today when I brought her food - she asked me to bring food twice (or maybe I'm just losing my mind). Didn't eat as much as I've been forcing her to eat, but it's more normal for her to eat little bits several times than for me to be forcing food down her in large chunks which I had to do during the week since I wasn't around to offer meals more often (and believe me, it has to be fresh food - cannot be sitting out at all!). We tried some 9 lives today for the first time and she lapped at the juice for quite a while.

I'm going to go for a walk so I can be in early to keep an eye on her and offer her snacks. It makes me nervous that even though her preshots are nothing to brag about, she seems to be dropping into the 60s or lower pretty often, even on this micro-dose (just measured even with the first - "0" - line on the syringe). I would say it's because she's not nibbling on her own, but she seems to drop early in the cycle and I don't think she normally would eat much for at least a few hours after a main meal anyway.

I gave her more cypro with her meals today. I think that's contributing to her sleepiness. Breathing thru her nose is such a struggle that when she falls asleep, she sleeps very deeply (probably breathing thru her mouth).
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75 PMPS 123

So glad to hear this good news with Kasha, especially eating and getting into the IM Vet next week. I'm sending positive thoughts and prayers for sweet Kasha.
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75 PMPS 123

Krys.....This is wonderful news. Eating...pooping.....getting the Vet appointment.....Its all good.

You have been incredible during all of this!!!!! Maybe you can breathe just a little easier now. It sounds like Kasha can.


Hoping tomorrow brings you a little more good news.


Keep us posted.
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75 PMPS 123

Very glad to read this. Hope you can find a solution for Kasha and that she feels better soon.
 
Re: 9/4 Kasha AMPS 167, 67 @ +3.75 PMPS 123

So glad that things seem to be shifting a little more positively for you and Kasha! Definitely thinking about you two and sending positive thoughts your way. So glad that Kasha is eating a little more and even requesting it. :)
 
She ate about 1 1/2 Tbsp around PM +3. She is having a tough time breathing through her nose, which makes eating all the more difficult. But she still ate 1 1/2 Tbsp from a bowl while I held it. I'm sorry - I mean she ate from a spoon over a bowl while I held both and spooned up the food for her.

I don't know what to think. I still think she's feeling pretty lousy. I don't know what we'll find out on Tues. I'm also kind of confused about how she can drop so low on such a tiny dose. I know 57 isn't dangerously low, but it's still pretty low for her and it concerns me that she's not seeking out food on her own to manage these drops.

Well, I'm not going to think about that until after we go on Tues. Depending on what we learn (or don't learn), I'll decide where we go from that point on. I've had some talks with her about this - about what kinds of decisions we may need to make. Just so we're a little more prepared for various outcomes.
 
it sounds like things are maybe taking a little turn for the better, maybe? If she's asking for food that must mean that she has a will to live. I'm so relieved that you can get in to the vet so soon. I hope they will have something useful to contribute.
 
Kasha is spending a lot of time in normal range. The "drops" really aren't big drops. They may not cause Kasha to be hungry the way she would be if she was dropping from the 300s to the 50s.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Kasha is spending a lot of time in normal range. The "drops" really aren't big drops. They may not cause Kasha to be hungry the way she would be if she was dropping from the 300s to the 50s.

Yes, you're right. But up until she stopped eating, I noticed she would feed herself whenever she started to drop near that range. In fact, that's how I'd know she was dropping lower - I'd see her get up to eat. Now she's not doing that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top