9/4 Jimmy AMPS 188 +3 355 +5 334 +6 294 +7 297 +8 320/1.5R +10 284

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hoping he perseveres today...he just started onset- maybe he will go will the flow and not fight the insulin today. Paws crossed. o_O
 
@Sandy and Black Kitty any advice on keeping this dose for the 8-10 cycles? Since he is "new" to numbers under 200?
  • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing
It seems to me it was more the R doing the job of getting him below 200 than the 15U. Should I stay put and see what his +8 gives me? If he's above 300 - should I give him 1.5R at +8 OR just ride this cycle out and see where he lands at PMPS?
 
@Wendy&Neko @Bronx's dad
Any advice on keeping this dose for the 8-10 cycles? Since he is "new" to numbers under 200?
  • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing
It seems to me it was more the R doing the job of getting him below 200 than the 15U.
Should I stay put and see what his +8 gives me? If he's above 300 - should I give him 1.5R at +8 OR just ride this cycle out and see where he lands at PMPS?
 
He seeems to be rising quickly - going to give him 1.5R (@+8)....hoping it brings him down but not as much as the 2 did. Paws crossed.
 
@Wendy&Neko @Bronx's dad
Any advice on keeping this dose for the 8-10 cycles? Since he is "new" to numbers under 200?
  • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing
It seems to me it was more the R doing the job of getting him below 200 than the 15U.
Should I stay put and see what his +8 gives me? If he's above 300 - should I give him 1.5R at +8 OR just ride this cycle out and see where he lands at PMPS?
Since you are using R, it is hard to follow the TR protocol exactly since some lower #s are due to the R interacting with the Lantus and not just relying solely on the Lantus. But, I think many would argue to stick to the TR protocol no matter what.
 
I wish I had dosing advise:bookworm: but I know nothing about R.
Just cheering you on Jimmy
cheering-cat-gif.gif
 
Since you are using R, it is hard to follow the TR protocol exactly since some lower #s are due to the R interacting with the Lantus and not just relying solely on the Lantus. But, I think many would argue to stick to the TR protocol no matter what.
Hmm...I am expecting the Levemir to arrive tomorrow and plan to start it on Wed. Just wondering if I increase just one day and then decrease on Wed how much I'll be screwing with his BG. On the upside - the 1.5 R at +8 helped him from shooting to the moon without too much of a large drop.
 
Hmm...I am expecting the Levemir to arrive tomorrow and plan to start it on Wed. Just wondering if I increase just one day and then decrease on Wed how much I'll be screwing with his BG. On the upside - the 1.5 R at +8 helped him from shooting to the moon without too much of a large drop.
Well, you do have R to control any high numbers you might get when lowering the dosage. I only lowered from 7.5 to 7 when I switched and went right back up to 7.5 after I saw Lev wasn't causing any abnormal low numbers.
 
With just 3 cycles remaining before you switch to Lev, I'm leaning toward holding at 15 until the transition.
You have R to deal with any undesirable numbers
That's what I'm leaning toward. He seemed to respond well to the 1.5R at +8...just trying to keep him below renal threshold. It really makes a difference in his physical well being (less urination, less hungry, more alert, etc.).
 
The normal switch from Lantus to Lev is starting Lev at 70% of the Lantus dose. Bronx had barely been seeing any yellows at the time of switch so it was safer to start higher.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top