Govies mom (Karen)
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-3-govie-amps-243-3-177-10-221-pmps-215.183380/
Happy Labor Day to everyone!! From me and Govie
Happy Labor Day to everyone!! From me and Govie
The problem with reduced shots and depot insulins is that even though you give less insulin, the depot drains some to match the amount you shot and it's as if you had given the full amount. I'm curious as to why you did that, since when you had similar numbers on previous occasions, you gave the full dose? Don't get me wrong - it won't hurt Govie, but you should be aware that you still need to monitor as if you had given the full dose.Okay tonight I had a blue pmps. 169 so I gave 1 unit instead of 1.25..I hope I did right beings it's under 200

I reduce the dose because I read on one of the Sticky's what to do as a general rule as far as the dosing and and numbers and I could be getting a little mixed up cuz there's just so much to remember and then I don't remember where I read it from so but it had a chart and it had like if it's 200 and under you have three options what does shoot now I'm I'm not recalling it right now but it was one of those I have to go back now and read itThe problem with reduced shots and depot insulins is that even though you give less insulin, the depot drains some to match the amount you shot and it's as if you had given the full amount. I'm curious as to why you did that, since when you had similar numbers on previous occasions, you gave the full dose? Don't get me wrong - it won't hurt Govie, but you should be aware that you still need to monitor as if you had given the full dose.
It's nice to see that there haven't been any pink numbers for awhile (anti-jinx). I think you are getting closer to the purrfect dose!
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
- Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
- Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
- In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
- Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Yes that's what I had read..I still have much to learnI think you are referring to this:
Generally, a "token" dose involves a greater reduction than .25 unit, depending on what the current dose is. 10-25% of Govie's current dose would be .125-.31 units. In other words, just giving a little insulin to keep from totally draining the depot.
Again, you didn't do anything wrong. I was just curious about your reasoning. I would still recommend getting at least one mid-cycle test in that situation, even with a reduced dose, because you don't know how much the depot is going to affect the cycle.