9/4 Garland AMPS 147 NEW VIDEO PMPS 291

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
YESTERDAY

So last night before bed her BG was in the 150s, so I set an alarm to check her in the middle of the night. It was 94. I gave her about 2oz of a higher carb canned food just to make sure nothing happened while I was sleeping the rest of the night( only 3 hours) She gobbled it right up and begged for more. So that at least tells me she just doesnt like the taste of the food Ive been giving her. This morning her numbers where above 100

Thanks for all the links and information about the plug ins and stuff for Connick yesterday! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/4 Garland AMPS 147

GREAT start for the day. Please get a +1 and +2.

It's also very good info about food. While most of our cats really like HC, I think you're right -- Garland may not be "fond" of what you've been giving her. It sounds like it's time for some experimenting with different foods.
 
Re: 9/4 Garland AMPS 147

Much better numbers. Keep an eye on her BGs, she may say goodbye to this dose quickly.
Sometimes a kitty will stall at one BG level and just need an increase back to the last good dose for a cycle or 2 to kick start things.
 
Re: 9/4 Garland AMPS 147

Very nice start for Miss Garland! I can so relate to kitties not being fond of particular foods...I've got a whole herd of picky eaters here! I hope you find her magic food quickly!!!

Have a great day!

Amy
 
Re: 9/4 Garland AMPS 147

Sienne and Gabby said:
GREAT start for the day. Please get a +1 and +2.

It's also very good info about food. While most of our cats really like HC, I think you're right -- Garland may not be "fond" of what you've been giving her. It sounds like it's time for some experimenting with different foods.
Ive been trying different foods, but all the lower (non gravy) ones, are the ones shes snubbing her nose at. Is there a low carb one that is more "saucy" I can try?
 
Re: 9/4 Garland AMPS 147

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Much better numbers. Keep an eye on her BGs, she may say goodbye to this dose quickly.
Sometimes a kitty will stall at one BG level and just need an increase back to the last good dose for a cycle or 2 to kick start things.
Yea, I was shocked at how fast her numbers came down. I hope its an uneventful day.. Im going to be gone this afternoon from 1-5
 
Re: 9/4 Garland AMPS 147

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Much better numbers. Keep an eye on her BGs, she may say goodbye to this dose quickly.
Sometimes a kitty will stall at one BG level and just need an increase back to the last good dose for a cycle or 2 to kick start things.
Yea, I was shocked at how fast her numbers came down. I hope its an uneventful day.. Im going to be gone this afternoon from 1-5

EDIT-- Not sure why this posted 2x??
 
Re: 9/4 Garland AMPS 147

Violet & Garland said:
Ive been trying different foods, but all the lower (non gravy) ones, are the ones shes snubbing her nose at. Is there a low carb one that is more "saucy" I can try?

I honestly don't know. I've always served pate style foods and add water. One thought, though, is to mix some low sodium chicken broth in to the pate style foods and see if that works a bit better. Usually, the "gravy" foods are higher in carbs.

Another possibility is to see if Garland likes the Fancy Feast appetizers. They are not nutritionally complete so you can't give them as a meal (which is good because they are expensive). However, to use a bit and have it as a topping or mixed through food may be a good inducement.
 
Re: 9/4 Garland AMPS 147 +1 224

I want to reiterate you have to try things slowly.... throwing too much food and different flavours and presentations can lead to food aversion. Remember Maverick had his tube for 10 weeks even though at week 7 his liver numbers were completely normal. I tried to push Maverick into eating earlier as I couldn't afford another tube surgery... I was told this wouldn't work and they were right. He ended up pulling his tube out in the tenth week but was eating mostly on his own by then.

So I would limit new things to twice a day. No more. When we find something she likes we work with that.

So she liked the high carb. What about draining off the gravy - most of the carbs is in the gravy right? Sienne and others what do you think of this? If she likes the gravy - maybe adding it to some low carb flavours.

She probably has aversion to the foods she ate before she got sick. A lot of cats associate their old foods with how horrible they were feeling.
 
Re: 9/4 Garland AMPS 147 +1 224

Karrie and Maverick said:
What was the food you gave her last night?

I cant remember.... I think it was the FF turkey and giblets with Gravy.. I gave her a couple small spoonfuls. Probably around 2 oz
 
Re: 9/4 Garland AMPS 147 +1 224

Karrie and Maverick said:
I want to reiterate you have to try things slowly.... throwing too much food and different flavours and presentations can lead to food aversion. Remember Maverick had his tube for 10 weeks even though at week 7 his liver numbers were completely normal. I tried to push Maverick into eating earlier as I couldn't afford another tube surgery... I was told this wouldn't work and they were right. He ended up pulling his tube out in the tenth week but was eating mostly on his own by then.

So I would limit new things to twice a day. No more. When we find something she likes we work with that.

So she liked the high carb. What about draining off the gravy - most of the carbs is in the gravy right? Sienne and others what do you think of this? If she likes the gravy - maybe adding it to some low carb flavours.

She probably has aversion to the foods she ate before she got sick. A lot of cats associate their old foods with how horrible they were feeling.

Before she got sick I always bought her the FF classic Beef, Chicken and Turkey. She ate it no problem. Since being home, she will graze on it, but I can tell she doesnt like it anymore... The last 3 days Ive been trying out the Friskies Pate. She hates that even more. Those are the only ones Ive given her so far...
 
Re: 9/4 Garland AMPS 147 +1 224 +4 234

Okay, numbers staying steady in the 200s, shes been fed and loved on. Im headed out for a few hours :)
 
She's just so sweet! I love seeing her spunk - it must really do your heart a ton of good. You're one amazing bean!!!

Amy
 
I know! Its sooo hard for me to think about how just a few weeks ago how sick she was. She couldnt even lift her head. With FHL (or at least in her case) she got much worse before she got better. When I brought her home from the ER, everyday she got worse and worse. One night I really honestly thought she wouldnt make it through the night. She was barely breathing, or moving. I said my goodbyes to her that night. The next day was when I noticed the first improvement. And since then she has kept fighting, and now shes doing amazing! Right now she is sleeping all curled up on my lap, and as she snoozes away, comfy and happy, and I thank God everyday, that I found this board and all of you. It was the power of FDMB that saved her life cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top