9/4 Doodle AMPS 58 +18.5/133 +24 (PMPS)252 +6/102 +10/83

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
based on his SS and being in the 50's for multiple BG tests does that qualify for dose reduction or does the BG HAVE to be under 50?
 
Re: 9/4 Doodle DOSE DECREASE? AMPS 58

Hi Jennifer.

I am not a dosing expert, so I'm just bumping this up so more experienced eyes will see it and respond. Doodle's numbers look fantastic!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/4 Doodle DOSE DECREASE? AMPS 58

According to the TR protocol, reductions are earned when a newly diagnosed cat goes below 50, or spends a week in normal numbers. I don't know if anyone has shown you an example of the latter, but here is one of Davidson who earned reductions that way from 2.75U all the way to OTJ.

Here's the bit from the protocol sticky on reductions:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
However if Doodle is giving you nadirs in the 50's, he's probably not far from asking for a reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top