9/4 Clare AMPS 338; PMPS 294;+2-334;+4-350 Dose for absence?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good Morning, Everyone!

Yesterday's Condo

Today's News:

AMPS: 338
+2.5: 329
+4.5: 262

PMPS: 294
+2: 334
+4: 350

Storms came through last night and we all took our usual protective places: DH, Coral and me in bed and Clare on the lower floor. We're all a bit sleepy this morning.

Hopefully Clare will clear this bounce today and we'll be on track to some green numbers.

Have a good day, LL Neighbors!
 
Re: 9/4 Clare AMPS 338

Come on down Clare! No more bouncing. That sounds like our protective plan as well. Hope the storms weren't too bad. Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/4 Clare AMPS 338;+2.5-329;+4.5-262

I think she probably could have used the full increase but let's see where she goes. I don't like dose hopping so once you increase, it's best to just let it settle and see where she goes.

And don't forget about New Dose Wonkiness. you are doing a great job with those patience pants!

Paws crossed. :-D :-D
 
Re: 9/4 Clare AMPS 338;+2.5-329;+4.5-262; PMPS 294;+2-334

Dear Clare's Liver,

We've got this: you can relax.

Please take a break, and give Clare's pancreas a chance. It's waking up -- time for you to take a rest!

Georgette
 
Re: 9/4 Clare AMPS 338;+2.5-329;+4.5-262; PMPS 294;+2-334;+4

Well, Clare, you can come on down anytime now. Safely and slowly. Or not. You are, after all, a cat!

Patience MamaBean. Patience! (Hard to do. I know.)

Your storm scenario made me smile as I remembered herding my then three cats into the basement of an old farmhouse out near Amherst. I often miss those days!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/4 Clare AMPS 338;+2.5-329;+4.5-262; PMPS 294;+2-334;+4

A question for you, Marje, and for the other Wise Ones on the Board,

After a few cycles, it does look like the 0.25+ is doing just about what the smaller 0.25 amount was doing: giving Clare around one active cycle, with nadirs over 80, out of every 4 or 5. Like you said, Marje, it looks like we should raise her dose so that's it's more effective.

There's one main obstacle/distraction for doing this now: we'll be gone from Sunday until Tuesday (7th-9th) and Clare will be cared for by vet techs who are experienced but not available to monitor her during any potential hypo events.

So, please give us your advice. What dose should we tell the caregivers to give her while we're away? And after we come home, how should we raise the dose?

Thanks VERY much. There's no way we could be doing this without you!

Gratefully,

Georgette

P.S. Cats and beans are totally pooped! So we'll take this up tomorrow morning early. Thanks!
 
Re: 9/4 Clare AMPS 338; PMPS 294;+2-334;+4-350 Dose for abse

do you feel confident the vet tech is going to be able to measure a tiny dose carefully? you might have to jump up and down to make sure they understand how important it is to measure accurately at this level.
 
Re: 9/4 Clare AMPS 338; PMPS 294;+2-334;+4-350 Dose for abse

Hi Georgette, thank you for your visit to our condo. I see what you mean, you do have a problem since Clare is on such a miniscule amount of insulin! I am not qualified to give dosing advice as I am new to this as well, but I can sure empathize. I don't suppose taking Clare with you is an option? (It isn't an option for my Tiger!) I hope you can get this sorted and have fun on your trip!
 
Re: 9/4 Clare AMPS 338; PMPS 294;+2-334;+4-350 Dose for abse

I think Julie hit the nail on the head.....measuring a dose. I'd probably suggest taking her to 0.1u but don't know how you will be able to get them to draw that dose. You can put tape on syringes marking the dose but there will still be errors.
 
Re: 9/4 Clare AMPS 338; PMPS 294;+2-334;+4-350 Dose for abse

We're meeting with them this morning. They're both very conscientious and careful, although as you said, Marje, mistakes can be made no matter what.

We'll show them the vacuum, plunge-and-release method, and compare it to what she's getting now. The idea will be to make sure she's getting less than her current dose.

Would it help to start the process early, to drain the depot a bit before we leave?

Georgette
 
Re: 9/4 Clare AMPS 338; PMPS 294;+2-334;+4-350 Dose for abse

Yes you can do that (drain the depot). When we went away for a couple days, I believe I took Gracies dose down the night before we left.

How exciting that you are getting away!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top