9/4 Ches: AMPS: 59, 54, 64, 68, 27, 61...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Cheshire

Member Since 2013
Ches got a dose increase from 0.5 to 0.75U two days ago, and surprised me this morning with very low numbers (for him). I did 6 BG tests in an hour, expecting to see some sort of uptick, but nothing significant emerged. So I've just fed him some 5% carb wet food, and need to decide whether or not to shoot.

I could work from home this morning, but that will only get me to about +4 or 5. Or I could come home after lunch and check him at +6. But I can't stay home all day to watch him.

My thought it to give him a reduced dose of 0.5U, check him at +1, then go to work and come back to check during lunch at +5 or 6.

Update: Five minutes after feeding, he's at 48. Should I just skip this dose?
Update 2: +30min he's at 81

What would you do?
 
A couple of thoughts...

With the 48, Cheshire gets a dose reduction. You would want to reduce the dose back to 0.5u.

I don't know that you have data to shoot this low. It looks like you've not had a pre-shot number that's even close to 100 and from your SS, I can't really tell where Cheshire's nadir falls. If you want to shoot, I would not shoot more than 0.25u unless you can stick around to monitor. The 81 is likely a food spike so there's no way to know how far the numbers will come down. If you shoot, I would leave plenty of food out.

Of course, there's always the possibility that Ches will bounce.
 
Hi guys .. Don't remember if I've been to your condo or not, so welcome from us! No advice from me, but looks like SIenne had some good advice .. these certainly are nice numbers .. well, uh, other then that 27 :shock: have a great day guys!
 
Thanks Sienne - just took a +1 and he's inching up to 91. The previous times I've skipped a dose because he's been low, he's skyrocketed later in the day. I'm going to give him a 0.25 dose and try to get back during lunch to check again. Good tip on making sure plenty of food is out - will do!

Thanks for sharing your wisdom on this!
 
Hi Chris--

How is Chesire? Looks like BG was 28 on 9/8/13, three hours past PM shot? I note that you cut the insulin dose in half. How's that working out?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top