9/4 Calleys AMPS 368

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
Calley vomited overnight....had it everywhere. She then peed and pooped outside her litter box. :( I found evidence that either she or the other cat tried/possibly successful at getting into the dog food can. I have no idea if she ate any or not.

I saw the vet yesterday and he says I should increase the insulin. I am going to increase the unit. I asked him about Levemir and he said if Lantus does not work he usually prescribes PZI. But he said it was very expensive. I am ready to switch to Levemir if I can find a vet to prescribe it to me. Calley is not responding to Lantus. I want to try Levemir and see if she can't get regulated.
 
I got Levemir out of Canada without a prescription. I had to pay the higher price for it because I didn't have a prescription. They list several prices but the cheaper cartridges are from Turkey but you have to have the script for them.

77canadapharmacy
 
that's great to know about the Levimir from canada. thanks.
my kitty is high too kristin. hope Calley drops soon
 
I'm so sorry Calley is still having such uncomfortable digestive problems. Poor thing!

I have to say that while I can't imagine there's anything wrong with trying either Levimir or PZI to see if it works better, Calley's numbers are definitely improved over a month ago, so it looks to me like she IS responding pretty well to Lantus. Just my personal interpretation of the data.

The vomiting and peeing/pooping issues aren't symptoms of diabetes, so it really seems to me that there's a secondary thing causing that and that regulating her blood sugar isn't likely to improve that for her, unfortunately. :(
 
Poor Katie and Calley

We all keep saying that there must be another issue but in realization, the vet hasn't been able to find anything, if I recall. I still wonder about IBD or IBS... but what if it is the insulin? Every cat is different. Lantus is a very good insulin but some cats do have reactions to it. I don't blame you for wanting to explore other options even if it means switching insulin.
 
Katie - maybe I could send you a Lev cartridge. I think I have three left and just need to have enough to get me through December.
 
Thanks all for the input and support. I really am at a loss at this point. I can't seem to figure out what is causing her vomiting. The vet has run all sorts of tests and says that it is just the diabetes. Now...I haven't run the expensive ones to check for Pcritis and I can't afford to have an intestinal biopsy done either. I do see that the numbers have come down slightly....but she is still way high(high 200s and mid 300s).....but it is her voracious eating that still plagues her and me. Obviously the food that she is eating is not being absorbed as she is eating a lot and not gaining weight...and then vomiting at least weekly if not several times a week. It is not hairballs as I have done the Vaseline thing and that seemed to help....but her projectile vomiting is always with food in it and a HUGE amount. Probably all that was in the stomach. :(

I want to switch to Levemir and give that a try. If that does not help....i'm going to put her out of her misery. It isn''t fair for her to be vomiting and always starving. As much as I Love her.....she is suffering and I can't keep her going just for my needs. :(

Robin....were you meaning me or Katie for the Levemir cartridge? I would love that help. PM me.

I called the local pharmacy and they said that a vile of Levemir would cost me 318$. Now if I knew it worked for Calley....I might pay that...but since I don't have a clue how she would respond...I'd rather not pay that.
Thanks all,
Kristin
 
Kris

I've had 5 diabetic cats of my own and one foster one. None of them vomiting from being simply diabetic. In fact I have a bakers dozen of special needs cats here currently and only my one with food allergies vomits on a regular basis.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I don't normally post here, but because my cat has decided to be dumb and keep me up for a few more hours, I am lurking around.

May I ask what you are feeding Calley? It sounds an awful lot like Skooter for a very long time and they couldn't figure out what was wrong....ended up being IBD. He was on predisone for a long time, which probably caused the diabetes, but when he was dx'd he was switched to budesonide and he has been doing great.

I am not sure if there is any other way than the biopsies to dx the IBD, but perhaps it is worth talking to Calley's vet about possibly trying something like that to see if it works? I thought I was going to have to put Skooter down, he was throwing up all the time, diarrhea every where and lost about half his weight. That was about seven years ago.

He just had blood work done last week and he is in the normal range in everything now.....
 
Just to chime in on the vomiting thing.. with Sammy, its fish. Give her any flavour of food with fish in it and you might as well get your mop and pail ready, cause its coming back at you, pronto.
 
Ok so you raised Calley to 1.5u and will hold this through 6 cycles. Let's see what kind of nadir and pre-shots she gets with this dose. I will PM with you about Levemir but I truly believe that it really could be IBS or scarf and barf because you say she is always hungry... but we can still look at switching insulins. I know that I sound like a broken record but Lantus is a good insulin once you find the right dose.

I will keep an eye on you and Calley over the weekend.

Sorry for the confusion with the names... Katie.. Kristen... goofy me!!!
 
I was feeding Calley can Friskies seafood varieties but I changed that over a month ago to only giving her pate varieties chicken, liver, beef, turkey etc. So no more seafood of any kind. She gets food at each shot time and that is about it. She vomits too much if I feed her a lot.

I will be discussing with the vet the idea of trying bupe without having to do the expense of more tests and treatments....I simply can't afford them. So if I can get the vet to prescribe it for me I want to try that for Calley.
 
You do understand that Bupe is a heavy duty Pain Killer? It's not for nausea, nor is it something to be given long term. Race horses will quite literally run with a broken leg on it which is why its use is banned on the tracks. I've used it but only after surgery with Autumn and with two cats with end stage cancer.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
What about Cerenia? Isn't that for nausea? My foster had that when she stopped eating and was back to the bowl the day after.
 
Cerenia is for nausea!! The thing is we don't know the source of the vomiting. Bupe is for pain and pain only. It is an opiate and a control substance because its highly addictive in humans because its 30 times stronger than morphine.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Bupe which is Buperenex is very different than Budesonide. Buperenex is an opiate while Budesonide is a cortisteroid. Two widely different drugs. Both great tools when used correctly.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Skooter is currently doing wonderfully on his Budesonide....

Just throwing this out there as a thought....and others probably know better than me....If it is IBD...is it possible all the different protein options could be giving her an upset stomach? I remember reading in the Health Forum, a lot of people said their cats had negative reactions to beef....

I am wondering if you go to one protein source to see if maybe it is just reactions to the different foods that are not agreeing with her? When Skooter when to wet food, I choose chicken as his novel protein (he hadn't really ever had any as he was a dry kibble boy).....I deliberately choose not to introduce any other protein options because of his IBD to make sure his stomach would agree to it and if he got a variety of them, I wouldn't know which ones his tummy didn't like and which ones it did....an IBD cat's stomach can be very fickle.....


Perhaps pick the one she likes best and try feeding exclusively that to see if that helps settle her stomach?
 
Good idea Molly, to have Calley on just one variety of protein. I will try that and see if that helps her. Maybe that is why her EOS number was so high on her latest blood work. Maybe it is a food allergy.

I cancelled the vet. I can't afford to pay for any meds for Calley anyways.
 
Well hopefully that helps Ms. Calley out.....

FWIW, if it were me, I would start with one of the birds, chicken or turkey.....

Skooter is on Nature's Variety chicken and loves it....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top