9/4, Atlas AMps 398, +11 123? Dose? 221 Stall

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Looks like I'm an early bird on this board! Well, today should be an interesting day as I've got 3 pet sits to do this morning, the Cat Commitee Chairperson visiting around 1:00, and I still have a Moen faucet Cartridge that needs replaced...plus my Atlas!

Boy has he been cranky the past few days. Swatting and nipping at everybody! Poor MudCat is being hunted down, Krueger gave him a hiss to knock it off, and even I had to toss a blanket over my head in bed to keep from being nipped! Don't know if the lantus is causing this and he just feel this bad as his sugars are riding too high or what?

I happened to trip across an interesting blog article and a question I had as well: http://www.diabetesmine.com/2008/07/hum ... works.html

Human Guinea Pigs: How to Tell if Your Insulin Still Works

With all the talk these days of the price of things in health care, I think it is a valid question. It is interesting that these human diabetics often have the same doubts and questions regarding potency & effectiveness.

I know when I worked in the field doing hazmat remediation many of our field test kits were a plain simple yes or no hit. A positive hit was positive for the presence of the chemical. A negative could be a false negative. So when you got a negative you immediately tested a second time. Two negatives it was most likely clean (98% of the time) meaning levels were not there or too low to be regulated. A negative & positive was a positive. So a sample had to been sent out for evaluation by a lab.

So in my thinking, why couldn't a field test be developed to test for the decomposition products? Like the PCB test I used to field test for, anything over a certain amount is a definite throw it out. At what point would that be and would it be cost effective to the consumer? 10%, 15%, 25%?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24061
 
Re: 9/4, Atlas AMps 398

Some of our early folks haven't been around much (e.g., Miriam/Putty or Deb/Spot -- Spot's now OTJ) but Ronnie has been taking a quick, early look before she heads out to tbp.

Interesting article that you linked. I suspect the big difference is that the worst that happens if you shoot "bad" insulin is that nothing happens or we see an inconsistent response to the insulin. On the other hand, if you get a positive with PCBs or some other chemical, it's a signal that there is a dangerous condition. And on the cynical side, it also means that people will follow the manufacturer's recommendation to discontinue use of their Lantus after 28 days rather than getting longer use from it.
 
Re: 9/4, Atlas AMps 398

Hi Blue

yes, I'm around in the early weekday mornings (my time zone is EST) but only can be here between 5 and 6am
then off to tbp (the bad place/slang for work) :lol: but I love my new job! LOL!

Have a great day!
 
Will we see yellow this afternoon?

Oh....looks like we'll find some yellow today!!! flip_cat

Nice to see these coming down a bit. Albeit slowly, very slowly....
 
Re: 9/4, Atlas AMps 398, yellow today, how 'bought BLUE?

Blue, we're hitting blue, blue...141?

Ok, this is slidage.

Do we give a snack NOW...at +9.

Just wait and start checking hourly, half hourly?


And oh my...what is with his crankies today?!
 
Re: 9/4, Atlas AMps 398, +11 123? dose too?

sorry I missed your earlier posts, haven't been around much today. Do you have your +12 yet?
 
Re: +12, 141

We just did the plus twelve it is only 141. He did get a snacks at the +9 and +11.
Thanks for checking in on us.

Edit: He just finished his regular dinner. No lacking for appetite here!
 
Re: 9/4, Atlas AMps 398, +11 123? dose too?

how about stalling for 30 minutes and testing again, to see if Atlas goes up a little.

(normally we don't feed when stalling, because it makes it hard to tell if the next number is actually rising or if it's just a food spike. You didn't know, though.)
 
Re: 9/4, Atlas AMps 398, +11 123? dose too?

Libby and Lucy said:
(normally we don't feed when stalling, because it makes it hard to tell if the next number is actually rising or if it's just a food spike. You didn't know, though.)


Phhhtt...no I didn't know that. I gave him a snack at +9, +11 too. Just a quarter can hoping to see a bit of a rise then. I don't see a food spike or sustained bg rise either? Of all the problems to have from Reds to low Blues and wondering what to dose.

But, then again...you don't know Atlas at feeding time! Calm, docile, lovable kitty gets to be a bit of the Tiger! Scratching you and nipping at you, to get your attention and remind you, you forgot something...his food.

Plus today he has been real, real cranky. Ornery is what I would call him. This is the first cold day we've had in a week.
 
Re: 9/4, Atlas AMps 398, +11 123? dose too?

no problem, let's see what the next number is.

Just to get the rest of my questions out of the way before we decide what/when to shoot, are you home tonight to monitor? And do you have high carb wet food on hand (something with gravy) in case we need it to steer the cycle? Plenty of test strips?
 
Re: 9/4, Atlas AMps 398, +11 123? dose too?

i'm often a cynic too, and my (many, many, long) years in the business world have taught me to "follow the dollar" to determine the reasoning behind many processes. i tend to think that it is a monetary reason too, as we all know that return customers are the bread & butter in any business...most especially pharmaceutical. I was with Rite Aid pharmacies for 2 years and unfortunately there is a great amount of money to be made from catastrophic illness.

sort of a sad commentary on our priorities, i think.

celi
 
Re: Stalling at 221? Dose?

Libby and Lucy said:
no problem, let's see what the next number is.

Just to get the rest of my questions out of the way before we decide what/when to shoot, are you home tonight to monitor? And do you have high carb wet food on hand (something with gravy) in case we need it to steer the cycle? Plenty of test strips?


Yes, I am home tonight. Laundry night so I have nothing to do Labor Day other than my pet sits.

Yes, to the high carb foods, plus karo.

Test strips, yes.

What I don't have is enough history to make the call. The few days we've been on Lantus he has slid in the back of the cycle, only to rise way high after eating, linger there, and then late cycle slide.

Stalling right?

Here's the half hour: 221
 
that's a pretty good rise, most likely it's not all food spike. Do you feel comfortable shooting, or would you rather wait some more?
 
and.... while this is a really nice breakthrough, if you would rather go back down to 1.25 or 1 and work up (down) to these numbers a little more gradually, that would be fine too.
 
sounds good. And if you'll get a +1 and +2 tonight, that data will help with next time you are in this situation.

Go Atlas!
 
Libby and Lucy said:
and.... while this is a really nice breakthrough, if you would rather go back down to 1.25 or 1 and work up (down) to these numbers a little more gradually, that would be fine too.


I am going to shoot 1u. Cross you fingers, but I feel pretty Ok with this.

Test in an hour?
 
We're posting and thinking the same things within seconds of each other.

Thank you. It actually helps me to know I have the correct information. Confidence.
 
hmmm, thanks for the update.

If you're up for a +3,
it's usually when onset begins, so hopefully he will turn around and do something special for ya :-D

Oh and could you update your first subject line since we passed the dose question. Thank u!
 
he's probably starting a bounce. Maybe he has been doing that all along. So the next set of data we get to collect is how long his bounces last. See, there's always an excuse for more testing in Lantus Land. :lol:

One more test before bed should be enough for tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top