9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) daily updates

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Good morning good citizens and kitizens ~O)

Our thread from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78385&p=847103#p847103

I’m on my way out the door, but just wanted to let you guys know we decided to raise the dose last night (Monday) to 3.5 from 3.25. So far no real movement, but Tom will keep a watchful eye as I am on the road. This morning (Tuesday) we had amps of 281 and overnight we had low 200s. Spreadsheet is current as of this morning.

I’ll try to pop in and let you guys know whassup. Tom will probably text me some numbers along the way.

As always, thanks for all your support and help!
Good day and good week to all!
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

Have a safe trip.
And Good Luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

Hi guys ... good luck with the new dose! You know we'll all be here if questions come about .. Have a safe trip!
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

Thanks so much everyone! Yes, Tom can log on if he has Qs. I suspect tho, that he will call or text me and I will log on. It's a boy thing ;)
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

Tom just texted me that our +8 today is 277, so far Asher is not coming down, hope he does soon.
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

Hey, Donna -

Have a safe trip. I know your boys will miss you, but Tom does such a good job holding down the fort! Hey - I got Doug to post when necessary, so it's time for Tom to join in!! :-D

I hope Asher likes the new dose and settles in soon.

Have a great evening -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

Tom just texted me, Asher is 93 at +4 tonight. Do we feed the drop or keep testing to see if he hits 40 for a reduction, then feed??

Any help is much appreciated...
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

Oh my gosh! Asher at 93? I never thought I'd see it! Woohoo!

And it's good to see you again, Donna. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

No feeding advice from me, but just saying hello, safe travels, and lovely numbers!!!!! Hope Asher keeps on having these great numbers!

Good night, Deborah & Shasta
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

Donna, that's still okay. Nadir about now? If Tom does feed, just use LC unless he drops into the 50s, but I think 70s at +6 is a-okay. Test in 30 and see if it drops any more?

Carl
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

Just curious. I know the AM cycle was no big drop or anything. But there's a gap from mid-cycle then to +4 tonight. What was PMPS?

Carl
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

Don't like to nag, but next time you post, can you add to your subject line to show the coverboy is in the double digits? Nobody can "see that" unless they open the thread and wonder why I've posted three times in three minutes. :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

Carl, I am in Nevada on biz and Tom is on kitty duty at home in PA.
Pmps was 256 I think. Close to that if not exactly.

Sienne suggested we increase again, then if we go low, wait to feed until we see if he goes near 40 so we know if we have to decrease dose or not. Check out our last thread or two, link above for last one.

Last time this happened I fed near 50 and she felt I should have waited and kept testing to know.

Also she mentioned glucose toxicity as a possibility and we are only holding a dose two days before we increase.
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling)

OK, I follow Sienne's logic. I think he doing fine right now, Donna. 76 is not too low. If he does drop to sub-50, then you'll know he's wanting a reduction. At what point in the cycle would he normally get a snack overnight?

Carl

Edit to add - in other words, I wouldn't feed the drop to stop it, unless he goes below 50. Then feed HC to get him up after he earned the reduction. By the same token, if he doesn't drop that low, and it's time for him to eat a regularly scheduled snack (assuming there is one scheduled?), then I'd proceed as normal and not hold off on food.
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

He usually asks me for a snack between 2 and 3 sometime, but it's only baked chicken chunks, so no carbs. Tom has gravy food ready just in case, and we have our regular low carb canned food too. I don't know if he will ask Tom for chicken the same was he does with me.

Tom has the link to this thread, if he needs help after I have to get to bed he knows to post.

I have to shoot tomorrow and have been up 19 hours trying to get out here and get settled. Gonna have to crash soon. Tom will text me if he needs my help making any decisions. Asher hasn't had any problems coming up on gravy food but since we went to Lantus he seems to come up a bit slower and goes up and down a bit before he stays up.
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

Donna,
I'm off tomorrow, so I'll be up for a couple hours at least. If you or Tom needs help or has questions, I've set the "subscribe thread" option to beep me if a reply is posted in the thread. So I'll be around if needed.

Is Tom testing again anytime soon?

Carl
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

He will test again in about 5 minutes. I'll stay up and post that, then I have to get some sleep or I am toast tomorrow.
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

Okee dokee :smile:
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

Asher is 87 at +6.5 so he is hanging in this range. I think we are fine, but Tom does know where to post and he will text me if there is anything up.

Thanks for having our back Carl. I truly appreciate that.

Time for some shut eye for me. I'll check in again tomorrow kids.

Thanks all for your support and help!
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

You're welcome "angel".

Sleep well and have a great day behind the camera tomorrow!

Carl
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

While you're in the wild west, Donna, check on something for me? I've heard you can't buy Yeungling west of the Mississippi (my daughter lives in Missouri). True?
If so, it's a crime!

:lol:

Carl
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

I'm in Vegas so I'll check it out and let you know :) Pottsville soda pop !!
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

Dont worry Donna. Just ask DH to update the readings on the SS so that we all can see if needed. When will you be home?
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

I think her SS shows her home in a week.

Carl
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

Thanks everyone. I won't be able to update the spreadsheet until I have time to use my laptop here. Possibly tonight. iPad and phone just don't cut it with google docs, it takes forever that I don't have right now.

Anywho, here's how we faired last night...

+4 93
A few numbers In between that are in the same range ( sorry we talked thru it on the phone so I cant remember exact numbers) I think there was a 76 in there somewhere. It may be listed above but I am in a rush to get to work this morning.
+6.5 87
+7.5. 93
+9 146

Wednesday (today's) amps. 304

So we got a bounce today, but last night Asher never really got to anything scary, just kept Tom up most of the night :sad:

Thanks again for all your support. Sorry for our weird circumstances here :(

I'll try to check in again tonight. Good day and good numbers to all!!!
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

Hi kids:
I did get a chance to update the spreadsheet best I can from here. It is pretty comprehensive considering I am working from text messages :lol:

Today (Wed) is a bounce day so my guess is the gray boy will be high most of the day. My hopes is he will have a 200's preshoot tonight but we will see.

Will report in again as I can.

Thanks,

-d.
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

Thanks for the update, Donna:-)
Now, get back to work! :lol:
Carl
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

Watching quietly from the wings. Hope all is going well there, and at home. Nice numbers Asher!
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

Evenin' kids:
A quick note to say Asher was fairly high all day due to the bounce from last night but pmps was back down to 255. Just happy to get him out of the 300s.
+3 tonight was 210, so hopefully Tom will get some much needed sleep since things don't look as active :-D

Trip going well so far 'cept I miss my squeeze and my catz. Sunday can't come soon enough for that bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 9/4+ Asher (momma is traveling) in double digits tues ev

Hope you all don't mind I keep using this same thread. Easier on the go.

Thursday morning we had amps of 225 so Asher is coming down off the bounce from yesterday. Overnight we had low 200s. Spreadsheet is updated as of this morning.

Hopeful we can get some good numbers again today. Would love to say goodbye to these pinks! They look yukky on the spreadsheet!

Good day and good numbers to all!!!
 
Donna sent me a PM:
know you suggested we hold a dose a shorter time now, and we may have screwed that up already with me being away on biz and can't pay attention to every detail at home.

Can you advise us on how to proceed? Asher is now at 3.5u and has been for 7 cycles. He bounced and I don't know if we need to let that clear before we raise, and how often you think we should raise due to the insulin resistance.

I'll be home Sunday but Tom has been testing and I have Asher's spreadsheet up to date as of this evening for you to have a look.
Safety/ability to monitor is always the primary concern. It looks like Tom is doing a great job testing. Overall, it's entirely your call whether or not to raise the dose and where Tom's comfort level is with steering numbers should they drop.

With respect to increasing during a bounce, it's not something we generally recommend with someone who's not yet comfortable with testing and hasn't had to negotiate low numbers. The challenge is if you raise the dose at the same time a bounce is breaking. For some cats, though, if you don't catch the numbers exactly right, as soon as numbers come back down, the kitty bounces and you have to decide to increase at some point.

I would encourage you to stick with the protocol -- increasing every 6 cycles. However, if travel throws a kink into the plan, there's not much you can do. A day or two won't make a huge difference.
 
Thanks so much Sienne!!!

I just don't want my work schedule to screw us up too much. And I don't understand these higher numbers. I guess I just had in my mind Asher was a 3 unit kitty and maybe he isn't.

Amps was 288 this morning (Friday). I had to look and then type the day b/c I am not even sure what day it is anymore this week :lol: Very anxious to finish up here and get home Sunday to see my boys :-D
 
Sometimes you need to tweek the numbers -- bring the dose up in order to get things kick started again. I hope it's a successful trip for you. I've begun to really dislike travel due to leaving my guys.
 
This seems to be one of those all consuming stressful type jobs so I am always relieved when things are completed.

Travel has always been one of my loves (not necessarily business travel tho :lol: ) but since Tom and I haven't been able to leave the house together for more than 12 hours for, what is it now, more than a year and a half, it is stressful that we can't get away.

The thought is starting to enter my head that maybe we will have to vacation with the cats, but then it stresses them. So for now we just do nothing or go on a little escape for a day by ourselves. It's been a weird life style change.
 
Morning Donna, good luck with your decision on dosing. You have some good advice there from Sienne. I bet Asher will be so glad to have you home. It does make it hard to get away, doesn't it, especially for the two of you at the same time. I've been away once since Maggie's diagnosis, but it was when she was on her OTJ trial, and I had a Vet Tech check her every day, so easy that time. Have a good day.
 
Hey, Donna - You might be surprised how well the kitties do traveling. I was sooo NOT looking forward to the idea of taking him/them with us...and, it IS a lot of extra planning...but, Hershey did so well at the beach and both of them loved the mountains. I don't know if you've tried it before and how long ago that was, but maybe you could plan a short trip - a night or two - and see how it goes. It's certainly worth a try!

Take care. Wrap up that trip and come home!!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Evenin kids: ~O)
I just had a latte so I could stay up and work tonight :roll:

A quick update, Tom didn't feel like he should raise dose tonight since pmps was 208, so he shot 3.5 again. They are having some good numbers tonight, +3 was 138 and +5 was 95, so happy with that!

Dunno what to think. I don't really see a pattern with Asher but maybe I should.

Hope everyone has a great evening. I must get some work done before bed, so here I go.....
 
Hi Donna, mumbean on the road! :lol:
That's a great curve Asher, surf on the green! Ive not found out Rosy's pattern after this 6mths on TR! Just have to follow her lead ohmygod_smile
Are you finishing work & going home soon?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top