9/30 Yosh am492alpha pmps 297 +3.5 397 ugh

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
It was a rough day yesterday. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/yoshi-amps-447-5-374-pmps259.219856/

I ended up picking up a human meter and strips. Last night Yoshi was at 259 (human meter) and I gave a skinny 3.5. Should I have reduced? I know I should have gotten a before bed test, but I didn't. It is a long story. I will get better at evening tests. Today he's back up to 492 (alpha track strip). He probably bounced.

I'm still so torn on doing alpha track or human meter. I know alpha track numbers so well. My cowkers are asking their vets (out of the city) about dental pricing. It is considerably cheaper in the suburbs, so I may not even go to my current vet (who hates me and my home testing and would freak if I went to a human meter).

Hope everyone is having a good day!
 
Last edited:
With those high readings, why the skinny dose?

I hope you can find a less expensive vet in the 'burbs...sounds like you might do better with one that isn't violently opposed to your choice of meters. AT's are expensive to use and the human meter is the recommended meter here on the forums... you'll get used to the slight difference in the numbers and perhaps will feel more at ease about testing since it's not a dollar every time you test...just small change. I'd be broke if I had to use an AT...meter...we test way way too much here to support that habit.

I hope he'll come down soon :)
 
With those high readings, why the skinny dose?

I hope you can find a less expensive vet in the 'burbs...sounds like you might do better with one that isn't violently opposed to your choice of meters. AT's are expensive to use and the human meter is the recommended meter here on the forums... you'll get used to the slight difference in the numbers and perhaps will feel more at ease about testing since it's not a dollar every time you test...just small change. I'd be broke if I had to use an AT...meter...we test way way too much here to support that habit.

I hope he'll come down soon :)
I don't know why the skinny. I just feel like he's bouncing. Like maybe the dose is okay, but he's not used to the numbers. I think I will start doing a regular 3.5?

I am broke from AT. I have one more vial coming today, and then I may switch. I would just have to research no shoot numbers etc... I thought our spreadsheets were different, but it doesn't look like they are, so I am confused as to the difference.
 
I don't know why the skinny. I just feel like he's bouncing. Like maybe the dose is okay, but he's not used to the numbers. I think I will start doing a regular 3.5?

I am broke from AT. I have one more vial coming today, and then I may switch. I would just have to research no shoot numbers etc... I thought our spreadsheets were different, but it doesn't look like they are, so I am confused as to the difference.

The SS is different - just ask for the 'other one' - post when you're ready to switch for help getting the 'regular' spreadsheet that most of us use..

The no shoot number is anything below 50 with the human meter....and OMG you'll spend so much less on human meters/strips you'll be way ahead of the game in no time...just don't share that info with your current vet...besides, it is after all, your cat, your $$ and your decision how you care for your kitty...
 
I am broke from AT. I have one more vial coming today, and then I may switch.

What about switching to a human meter (you will get used to it), and using AlphaTrak for just enough tests to satisfy the vet?
If you hit a number below 50, you will be going through strips like crazy.

I would just have to research no shoot numbers etc...
The take action number is 50. The no shoot number for someone new is 150. As you begin to know what Yoshi does at lower numbers, the no shoot number becomes lower.

I thought our spreadsheets were different, but it doesn't look like they are, so I am confused as to the difference.
Ask Marje for help when you switch meters. Basically, the numbers at the top of the sheet need to be changed to human meter numbers, and on the date you switch, a line will be added to your current spreadsheet indicating that you have switched to a human meter.
 
I would just have to research no shoot numbers etc... I thought our spreadsheets were different, but it doesn't look like they are, so I am confused as to the difference.
No shoot numbers if following TR on a human meter is 50 (with data to support that of course), and 68 on the AT. For the AT, the lime green numbers happen at 68, 50 for the human meter. That's the only difference. We can get someone to help you change the spreadsheet if/when you decide to switch meters.

You are not new. On this forum, 150 is not a no shoot number if following TR. 150 is a stall, do NOT feed, and post for help number. With data you can shoot much lower. And depending on whether you can delay, whether the cat is going up or down, whether you can monitor and have supplies, an experienced person can help you decide whether to shoot the full dose, partial dose, or skip.

You have done 3.5 skinny for enough cycles in a row, it isn't doing it. I think you can increase now to 3.75 units. But only when you can monitor during that cycle and the one after, ie. get a before bed test.

Pick a meter and stick with it. Going back and forth will make you, and us, crazy. Seen it many times, done it myself.
 
No shoot numbers if following TR on a human meter is 50 (with data to support that of course), and 68 on the AT. For the AT, the lime green numbers happen at 68, 50 for the human meter. That's the only difference. We can get someone to help you change the spreadsheet if/when you decide to switch meters.

Thank you for the clarification!

You are not new. On this forum, 150 is not a no shoot number if following TR. 150 is a stall, do NOT feed, and post for help number.

Yipes. I never said anything about 150 being a no shot number? I don’t think?

With data you can shoot much lower. And depending on whether you can delay, whether the cat is going up or down, whether you can monitor and have supplies, an experienced person can help you decide whether to shoot the full dose, partial dose, or skip.

You have done 3.5 skinny for enough cycles in a row, it isn't doing it. I think you can increase now to 3.75 units. But only when you can monitor during that cycle and the one after, ie. get a before bed test.

I also got more needles with half unit markings. I am going to stick w a proper 3.5 as I like to increase when I am off (fri-sun) and can monitor all day.

Pick a meter and stick with it. Going back and forth will make you, and us, crazy. Seen it many times, done it myself.

My AT strips just came in. I’m going to finish these for now. The human meter/strips served as emergency because of a shipping delay.

Thank you!!! :bighug:
 
My AT strips just came in. I’m going to finish these for now. The human meter/strips served as emergency because of a shipping delay.

Thank you!!! :bighug:

Ugh I responded within your message. I tried to be fancy and comment after some of your advice, but I wasn’t very successful
 
Increasing from 3.5 skinny to 3.5 will likely do nothing for Yoshi. Might if he was on a much smaller dose, but not where he is now.

Glad the AT strips finally came in.
 
Jennifer, my experience when I went to human meter from Pet meter was in the high number ranges -like those Yoshi's is in, the difference was usually around 100 points, so the difference can be substantial (doing simultaneous readings from both meters). It is less once you get closer to 100
Regarding dental - in general, you get what you pay for. I'd be wary of a vet who does a dental in the Chicagoland area for a very cheap price (much cheaper than others). Check that there will be someone dedicated to monitoring Yoshi's vitals throughout surgery (not the vet), that they will do Xrays, and will address pain issues. They will also need to monitor his blood surgar during surgery
 
Last edited:
Higher than Preshot. No clue what is happening unless a fur shot. Ugh. Going to bed. :banghead:
Most likely bouncing from the yellow.

In the beginning, some cats will bounce to the point of frustration. Any number lower than the usual will most likely trigger it. Only time and insulin therapy can help smooth out the bounces.

Ming still bounces. It’s been a year since I started testing.
 
Most likely bouncing from the yellow.

In the beginning, some cats will bounce to the point of frustration. Any number lower than the usual will most likely trigger it. Only time and insulin therapy can help smooth out the bounces.

Ming still bounces. It’s been a year since I started testing.
Ah. I didn’t even think of that. Bouncing sucks. (Pardon)
 
Ah. I didn’t even think of that. Bouncing sucks. (Pardon)
Yeah it does but sometimes it’s a blessing for when you need a break. And it’s probably what saved Ming in the 6 months that I never tested and was giving huge amounts of insulin as per the vet.

Also, for knowledge’s sake, some other reasons for bouncing: staying in lower numbers for long periods of time that they’re not used to (looks like Yoshi was yellow for a while) and diving down to low numbers really fast. Just imagine the liver as a very stubborn, very anxious being that will dump out sugars at the sight of any minuscule change its not used to. One day, our anxious friend will calm down a bit and settle into its new environment of lower, steadier numbers :)
 
Yeah it does but sometimes it’s a blessing for when you need a break. And it’s probably what saved Ming in the 6 months that I never tested and was giving huge amounts of insulin as per the vet.

Also, for knowledge’s sake, some other reasons for bouncing: staying in lower numbers for long periods of time that they’re not used to (looks like Yoshi was yellow for a while) and diving down to low numbers really fast. Just imagine the liver as a very stubborn, very anxious being that will dump out sugars at the sight of any minuscule change its not used to. One day, our anxious friend will calm down a bit and settle into its new environment of lower, steadier numbers :)
Thank you. I say this all the time, but I wonder if I’m giving too much insulin?
 
No, I don’t believe you are. I think @Wendy&Neko mentioned once when she’s seen it and the cat would have all black numbers in the AM and the owner wasn’t testing at night (correct me if I’m wrong).

I can only talk about my own experiences but with the first curve I did with Ming on PZI, during the PM cycle he was steadily blue and it looked quite nice. Then in the morning, he was yellow, and then was lime green for a couple of hours (I didn’t have HC and just had honey). We reduced right away. Then when Ming changed from tablet pred to liquid pred, he kept going lime and I made several back to back reductions. (I’m expecting him to dive out to limes on me pretty soon since we stopped the pred last week.)

I think if it was too much insulin, you would’ve caught some lower numbers. And you’ve been increasing carefully. If it eases your mind, I would try to get some tests in the latter half of the PM cycle. Pick a weekend night and set up some alarms and poke the kitty :)
 
I started on alphatrak, and hemmed and hawed about whether I should switch to a human meter. Now that I use a human meter exclusively, I prefer it. It is much easier to relate to the forum protocols when using the recommended tools... less guesswork. The cost of the strips wasn't the primary factor for me but it is a nice bonus.

When I switched I did several days of simultaneous tests, getting a reading on the same blood drop with both meters. The human meter makes numbers look lower or "better" overall but if you can get some simultaneous tests that might give you a sense of how different the numbers actually are. You will get used to the human meter too if you decide to switch :)

I still have my AT as a backup meter in case my vet wants a curve or something, but she doesn't really have an active role in Figaro's diabetes, and I haven't had to use it. It may be a bit more difficult if you are in close contact with your vet about treating Yoshi's diabetes, especially if your vet is completely against home testing... that doesn't sound like a great situation.
 
Back
Top