9/30 Rusty PMPS 138, +4.5 225

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80099

Good Morning, Everyone,

The kitties partied until dawn, but no one saw the full Harvest Moon through the rain and fog. And I doubt that we'll see any sunshine today, either! Rusty had a great time at the party.

This morning he has come down some from his big bounce last night. I still am trying to figure out when I should raise his dose by a drop to 1.75 units. I don't want to do it until after he clears this new bounce, but I am pretty much convinced that he needs more insulin. I need to bring his whole range down--bounces included. Then maybe we can get back to no bouncing again. Opinion/advice would be welcome! Rusty's SS is up to date.

This morning's shot was an "ouchie" and Rusty squirmed and pulled away just as I was pushing the plunger. But I didn't smell Lev., so I guess he got his full dose. In instances like these I'm happy that the Terumos have a hair trigger! Breakfast (Wellness Turkey) has been eaten and a nap in the little bed by the warm radiator is in progress.

Edward is baking bread and there are wonderful smells coming from the kitchen.
Wishing all a lovely day,

Ella & Rusty

Hi kitties! Great party!! Today is a good day to chillax on the porch and finish the leftovers. All invited!
Rusty
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199

Morning Ella and Rusty, I'll be interested in what others have to say regarding when to increase his dose. I'd love some of that fresh baked bread! :-D Maggie's too pooped to play today from all the partying. Have a nice Sunday.
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199

Isnt it lovely, smell of baking bread & your favourite kitty napping nearby. Beautiful Sunday Ella!
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199

Morning Ella ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)

I can so smell that bread baking... it is such a wonderful aroma!

Looks like Rusty may be clearing his bounce - at least he is blue this morning. And I know on the when to increase. In look at this all the time with Mannie - just when I am ready to increase he posts these blue and green days... It's enough to drive us crazy. Good luck with your decision. Maybe wait the ya, see what he does? one can always just follow protocol, wait the three days and if still high increase then.

Enjoy your day today - I will hope for better weather for you.

Rusty! Roadster is all packed, on my way to pick up kitties, see you there! WOOT! save a fleece for me... ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199

~O) ~O) Morning!

:-D the power of suggestion. My daughter wanted to learn to use our bread baker so guess I'll pull it out for her to experiment.
This is your fault. :lol:

Hope Rusty slides down.
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199

Hi you guys! Thanks for hosting the party...my two had a BLAST!!!
Hope Rusty shows you a day filled with lovely blues...
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199

Hi Ella and Rusty! I'm glad to see that Rusty is clearing his bounce for you. I can't give you any suggestions on the dose crease...sorry. I hope someone can help you out there.

I have a urge to make some home made bread myself now, lol! I haven't used my bread maker in a while....made some gluten free bread for my ex roomie in it and it turned out pretty good..much better than the store bought stuff...and now that the weather is now turning fallish, nothing would be better than the smell of baking bread and a pot of soup on the stove! Pumpkin is one of my fav flavors and I have a recipe for Pumpkin bread.....yummmmmmmmmmm!

Have a great day you guys! Rest up after that fun party last night!!
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199

Mmmmm, I can see the butter melting on that bread now. :smile:

Good boy Rusty, you stayed in Blue :-D
Hope he comes down for you Ella. Those green numbers look so good with Rusty's hair color.

Have a wonderful Sunday, You Three :-D
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199

Hope Rusty stays blue today for you - or maybe some green in there too! I can almost smell Edward's bread baking!
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199, +5.5 57

Hi again,

Rusty is repeating his dive of yesterday at +5, but today he decided to make it steeper! I took 2 readings, just to be certain: 59 and 57. We'll see how high he bounces by bedtime tonight and try to figure it out. I'm still scratching my head, but I'm very happy that Rusty is sporting some green again.

The bread turned out great, as always. Edward doesn't use a bread machine, he has been baking for over 35 years and enjoys the "hands-on" approach. (His sourdough starter is 32 years old!). For the past 2 years he has been baking a variation of the "no-knead" bread recipe made at the Sullivan St. Bakery in NYC. This is terrific bread, sort of a French country loaf, and turns out perfectly every time. Very easy to make, too. Here is a link to the basic recipe (you can Google "no-knead bread" and find links to lots of variations):
http://www.nytimes.com/2006/11/08/dining/081mrex.html?_r=0
In the variation Edward is making now, he mixes in some whole-wheat flour with the white flour and adds a little of his sourdough starter for flavor. The "instant yeast" in the recipe is not the powdered yeast you buy at the markets in 3-packs. It is available at King Arthur Flour. One package has so far lasted Edward for all his baking (a loaf a week for the past 2 years) and he still has about half of the package left! He stores it in the freezer:
http://www.kingarthurflour.com/shop/items/saf-red-instant-yeast-16-oz#1458


Happy baking to those who are inspired!

bbl, It is time to harvest our basil plants. The cold weather is doing them in. I have to make some pesto for the freezer this afternoon.

Ella & Rusty (still riding out the rainy weather on his little bed by the radiator).
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199, +5.5 57

Another dive at +5.5...hey that rhymes :-D Atleast he's being consistent with his routine :lol: Glad that he's feeling the green again and hope that he doesn't bounce so high. Enjoy the bread and pesto making extravaganza!
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199, +5.5 57

Ohhhh now I am so hungry - fresh bread AND fresh basil. :-D Ok Rusty, green is good but don't slide too far, k?
Lisa & Leo
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199, +5.5 57

I think Rusty told you what he thought about that increase :-D
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199, +5.5 57, +9 90, PMPS 138

Hi again,

Interesting: so far today is almost a carbon copy of yesterday (different numbers, but very similar ratios). A nadir at +5.5 is unusual for Rusty (he uses Lev.), who usually has just begun to onset by that time. I will have to do a full curve this week to see what is going on!

bbl,

Hope you all are enjoying a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/30 Rusty AMPS 199, +5.5 57, +9 90, PMPS 138

Wow, w/ numbers like that i doubt if Rusty really needs an increase. Tess and Mannie on the other hand ……….
 
Hi again,
Thanks Ann & Dyana for the dosing comments. I agree about not increasing at present, but I still wonder if I shouldn't go up a drop to bring the range down and get the bounces under control. In any event, we have at least 2 more cycles to go on this dose because of the partial fur shot and because of the disruption of the trip.

Ni ni everyone. It's still raining (going on 3 days now!)

Ella & Rusty
 
Ouch on the +4.5! I hope you figure out what soon what Rusty needs to bring him back to Rusty numbers.

I am going to have to send your links on DH who has just gotten inspired by bread baking this last year. I've done it for year and am really impressed by the 32 year old starter! And now I have a craving for fresh bread with pesto and some of my heritage tomatoes on top!
 
interesting cycles for Rusty. and perplexing. I have read too that sometimes these types of cycles dives and bounces for kitties that don't normally do this - are due to too much insulin. they go down fast, and bounce right back. well - no dose expert here for sure... hopefully you can figure it out.

now Mannie on the other hand.... :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top