9/30 Rex +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43 +3.5 73 +4 119 +5 156

Status
Not open for further replies.

RichNW & Rex

Member Since 2012
Very happy that Res is starting out his AM cycle in the blues.

Keep going Rex, you know you want another reduction!

Hope everyone has a good day! And sending safe travel prayers to Marje.
She is having to take the Milk Run journey from Tucson to Dallas.

Rex's 9/29 Condo
 
Re: 9/30 Rex AMPS 142 + 4 100

Very nice numbers for Rex today! Yes, I am sure he wants another reduction! Just gotta tell him he can have all the reductions he wants as long as he stays in these lovely numbers for ya. :-D

Hope you have a great evening Rich
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 - Stalling Question

Hello LL,

This is a first for me. I have never shot with a PMPS/AMPS below 100.

** Option 1
** So I am thinking about Stalling.
** Correct me if I am wrong - and I will be reading the TR again.
** I want to wait until the moment Rex's BG start going up - then I will feed and shot?

** I don't feed and I don't shot until that point, right?

** Option 2
** I feed and I shot and just monitor closely!

*_*_*_*_*_ I am ok shooting low, but want to make sure this is not too low for Rex
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 - Stalling Question

I am no expert here, but in my opinion, I think it would be okay to shoot as long as you will be around for a while to monitor....


Hoping someone else with some more experience pops in to give their opinion as well.
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 - Stalling Question

Do you have HC and plenty of test strips just in case?


My opinion is it would be okay to shoot, as long as you are comfortable with that.

Normally when stalling you would not feed anything because if you want to see which way the numbers are headed, the food would spike the numbers, so yes you are correct about that
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 - Stalling Question

If you are stalling (since you don't know if Rex is going up or down), I'd test again in 20-30 minutes. If he is going up or surfing, you should be OK to shoot. I'm guessing he's on his way up, because that 100 was a long time ago. When you shoot, make sure you get a +1 and a +2.

I shoot dropping numbers all the time, because I have the data on Neko to do so. Plus I would be stalling most nights if I didn't. :roll:
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88

Ok I put my BIG BOY pants on!

I shot an 88. Yeah-a!!

I am the king of supplies! We are fully stocked with everything!!

@Wendy - Thanks for at least making sure I didn't make a mistake. I am personally good with shooting low numbers!!
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 - Stalling Question

Gotta shoot low to stay low, they say. You know what to do and you have the support of the board if you get into trouble. You shot a 113 last night - that's really not far off from an 88 and Rex had a beautiful green surf. You hold the syringe. Good luck to you whatever you decide!
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88

You have shot before in the 90's back in March and April. 88's not much different.
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88

Looks like you decided to shoot. Just make sure to get a +1 and +2 to make sure hes on his way up. I will be around for a while tonight if you need any help :-D Would be happy to help in any way I can
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88

Jamie, Wendy, Tara - thanks for making sure I didn't mess up!

I am good with shooting low personally, but wanted to make sure my decision was sound.
I took tomorrow off since the movers arrive with my stuff from Seattle tomorrow!

I am really excited about Rex's great numbers and truly didn't want to loose any ground!

We are on a mission! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88

I am really excited about Rex's great numbers and truly didn't want to loose any ground!

We are on a mission! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Totally understandable!!! I think everyone is a little nervous about shooting a lower number then they have previously shot before, but once you do it a few times... you dont have to think twice about shooting....

I always wanted to make sure Jupiter got his shots... I was always so worried about him losing progress.... However, even if you do skip a shot at some point.... he will get back his progress.


I will keep an eye out for a +1 and +2 to make sure hes surfin for you! Come on Rex, you can do it!
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68

And we are out of the gate: LOL

PMPS - - - 88 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC
PM+1.00 - 68 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.3oz HC Food & Gravy
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68

Well, well well. Look at Rex diving tonight. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

That's what happened the other times you shot green.
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68

Ya - Thought I would give him a little HC to slow him down.

We have another 3 - 4 hours to go for his usual Nadir somewhere around +4 or +5. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55

Recap:
PMPS - - - 88 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC
PM+1.00 - 68 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.3oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.00 - 55 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.8oz HC Food & Gravy
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55

Okay since hes getting so close to earning a reduction.... and you already gave him some HC and hes still dropping... Can you retest him in 30 minutes please?
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55

I would also feed a lot less. Like 1 or 2 tsps after testing. We dont want Rex getting too full because we want him to be able to eat HC if he drops too low.

Did he eat all that LC food you put down for him? If not I would pick it up until the next test because I am worried about him getting too full.
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55

Rex normally get feed with auto feeder @

1700 - 1oz
1800 - 1oz
1900 - 1oz
2000 - 1.5oz

Do you think I should pick up his last auto feeder meal at 8pm and just continue with his HC food?

Yes I would pick up any food for now. Lets see where hes at 30 minutes after the last test.
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 ** Food Advice Plea

Recap:
PMPS - - - 88 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC
PM+1.00 - 68 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.3oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.00 - 55 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.8oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.50 - 46

** Think it is time to break out the big guns?
** Karo - Dose advice please
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46

I would not give him anymore LC for now because I dont want him to get too full. Please give him a nice serving of HC food with gravy. If you are worried you could put a drop of Karo in it but HC alone might do the trick!

Also, CONGRATULATIONS ON THE REDUCTION!!!!
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 ** Food Advice Plea

I think I would add a few small drops of Karo to a nice helping of a HC with gravy food. Since you already gave some HC, and he is still dropping, thats why I would add in the Karo now.


Hoping another experienced member will also drop in to give their opinion too
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 ** Food Advice Plea

Recap:
PMPS - - - 88 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC
PM+1.00 - 68 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.3oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.00 - 55 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.8oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.50 - 46 - 0.5oz HC Food & Gravy & 1 Drop Karo (picked up his auto feeder with 1.5oz LC scheduled for 2000)
** Behavior is good - he is cleaning himself
** Retest in 30 minutes
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 ** Food Advice Plea

I forgot to say, Please retest in 30 minutes. :-D Come on Rex, you got that reduction you wanted, now its time to come back up into safe numbers!

Since hes under 50, you can add the 911 icon in the subject so it can get attention of other members so they can help keep an eye on the situation. Just to be on the safe side.

Nevermind since Sienne already came before I edited to add that! Thanks Sienne!
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 ** Food Advice Plea

When feeding HC, you don't have to give a lot of the solids. It's the gravy that contains the carbs. And yes, with a 46, you can break out the "big guns." Just don't over do it. You will want to repeat this process of feeding and re-testing in 20 - 30 min.

Here are the written instructions for handling low numbers.
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 ** Food Advice Plea

I am glad to see his behavior is good. Next time you retest if hes not above 50, I would say to give him some more HC and a few small drops of Karo in his food.

I am not leaving or anything... but posting this now... that way others can post if they think you should do something different then my opinion :-D


You are doing a great job!!!!!
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 ** Food Advice Plea

Hi Sienne - Thanks for looking out for us!

Rex is acting normal. When I walk by his feeding station is still interested in food.
But I will work with HC Gravy and remove the particles at this point and will remember for next time.
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 ** Food Advice Plea

The gravy is just the most important part (as Sienne said it contains the carbs) and want to make sure he doesnt get too full. If you have like a metal strainer.... they work great for getting the gravy out!
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46

All my cooking stuff arrives tomorrow from Seattle.

And yes I do have a strainer! Thanks for the tip
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43

Recap:
PMPS - - - 88 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC
PM+1.00 - 68 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.3oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.00 - 55 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.8oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.50 - 46 - 0.5oz HC Food & Gravy & 1 Drop Karo
PM+3.00 - 43 - 0.5oz HC Gravy & 1 Drop Karo (very little food particles)
** Behavior still good
** Retest in 30 minutes
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43

Come on Rex!!! Time to come up a bit!!!


Okay I would give some spoonfuls of gravy with some drops of karo mixed in since hes still dropping even with karo last time. And please retest in 30 minutes

I would give him a tiny bit more Karo this time then last time... time to get his numbers above 50
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43

******** Revised **********

A little bit of a workout tonight - I have him 0.1 more HC Gravy and 1 more drop of Karo @ +3.00

Recap:
PMPS - - - 88 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC
PM+1.00 - 68 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.3oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.00 - 55 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.8oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.50 - 46 - 0.5oz HC Food & Gravy & 1 Drop Karo
PM+3.00 - 43 - 0.6oz HC Gravy & 2 Drop Karo (very little food particles) <-- *** Updated ***
** Behavior still good
** Retest in 30 minutes
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43

Sounds good! You are doing great! I will be here watching for the next number!

If you want others to come take a look to see what their opinions are... you can put the 911 up to get more eyes watching out since hes still dropping
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43

you're doing a good job of handling the low numbers - you don't want Rex hanging out in the 40's however! i'd increase the amount of karo at the next test if he's not above 50 at that point.
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43

We have lift off

Recap:
PMPS - - - 88 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC
PM+1.00 - 68 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.3oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.00 - 55 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.8oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.50 - 46 - 0.5oz HC Food & Gravy & 1 Drop Karo
PM+3.00 - 43 - 0.6oz HC Gravy & 2 Drop Karo (very little food particles)
PM+3.50 - 73

** Retest in 30 minutes
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43

The reason we try to not have a kitty hang out in the 40s for overly long is there's no margin for error. If you were to doze off or get distracted, there's no buffer zone. If the same thing happens if Rex is in the 50s or 60s, you have more of a safety margin.

A bit of the solids are fine. If you give mostly gravy and some of the solids it allows the gravy to bump up the numbers and the lower carb solids help to get the numbers surfing.

FWIW, if Rex is reasonably carb sensitive, just the HC food should be sufficient to bring his numbers up. I'm not sure I would have added any syrup. I tend to hold the Karo unless numbers are very low or there's a fast early drop that doesn't seem to be responding to HC food. OTOH, if a kitty isn't all that carb sensitive, a bit of syrup can be very useful.
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43

Awesome!!!! now we just want Rex to surf!! glad he came up a bit. is he still acting hungry? If hes acting really hungry you could give a teaspoon of LC food.

Retest in 30 minutes sounds perfect!

I will watch out for the next test.

Rex, thanks for coming up a little bit!! Perfect! Now its time to surf!
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43

Rex is sleeping now

He was never acting crazy hungry, but would meet me at his feeding station when I was there. :)
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43

I want to thank everyone for helping!

Jamie, Wendy, Sienne, Julie, and Tara - My FD family is making a big difference for Rex!

Thank You Thank You!!
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43

Congrats on the reduction! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Paws crossed Rex is on a roll now.

BTW - could you update your subject with the latest test number so at a quick glance we know that Rex has come up a bit. Whew!
phew-smiley-emoticon.gif
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43 +3.5 73 +4 11

We should be in the clear! YEA!!!

Recap:
PMPS - - - 88 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC
PM+1.00 - 68 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.3oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.00 - 55 - Normal Meal 1.0oz LC + 0.8oz HC Food & Gravy
PM+2.50 - 46 - 0.5oz HC Food & Gravy & 1 Drop Karo
PM+3.00 - 43 - 0.6oz HC Gravy & 2 Drop Karo (very little food particles)
PM+3.50 - 73
PM+4.00 - 119
 
Re: 9/30 Rex PMPS 88 +1 68 +2 55 +2.5 46 +3 43 +3.5 73 +4 11

Okay looks good! Can you test in an hour or two just to make sure he doesnt come back down at his Nadir? I think he will be fine but better safe then sorry. I think if at the next test he is still surfing you should be fine for a few hours :-D

Great job tonight!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top