9/30 Reuben PMPS 369 +2/198 +4.25/58 +5/63 +6/110

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

I accidentally shot the PM shot last night an hour early. (I had reset the digital clock wrong after a power outage in the afternoon.)

He has a good appetite, still sitting. Hasn`t been up to the terrace in a couple of days. LB seems to be fine. Seems to be thirsty...



Ongoing Medications:
Potencil 50mg bid
pepcid 2.5mgbid
bupe - none since sunday 9/23 (or .05 on monday?)
miralax - suspended (thinking about sprinkling a few granules on the food today)
 
Re: 9/30 Reuben AMPS 218

Jane said:
Very nice AMPS! I might get a (+1) today, if you can.

How are you today, Alexa?
Hugs
Jane

Hi Jane, Okay I`ll get the +1. I^m a liiiittle less cranky now, thanks for asking :YMHUG:

Deborah - Happy Sunday to you and Shaaasta!!
 
Re: 9/30 Reuben PMPS 369 +2/198 +3/110

Lovely (+3) - he could be planning an active one, check out that drop by (+2) Our Drama-Meezer :lol:

Keep us posted, k?

Great job with all the tests!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/30 Reuben PMPS 369 +2/198 +3/110

Jane said:
Lovely (+3) - he could be planning an active one, check out that drop by (+2) Our Drama-Meezer :lol:

Keep us posted, k?

Great job with all the tests!
Hugs
Jane

Good Morning Jane! ~O) ~O) I hope it`s a fine morning in Africa :razz:

Looks like Reuben`s high bg 'fever' broke, whew!!! It doesn`t matter how many times we go through this, I think he`s never going to come out of it...

He threw up and stopped eating today, dire straights! So then at PM shot time I finally found something he wanted to eat - and even thought maybe it might be on the list of okay foods: Friskies turkey and giblets pate. And I thought even if it wasn`t okay, there wasn`t much to lose, kwim? Well, imagine my surprise when I got the +2/198! There is about 1/4 can left...

So that`s our excitement over here tonight :razz:

Do we still want to do the weekly check-in and review? If it wouldn`t be too much trouble I would reallllly appreciate it!
 
Re: 9/30 Reuben PMPS 369 +2/198 +3/110 +3.75/66 +4.25/58

Absolutely :smile: I'll go over the past week of Reuben's numbers and condos, and a bit later today I'll do a bit of an overview as I see it, k?

Nice 58! He's on a roll again :-D I'm intrigued as to how far he'll go with this! Did you feed that +4.25? If you want to (and haven't yet fed), you could re-test in 20-30 after that 58 and see if he wants to dip below 50...

Looks like the Friskies T&G Paté is 8% on the new food lists, right?

Jane
 
Re: 9/30 Reuben PMPS 369 +2/198 +3/110 +3.75/66 +4.25/58 +4/

Okay, here we go :-D

I've looked at numbers and condos of the past few days (starting on the 24th September). So: On the 24th, a couple of days after starting a new vial (on the 22nd), Reuben was on his 8th day of 1.75u - which overall hadn't seemed to be doing that much for him up to that day, at least once the shed had drained from the 2.0u before.
That makes me think that there may well have been a slight pooping-out effect happening with the previous vial of Lantus.

Either way, from the 23rd/24th, Reuben stared seeing lovely runs of greens. It looks to me that his shed may have taken a bit longer to refill up to that point (or, again, the shed may have been okay but the insulin may not have been up to par anymore). When things were balanced out (shed re-filled and functioning, insulin perfect, Reuben ready and raring to go), you got your first green PS, also on the 24th, in the evening! A wonderful progress milestone! and you shot it - another major rite of passage :mrgreen: - and reaped the rich reward the very next day (the 25th September), when Reuben dipped into the 30s, his shed being full enough to overflow and psh the numbers down. So he earned his reduction to 1.5u that evening cycle.

The 25th was when I personally learned the difference between a true dropping number and a second dip late in the cycle :smile: Marje explained that what you shot the morning of the 25th (he dipped from the previous +11 of 186 to an AMPS of 147) was just a second dip, not a true dropping number. This is where the factor of meter variance can come in, too.

(Recap from the 24th: I posted how "meter variance" covers about 20% in either direction of whatever number one has had from a test. This can be confusing, of course: For a BG of 60, 20% variance would be 12 points, so it could be between 72 and 48. For a tested 48, you'd react differently than for a tested 72. It's good to remember that the number you're getting off the meter may not be *exactly* accurate. But it's a little distracting to get too caught up in meter variance, I always find. Still, for defining a surf, the issue of variance comes up. If you tested every hour one day, and got a 60, then a 69, then a 56, then a 64... That would be a surf. If the range was higher up, the meter variance would allow for greater fluctuation, meaning if you had a 240, then a 261, then 232, then a 256, that would still essentially be a surf. The higher the surf, the wider the fluctuation window based on 20% meter variance.)

True dropping numbers warrant *very* close monitoring - even getting a (+0.5) already can be a good idea. For a second dip, one doesn't have to quite as wary - though if that dip is a big one, again, attention should be paid. It's something one needs to develop a gut feel for, I find.

On the evening of the 25th, Reuben bounced a bit off those low low greens. Normal, and not a problem at all :smile: Textbook TR-protocol progress so far! And Textbook Lantus-Behaviour, too: Though you had reduced to 1.5u that evening, Reuben's shed was still busy spilling the overflow into his system, which is why you did have to work a bit at getting him and then keeping him above 50. Makes sense, yes?

One the 26th September, you started out a bit put off by Reuben's pink AMPS - I think that was still just the bounce from spending all that time in the lox greens the day before. Normal, again. He came down nicely, but fairly quickly (from the higher 300s to the 60s in 4 hours), which is why you got what I would call another little bounce. These few days look to me like Reuben's liver still just being a tad on edge about the repeated (beautiful) strings of green BGs.

Happily, by the 27th September, after a bit of hanging out in the yellows/blues for the AM cycle, he was ready to flex his drama muscles again: In the PM cycle, he dipped again into the 30s, earning his next reduction (to 1.25u) within 3 days of the last one. This is also something we see fairly frequently: when a cat hits that one "key dose", s/he can often "unlock" (accelerated) progress. That doesn't mean s/he will race down the rest of the dosing ladder (though it can), but I think it *does* mean that things are looking promising.

One good mental note to take away from the 27th is that an HC bump in BG can wear off really, really quickly: it did, for Reuben (he went from +3.5 of 38 to +4 of 61, and you were already hoping for sleepus, but luckily reconsidered and got a +4.5, which was 44 :lol:), and it demonstrates why we recommend not becoming complacent after on HC-boosted number. Another useful LL-option that came up on the 27th: Opening the next condo at (+11) already, giving people the option of chiming on on any dosing queries *on the run-up to AMPS* rather than *at* AMPS (which can delay the shot). You chose to shoot through the bounce Reuben did off those low greens.

So, the morning of the 28th September, you shot through the bounce. That worked out nicely, and brought him back into the blues at pace. With the shed still draining from the previous dose, you saw beautiful greens again that PM cycle. Poor Meeeeezer was having some tummy trouble again and threw up a couple of times. And again, all those pretty healing greens made Reuben's liver a tad edgy, so he spent some time bouncing - the entirety of the 29th September, in fact :smile: He started to come down out of the bounce in today's AM cycle, though, which again is great progress: NOT a prolonged bounce, very nice! You accidentally shot an hour early on the 29th in the morning - but he was bouncing, undeterred, and it didn't have any adverse effects.

Another good thing to note: This morning, you *did* shoot a dropping number - Reuben was steadily dropping due to his bounce clearing, from the tailend of yesterday's AM-cycle right up until this morning's AMPS. But, as you've seen, this time there were no dramatic side-effects from shooting a steady drop: he dipped into the blues and then decided to try the pinks one more time, before going back to the pretty greens in tonight's PM cycle. Tonight's greens arose, I believe, out of the shed having re-filled, in combination with the bounce clearing. (Today's AM cycle also looks like a demonstration something we sometimes see in bounces - the bounce starts to clear, and then the kitty seems to decide it wasn't quite done, so the bounce goes up a bit again, before clearing properly. Sort of a "second dip in reverse".)

Overall, I think you're seeing phenomenal progress with Reuben. If my crystal ball is working, I suspect the now-refilled shed will provide you with some more lovely greens over the next few days. If Reuben's liver doesn't overreact and send him into a bounce, I'd say you may be heading for your next reduction fairly soon. If he does bounce of just-above-50 greens - it's no big deal, it's normal. Even though he's had that persistent tummy trouble and some food issues, he's doing beautifully and earning reductions in perfect TR-protocol manner,

You can be VERY proud of your Meeeeezer boy, and of yourself :mrgreen:
So that's what I'm seeing over the past week.
Wattaya think? :lol:

Hugs,
Jane
 
You can be VERY proud of your Meeeeezer boy, and of yourself
So that's what I mean seeing over the past week.
Wattaya think?

Hugs,
Jane

Wow, thank you so so soo much Jane!! How amazing is this, for me to have a real concept of what is going on! I can`t thank you enough :razz: I`m pretty tired so not very articulate or insightful, just really happy and grateful to have a clearer idea of what is going on, and to know that what is going on is good. Maybe I can bother with questions and comments about it later?

About the Friskies - I can`t find it on the chart, (too tired i think!) so I`ll go with the number you gave me. Whatever it is, he responded very well to it, in addition to being willing to eat it, so I^m dashing out to get more as soon as I wake up in a few hours.

Thank you So much. again!
Alexa
 
You're welcome, Alexa :smile:

Of course you are welcome to come back with questions and comments, as is everyone else. It's no bother at all. I'd be happy to explain anything you find unclear, or re-consider if you or someone else see(s) something that I'm not, or interprets something differently. (As an aside: Do you bookmark all of your Reuben-Condos? It can be very useful to do so when you want to go back further than a few days.)

On Dr. Pierson's New Food Charts PDF, the Friskies section begins on Page 8, and the Classic Paté kinds follow on Page 9. "Classic Paté Turkey and Giblets" is the 6th one listed, and it is marked to have 8% carbs there. (Dr. Pierson notes that "nfortunately, Purina lists the moisture, protein, fat, fiber, and ash as GA (‘guaranteed analysis’ minimums and maximums) with the same value for all products in a food ‘family’. This leaves us with inaccurate values. However, I am including their products because they list different carb values for each ‘family member’ and list them under “typical nutrient composition” so I am hoping that the values below for carbohydrate level are reasonably accurate. Note that the selections with “gravy” or “sauce” in the name are higher in carbohydrates than other selections. The values for phosphorus are based on GA moisture so are not completely accurate . They are probably fairly close to reality, or are listed higher than they actually are.")

What types of food brands and varieties have you been able to find, so far? Having a list may be useful for those of us giving you input on what carbs % to feed at which points :smile:

Enjoy your sleepus! See you when you post the new condo!
Hugs,
Jane
 
I know it's a day late, but....

I love the story of Rueben being a fighter (on his profile). He is one special kitty! cat_pet_icon

(And the Friskies Turkey and Giblets is 8% carbs. :smile: )
 
What great conversations and an analysis by Jane of Reuben's progress. That's very informative to see his performance related to the protocol and "expected" behaviors (I put that in quotes for the whole ECID thing). I'll be bookmarking this for reference when I get frustrated with Leo's performances to I understand the trends more.

Have a great day Alexa and hang in there!
Lisa & Leo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top