? 9/30 Pumpkin AMPS 378, +282 - Ideal time to test in a cycle?

Shell

Member Since 2022
I try to make a point to always test at +2. So that I can know if I am going to need to pay more attention to a cycle that is going to be active. Specifically, if it falls more than 20%.

I had a conversation with a Vet yesterday. Their opinion was that the insulin dose is expected to lower blood glucose 4-6 hours after the injection when the calories ingested at the injection time have been absorbed and when the blood glucose would be highest. And more so the opinion that blood test taken outside of that peak time is of little value. At the same time saying of course that testing every 2 hours is ideal.

I'm just rechecking my own method. Could I please ask for some opinions? Is +2 an important marker to test at? Especially if I plan to be gone for a couple of hours, I like to know if I should call off the day. Which I have done several times. So I can keep an eye on his levels.
 
I try to make a point to always test at +2. So that I can know if I am going to need to pay more attention to a cycle that is going to be active. Specifically, if it falls more than 20%.

I had a conversation with a Vet yesterday. Their opinion was that the insulin dose is expected to lower blood glucose 4-6 hours after the injection when the calories ingested at the injection time have been absorbed and when the blood glucose would be highest. And more so the opinion that blood test taken outside of that peak time is of little value. At the same time saying of course that testing every 2 hours is ideal.

I'm just rechecking my own method. Could I please ask for some opinions? Is +2 an important marker to test at? Especially if I plan to be gone for a couple of hours, I like to know if I should call off the day. Which I have done several times. So I can keep an eye on his levels.

While it’s true that most of the time the nadir is between +2-4 it’s not always the case. Cats can nadir any time, even at the end of the cycle. The +2 lets you know if onset has occurred. That’s not for all cat all the time either. Max usually would onset +2.5-3 but if he started out low it could be sooner. If the cycle is active those extra tests keep your cat safe and are very important. The methods sticky has an example of an active cycle. Cats often go lower at night as well.

Yiur signature says SLGS but you aren’t following it. Is your vet guiding your dosing?
 
Back
Top