Pumbaa
Member Since 2012
I was extremely busy yesterday trying to begin catching up on chores around the house that I had let slide during intense work deadlines the last two months, but Pumbaa did great and 261 was his highest reading.
Yesterday 9/29
AMPS = 237
+4 = 249
+7 = 224
PMPS = 261
+3 = 203
+ 5.5 = 178
I'm going to do a 2-hour curve this AM cycle, but I find the PM cycles more interesting as Pumbaa tends to drop more at night. Notice I said "drop" and not "dive"?
I simply ADORE his flatter cycles on the Levemir!!!!!!! NOTE: I thought I had blown the curve because I'm so used to doing tests in 3-hour increments, I kept writing down the wrong times with the correct 2-hour results. *LOL* What a maroon I can be sometimes.
Tonight, I think I should raise him to 1.0U. Yes? No? I don't want to jump the gun and raise him too fast and start causing diving/bouncing again. And he is pretty much below renal threshold most of the time now, so there is no emergency to not sit back and wait another couple of cycles to determine how long it really takes him to settle into a dose. But then again, I could raise him to 1.0U, get his numbers a bit lower than what they currently are, and sit back on that dose to see how long it really takes him to settle in. I'm open for suggestions, as long as the goal is to keep him from his diving/bouncing routine.
nailbite_smile Before I even type the next sentence, I am inserting an antijinx --> So far, Pumbaa has been a poster-child for the good effects of switching from Lantus to Levemir!
Dropping his Lantus dose drastically 6 cycles before starting him on the Levemir might have been a catalyst to stop the diving/bouncing cycle he was on, but I tend to think/hope/pray this is more the effect of the Levemir. Time will tell, eh?
Have great Sundays, everyone! I still have so much yard work to catch up on, and more plumbing work to do (fixed a leaking guest bath toilet yesterday, and have 3 new bathroom faucets to install, as well as fixing a leaking kitchen sink), as well as cleaning in general, and cleaning up my major disorganized office, and I have claws to trim on four cats and one dog, but I won't get it all done today. It took two months to let things get this far behind, and I can't fix it all in one weekend!
Suze
ps: The photo is Pumbaa and Beck, hanging out together in my office Friday night. Pumbaa looks fat here, but he's not. He's solid muscle now!
Yesterday 9/29
AMPS = 237
+4 = 249
+7 = 224
PMPS = 261
+3 = 203
+ 5.5 = 178
I'm going to do a 2-hour curve this AM cycle, but I find the PM cycles more interesting as Pumbaa tends to drop more at night. Notice I said "drop" and not "dive"?
Tonight, I think I should raise him to 1.0U. Yes? No? I don't want to jump the gun and raise him too fast and start causing diving/bouncing again. And he is pretty much below renal threshold most of the time now, so there is no emergency to not sit back and wait another couple of cycles to determine how long it really takes him to settle into a dose. But then again, I could raise him to 1.0U, get his numbers a bit lower than what they currently are, and sit back on that dose to see how long it really takes him to settle in. I'm open for suggestions, as long as the goal is to keep him from his diving/bouncing routine.
nailbite_smile Before I even type the next sentence, I am inserting an antijinx --> So far, Pumbaa has been a poster-child for the good effects of switching from Lantus to Levemir!
Dropping his Lantus dose drastically 6 cycles before starting him on the Levemir might have been a catalyst to stop the diving/bouncing cycle he was on, but I tend to think/hope/pray this is more the effect of the Levemir. Time will tell, eh?
Have great Sundays, everyone! I still have so much yard work to catch up on, and more plumbing work to do (fixed a leaking guest bath toilet yesterday, and have 3 new bathroom faucets to install, as well as fixing a leaking kitchen sink), as well as cleaning in general, and cleaning up my major disorganized office, and I have claws to trim on four cats and one dog, but I won't get it all done today. It took two months to let things get this far behind, and I can't fix it all in one weekend!
Suze
ps: The photo is Pumbaa and Beck, hanging out together in my office Friday night. Pumbaa looks fat here, but he's not. He's solid muscle now!